Jamesc Hypersonic September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 This is also why the idiots from HWZ don't fit in here. They just lack the maturity and discernment we all have here. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 I take bus. I fashionable Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 i have no issue with the bus lane timings. I understand the rationale behind it. But the bus companies need to refine their schedule a little. At peak hours, there is too much bunching on the bus lanes (eg raffles place and orchard) resulting in the buses not being able to efficiently move in the bus lanes. Some buses will try to filter right into the non-bus lanes, thereby disrupting already slow traffic flow. And i wish they can extend the dotted yellow lines just before a left turning in. it's a bit too short to turn in esp in crowded areas (eg Orchard and raffles place). So sometimes, a turning left car will straddle between the last 2 lanes trying to turn left into a side lane and get stuck due to traffic conditions. this blocks traffic for buses and cars in those 2 lanes. some refinement is definitely needed. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 PB plate is privately owned for use by that company to ferry company employees only. These do not require the driver to have a vocational licence and are not allowed on bus lanes. PA and PC plates are private hire buses and are allowed to use the bus lanes during operating hours. My colleague drove the company mini bus under PB plate and was booked by LTA. Apparently only public bus could use and not others. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 I drive on full day bus lane every workday morning(7 to 7.30am) to get to work. Everyone avoid it. Very shiok, empty lane. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 Haha many drivers refuse to remember the bus lane timings. Even during day time on yellow bus lanes, i get empty lane to drive on and very shiok to bypass the long long Q on the other lanes. I drive on full day bus lane every workday morning(7 to 7.30am) to get to work. Everyone avoid it. Very shiok, empty lane. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 Yup. Garmen say so https://www.onemotoring.com.sg/content/onemotoring/en/on_the_roads/traffic_management/full_day_bus_lanes.html Thanks for sharing... I didn't know that "Full Day Bus Lane" only from 7.30 am to 11.00 pm, Mon to Sat. Sunday & PH can drive inside. I had been driving all this years along Orchard Road on Sunday & PH avoiding the bus lane with red lines.... 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 i have no issue with the bus lane timings. I understand the rationale behind it. But the bus companies need to refine their schedule a little. At peak hours, there is too much bunching on the bus lanes (eg raffles place and orchard) resulting in the buses not being able to efficiently move in the bus lanes. Some buses will try to filter right into the non-bus lanes, thereby disrupting already slow traffic flow. And i wish they can extend the dotted yellow lines just before a left turning in. it's a bit too short to turn in esp in crowded areas (eg Orchard and raffles place). So sometimes, a turning left car will straddle between the last 2 lanes trying to turn left into a side lane and get stuck due to traffic conditions. this blocks traffic for buses and cars in those 2 lanes. some refinement is definitely needed. how to refine cos everyone want their bus to come on the dot when they reach the bus stop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 (edited) Public Service Announcement: Reminder for Bus lane timings Going to print this and put behind my windscreen label holder to remind myself when to use the bus lanes.... *Apologies in advance to those already making full use of the non-bus-lane timings! Edited September 21, 2018 by Vratenza 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 Unker! Many people tend to think the same way lah Its become like a "default mode" and often the lanes are empty and I drive in it ( other people must be thinking this guy stylo milo waiting to get zapped by Cisco) Actually what can be proposed (just saying oni) wait people suan me... is that would a car with 4 pax be allowed to drive in a bus lane?? more akin to car pooling .... just can "test the market".... surely Bus Company not happy as people will start pooling like in the days before ERP came into force Thanks for sharing... I didn't know that "Full Day Bus Lane" only from 7.30 am to 11.00 pm, Mon to Sat. Sunday & PH can drive inside. I had been driving all this years along Orchard Road on Sunday & PH avoiding the bus lane with red lines.... 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 Public Service Announcement: Reminder for Bus lane timings Screenshot_20180921-114147_Chrome.jpg Going to print this and put behind my windscreen label holder to remind myself when to use the bus lanes.... *Apologies in advance to those already making full use of the non-bus-lane timings! Haha i have a bus lane timing card on display on my dashboard to remind me of the timing... bo bian old man liao. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 how to refine cos everyone want their bus to come on the dot when they reach the bus stop i also no know. i peasant and not clever enough to offer solutions. have to let those in relevant authorities to put on their thinking caps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
dsman 5th Gear September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 With our congested roads, sometimes i wonder they actually try driving on our roads themselves. When you have to turn left and the whole stretch is bus lane with heavy traffic, you got to cut infront of the bus right at the junction. This is so true. Cars sometimes have to stop in the second lane while waiting for the buses to clear to filter left. Hold up traffic and accidents are just waiting to happen. Maybe they should not have a bus lane within 30 metres of a left-turn junction? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 i also no know. i peasant and not clever enough to offer solutions. have to let those in relevant authorities to put on their thinking caps. it takes 30 sec-1 min for passenger to alight each bus, if the bus lane is clear every time, the bus will be able to move on the jam will slowly clear, the jam or long queue of bus won't be there for more 20min an hour even at peak hour. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 (edited) Was in California earlier this year on a self drive trip around LA/LV. On their freeway/highway, they have this car pooling lane on the left most side...sibei shiok...the cars in the lane travel damn fast most of the time going at 100mph..which is much higher than the 70mph limit....since I am on family trip with 3 occupants, fully qualified to drive in the lane...tried it for abit but damn stressful when those fast cars keep coming after I let each on pass. Anyway, don't think car pooling lanes work in city state like ours when we already have TP-wannabe road hoggers on 1st lane of expressways most of the time. Unker! Many people tend to think the same way lah Its become like a "default mode" and often the lanes are empty and I drive in it ( other people must be thinking this guy stylo milo waiting to get zapped by Cisco) Actually what can be proposed (just saying oni) wait people suan me... is that would a car with 4 pax be allowed to drive in a bus lane?? more akin to car pooling .... just can "test the market".... surely Bus Company not happy as people will start pooling like in the days before ERP came into force Edited September 21, 2018 by Vratenza Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 (edited) Was in California earlier this year on a self drive trip around LA/LV. On their freeway/highway, they have this car pooling lane on the left most side...sibei shiok...the cars in the lane travel damn fast most of the time going at 100mph..which is much higher than the 70mph limit....since I am on family trip with 3 occupants, fully qualified to drive in the lane...tried it for abit but damn stressful when those fast cars keep coming after I let each on pass. Anyway, don't think car pooling lanes work in city state like ours when we already have TP-wannabe road hoggers on 1st lane of expressways most of the time. Yeah that HOV lane is siok. I was with my CO so 2 heads can make full use of it. So clear that i was doing over 100mph unconsciously and suddenly came to realise it was 160kmh on an altis. I remember heading to a premium outlet 1 hour drive outside of CA and there is this super like 1/2 km long slope down hill and the car pick up speed like crazy. Edited September 21, 2018 by Xers007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 Thanks for sharing... I didn't know that "Full Day Bus Lane" only from 7.30 am to 11.00 pm, Mon to Sat. Sunday & PH can drive inside. I had been driving all this years along Orchard Road on Sunday & PH avoiding the bus lane with red lines.... Please don't stop. Let the rest of us drive on it. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 i have no issue with the bus lane timings. I understand the rationale behind it. But the bus companies need to refine their schedule a little. At peak hours, there is too much bunching on the bus lanes (eg raffles place and orchard) resulting in the buses not being able to efficiently move in the bus lanes. Some buses will try to filter right into the non-bus lanes, thereby disrupting already slow traffic flow. And i wish they can extend the dotted yellow lines just before a left turning in. it's a bit too short to turn in esp in crowded areas (eg Orchard and raffles place). So sometimes, a turning left car will straddle between the last 2 lanes trying to turn left into a side lane and get stuck due to traffic conditions. this blocks traffic for buses and cars in those 2 lanes. some refinement is definitely needed. All the bus with the same numbers all come at the same time so they all reach the station at the same time and can lim kopi together and talk cock. But the bus crowding together really cause the jam. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...