Kklim Supercharged September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 (edited) Question: Can those private coaches/City express bus shuttle services use the bus lanes? That will partially alleviate the peak hour congestion since it will fully utilize the bus lanes instead of having them clog the non-bus lanes. The express ones are bloody scary if you need to turn left. The buggers don't stop at bus stops so just cheong. Edited September 21, 2018 by Kklim ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas 5th Gear September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 Glad to see many drivers here against OP's thinking and hopefully he would change his mindset. Don't forget bus lanes are also used for emergency vehicles like ambulances and fire trucks. Bus lanes not just for buses, also for saving lives. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 we are behind the wheel. we are in control of our ride. we can always dont filter into bus lane. we can always leave the house mimutes earlier or late. we can always plan our route. if one still insist of taking away the bus lane than one should not drive. You dont even know how to make use of your ride. there was a conversation. once someone was sharing he hated driving to orchard during christmas. Always jam. i asked him when than you want to drive into a jammed orchard? he said he wanted to enjoy the Christmas lightning. There you go..the answer. i gave him the sort of stare that i reserve for IMH patient. empathy look. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 oh.....thats sth newWait...i think is PC plate. Aiya.... Don't care lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 ownership of car does not equate to elitism mindset. It is merely a mean for commuting around. Let us always be considerate to all road users (regardless public or private) at all times. an old men mindset here.ð¤ Couldn’t agree more bro Well said! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 Question: Can those private coaches/City express bus shuttle services use the bus lanes? That will partially alleviate the peak hour congestion since it will fully utilize the bus lanes instead of having them clog the non-bus lanes. I always thought all buses are private. So.. Not for complete ban but some areas do need to be removed or altered. Eg. the part outside ICA along Kallang Rd, vehicles held up traffic for the chance to turn into the carpark. If the Red bus lanes are removed (let it be just yellow lines instead), vehicles turning into ICA can just wait behind buses for their turn to go into the carpark, rather than having to cut abruptly in within a very short distance allowance. Above is just an example that comes to mind. I'm sure readers can contribute more scenarios. Heh heh.. that one should just change the car entrance to the exit. Then no jam.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 Glad to see many drivers here against OP's thinking and hopefully he would change his mindset. Don't forget bus lanes are also used for emergency vehicles like ambulances and fire trucks. Bus lanes not just for buses, also for saving lives. Yeah hope TS come back and post now that he has read all the posts of the wise members here he has changed his mind and now agrees bus lane shouldnt be removed. But I am not holding my breath on this one. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 Yeah hope TS come back and post now that he has read all the posts of the wise members here he has changed his mind and now agrees bus lane shouldnt be removed. But I am not holding my breath on this one. later he come back see liao learn his lesson. but instead of posting here say he understand liao, he kay kiang thinking that this must be how the uncles here work, go start a new thread " drivers sld give way to bicycles on the road". Then happily log off think sure get tons of praise. Log in see tio kan until see star, spider and snake. Sure give up or kee siao!!!. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 Thanks for sharing... I didn't know that "Full Day Bus Lane" only from 7.30 am to 11.00 pm, Mon to Sat. Sunday & PH can drive inside. I had been driving all this years along Orchard Road on Sunday & PH avoiding the bus lane with red lines.... See la , tell you to study hard in primary skool dont wan to listen 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 Thanks for sharing... I didn't know that "Full Day Bus Lane" only from 7.30 am to 11.00 pm, Mon to Sat. Sunday & PH can drive inside. I had been driving all this years along Orchard Road on Sunday & PH avoiding the bus lane with red lines.... Be careful, normal bus lane is not applicable on Saturday but full day bus lane is. On Sat, see yellow lane ok, red lane not ok. Sun and PH, anything goes. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 Be careful, normal bus lane is not applicable on Saturday but full day bus lane is. On Sat, see yellow lane ok, red lane not ok. Sun and PH, anything goes. Red lane easier to remember. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 There are thousands of bus lanes and bus-stops like that. I guess they are designed with the presumption there will be "light traffic", but when the traffic is heavy, safely turning into a car park or lane immediately after a red bus lane depends a lot on whether buses will give way. This has to be mutual, cars give way to buses, buses give way to cars or it will not work. As for those who step on accelerator when seeing other vehicles signal light to turn in, their license should be kangtong. Ya, give and take.Bus drivers also very stressful and tiring with hours of shift work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 On one side, one MP talk about fashionable not to drive, tio kan until need to run road. Here we have a thread in support of car owners asking to remove the bus lane, Tio kan until go into hiding.. confusing and confusion man!!! The fellow must be asking himself, " this is a car forum right? what did i do wrong? why me? why???".... I think it's because most car owners here worked hard to own their car. They don't immediately have their car once they got their driving license. As car owners who used to take buses, we all have a conscience. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 I think it's because most car owners here worked hard to own their car. They don't immediately have their car once they got their driving license. As car owners who used to take buses, we all have a conscience.You lethal striked the right point! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 Bus lane and bus lane hours stays. Needs of the many are greater than the needs of the few. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutrino Supercharged September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 Bus lanes should be abolished from 5pm to 8pm. Reasons 1) It jammed up the other lanes as we are forced to drive with one fewer lane. 2) The bus lanes are under utilized by buses anyway. Or at least allow some other vehicles like vans carrying goods or trucks to drive on bus lanes. 3) Due to different work nature and conditions now, there are people who finish work at 1pm to 4pm. There are also many people who ends work late: 8pm to midnight so bus lanes from 5pm to 8pm is kind of redundant now. Car-lite. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 land space so precious then have so many bungalows and golf courses for what? convert all to usable land space for the public lor - hoh bo? LOL Should build Basement GCB or Multi Storey Golf Course Then Ultra High SES can enjoy more in Sinkapore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic September 21, 2018 Share September 21, 2018 Should build Basement GCB or Multi Storey Golf Course Then Ultra High SES can enjoy more in Sinkapore Seoul has a golf driving range above a car park. Golfers love it. They can always find a place to park and don't have to carry their clubs very far. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...