Bus lanes should be abolished from 5pm to 8pm

Hyruga

On 9/21/2018 at 4:15 AM, dsman said:

This is so true. Cars sometimes have to stop in the second lane while waiting for the buses to clear to filter left. Hold up traffic and accidents are just waiting to happen.

Maybe they should not have a bus lane within 30 metres of a left-turn junction?

yes, just like how congested Lucky plaza / Tangs area is... all the buses coming out from their lane to go 3rd lane because of the 2 turning left lane at paragon... plus today, Apple launch... that area is chaotic now!

On 9/21/2018 at 4:43 AM, Jamesc said:

All the bus with the same numbers all come at the same time so they all reach the station at the same time and can lim kopi together and talk cock.

But the bus crowding together really cause the jam.

Bus companies would tell you due to jam on the road, which would then causes all the bus with same numbers all come at the same time?! So not their fault lo.  [rolleyes]

On 9/21/2018 at 12:10 AM, RadX said:

im damn proud of MCF

almost all whacked the bugger for his style of thinking.  Totally selfish thinking with the roads all to himself.

spare a though for those on public lah. Here, we are privileged to already have our own private space and what is sacrificing that 3hrs daily.  the nerve of some ppl

Well done bros!

actually... i just see one wrong choice of word...  ''abolish'' 

Everything is about improvement... Abolish is definitely wrong...  but definitely can tweak it better to better suit everyone. commuters and drivers alike.

On 9/21/2018 at 5:09 AM, mistergoh said:

yes, just like how congested Lucky plaza / Tangs area is... all the buses coming out from their lane to go 3rd lane because of the 2 turning left lane at paragon... plus today, Apple launch... that area is chaotic now!

Bus delays due to Apple fans.

On 9/21/2018 at 5:31 AM, SuPerBoRed said:

actually... i just see one wrong choice of word... ''abolish''

Everything is about improvement... Abolish is definitely wrong... but definitely can tweak it better to better suit everyone. commuters and drivers alike.

Whatever it is..

The high handed, highfalutin idea is totally off the cuff

Tweaking, granted

I think the bus lanes are good. Remember many many years ago before the bus lanes started and way before there are estimated bus times, 190 from Bukit Panjang to the city can take up to 40 mins during peak hour to arrive due to the jams?

When they come, it's 2 to I've seen 4 buses coming together. This really angers any commuters like us. 

For me whom rotates between public and car, I would say it's a good to have bus lanes. Although at times, when I'm rushing for time, it very irritating when you need to turn left and there is a bus lane.

On 9/21/2018 at 4:18 AM, Vratenza said:

Was in California earlier this year on a self drive trip around LA/LV.

On their freeway/highway, they have this car pooling lane on the left most side...sibei shiok...the cars in the lane travel damn fast most of the time going at 100mph..which is much higher than the 70mph limit....since I am on family trip with 3 occupants, fully qualified to drive in the lane...tried it for abit but damn stressful when those fast cars keep coming after I let each on pass.

Anyway, don't think car pooling lanes work in city state like ours when we already have TP-wannabe road hoggers on 1st lane of expressways most of the time.

Let me tell you a story... :D Anyway we used to have this for restricted zones, those cars with 4 people didn't need to pay for the day pass (a label on your windscreen) to get into the zones. They have people eyeballing cars looking for labels or 4 passengers under the gantry. My cousin used to carry a spare mannequin head in his car so he would ask his passenger to hold up the head so he could get in free. I think with facial recognition cannot liao. 

But hor, I take buses occasionally and really appreciate the speedy bus lanes. I guess it makes sense since there are more people without cars than with cars. 

Not for complete ban but some areas do need to be removed or altered. Eg. the part outside ICA along Kallang Rd, vehicles held up traffic for the chance to turn into the carpark.

If the Red bus lanes are removed (let it be just yellow lines instead), vehicles turning into ICA can just wait behind buses for their turn to go into the carpark, rather than having to cut abruptly in within a very short distance allowance.

Above is just an example that comes to mind. I'm sure readers can contribute more scenarios.

Edited by TameDriver

TS, no need to abolish. You can drive on the bus lane between 5pm to 8pm. Just need to pay the usage charge of $130 each time. The fee could vary... usually upwards the more times you drive on it. Shouldn't be an issue for you right?

Not just the time additional time required for bus passengers to reach their destination if bus lanes were abolished.

It's also the comfort. The driver in the car at least gets to sit in a cushioned seat with aircon while some bus passengers don't even have enough standing room.

I took the bus during my uni days and they only had double decked buses. Unfortunately, where i board, the upper deck is all full. I had to stoop for 35-45 mins at the lower deck because the ceiling is lower.

Rainy days, the bus turns into a fridge... :relief:

On one side, one MP talk about fashionable not to drive, tio kan until need to run road.

Here we have a thread in support of car owners asking to remove the bus lane, Tio kan until go into hiding..

confusing and confusion man!!!  [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

The fellow must be asking himself, " this is a car forum right? what did i do wrong? why me?  why???".... [laugh]

Edited by Tianmo

On 9/21/2018 at 7:16 AM, Tianmo said:

On one side, one MP talk about fashionable not to drive, tio kan until need to run road.

Here we have a thread in support of car owners asking to remove the bus lane, Tio kan until go into hiding..

confusing and confusion man!!! [:p][laugh][laugh]

The fellow must be asking himself, " this is a car forum right? what did i do wrong? why me? why???".... [laugh]

ownership of car does not equate to elitism mindset. It is merely a mean for commuting around.

Let us always be considerate to all road users (regardless public or private) at all times. an old men mindset here.

On 9/21/2018 at 7:38 AM, Kopites said:

ownership of car does not equate to elitism mindset. It is merely a mean for commuting around.

Let us always be considerate to all road users (regardless public or private) at all times. an old men mindset here.

Area which bus lane requires improvement:

1. the part outside ICA along Kallang Rd, vehicles held up traffic for the chance to turn into the carpark. If the Red bus lanes are removed (let it be just yellow lines instead), vehicles turning into ICA can just wait behind buses for their turn to go into the carpark, rather than having to cut abruptly in within a very short distance allowance.

2. Tekka market bus lane.. turning inside buffalo road is also a challenge.. worst on Sundays.