Lethalstrike Turbocharged September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 (edited) 1.5million per km of walkway. That's just... WOW. SINGAPORE: When it poured, some Fajar Secondary School students were late for school while waiting out the rain at void decks or at bus stops. Others turned up at school soaking wet, having run the distance that's not covered by sheltered walkways. But since sheltered walkways leading to the school gate were built this year, the school in Bukit Panjang has seen more students turning up on time on rainy days, said its vice principal. The walkways are part of 200km worth of sheltered walkways that have been built in the past five years under the Land Transport Authority's (LTA) Walk2Ride programme. LTA announced on Saturday (Sep 15) that a milestone in the programme has been completed, at a cost of S$300 million. "Where feasible, walkways have been built to schools, healthcare facilities and other public amenities within a 400-metre radius of MRT stations, and within a 200-metre radius of bus interchanges, LRT stations and selected bus stops with high commuter volumes," said LTA. Read more at https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/sheltered-walkways-lta-completes-construction-10724514 $300 million is spare change to govt, 2 years of ERP operations should be able to recoup easily. I support lah, rather than use it to renovate some useless rubbish bin or rename budget terminal as "Budget Terminal". At least its more convenient for the old folks and children on rainy days... Edited September 18, 2018 by Lethalstrike ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 From my house to bus shelter, no covered walkway. From bus shelter to MRT, got covered walkway. Must go and see MP to KPKB Usually there is no covered walkway to bus stop de. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 don't worry. after a couple of months, they will come tear down the walkway and rebuilt again. this is to spend all the excess money they have collected from you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 Sheltered walkways for benefit of every Singaporeans (or most) -- > SUPPORT 100% Cost S$300m to build 200km of sheltered walkways --> SCEPTICAL based on previous million dollar rubbsh bin and having seen how public monies are being wasted in SAF. Supporting all these measures without asking any questions --> BLIND FAITH The cost isn't exactly out of touch. Depending on the work required, it isn't cheap to lay such shelters. Some may be simple brackets with rain and sun blocks, others will require earth works, pillars and insulated roof and tiles with lights etc. This must also be looked at from a fiscal policy viewpoint. Pump money back into economy and create flow and jobs. It's also govt role to stimulate the economy... of cos not the famous rubbish bin kinda upgrade. Of cos when one looks back at how all the upgrading policies were HEAVILY politicised with blatant party politics.. some cynicism is understandable Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic September 18, 2018 Author Share September 18, 2018 $300 million is spare change to govt, 2 years of ERP operations should be able to recoup easily. I support lah, rather than use it to renovate some useless rubbish bin or rename budget terminal as "Budget Terminal". At least its more convenient for the old folks and children on rainy days... Don't get me wrong. I support it 100% too. The purpose of me posting this was never about criticizing the govt for building it; rather it's about the seemingly high cost per km. Like what @vratenza mentioned, previous cases on the rubbish bin, SAF.. and what you mentioned on the budget terminal, I find the way public money is spent can sometimes be questionable. 1.5 million per km of walkway indeed seems high until @macrosszero shared some numbers in perspective. There's nothing anti govt about this thread and neither should Singaporeans put blind Faith into our govt. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 Don't get me wrong. I support it 100% too. The purpose of me posting this was never about criticizing the govt for building it; rather it's about the seemingly high cost per km. Like what @vratenza mentioned, previous cases on the rubbish bin, SAF.. and what you mentioned on the budget terminal, I find the way public money is spent can sometimes be questionable. 1.5 million per km of walkway indeed seems high until @macrosszero shared some numbers in perspective. There's nothing anti govt about this thread and neither should Singaporeans put blind Faith into our govt. I think you've mistaken, I'm not criticizing your post nor questioning your intentions. Just passing my thoughts directly on how I feel about them spending $300 million for covered walkways. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 I want to be a consultant. What you really want to be is a cuntsultan. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 What you really want to be is a cuntsultan. You hit it absolutely spot on. G spot on. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 Its a campaign that the incumbent promised. We deserved it. Nothing for them to boast as it's their words they are honouring. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 Its a campaign that the incumbent promised. We deserved it. Nothing for them to boast as it's their words they are honouring. As long as it's need based and don't pattern badminton about votes for walkways. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 Hope maintenance will not be prohibitive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutrino Supercharged September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 I want these covered walkways to be air conditioned. And have free wifi. And have travelators. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 i support the sheltered walkway. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 Can't expect this to cover the whole of Singapore, else we have to build a gigantic umbrella of size 720sq km. For instance landed property area, private condo area does not have covered walkways. By the way, I live in private estate and does not benefit from this. But as long as it benefits the vast majority of Singaporean living in HDB, especially in old housing estate with older folks, I am fine and will support. Actually they do have isolated shelters in private landed estates and condo’s .... they look like a small bus stops (maybe hold only 3-4 people max) in an event of sudden downpour or for a person to just rest from sun , they are not obvious but are there Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 $300 million is spare change to govt, 2 years of ERP operations should be able to recoup easily. I support lah, rather than use it to renovate some useless rubbish bin or rename budget terminal as "Budget Terminal". At least its more convenient for the old folks and children on rainy days... Lethal striked some main points... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 Consider that people regularly pay $200-300 per foot run for carpentry at home, which works out to $700-900 per meter, the covered linkway works out to $1,500 per meter for a steel structure that is weatherproof and structurally certified, for public use. Pre fab is cheaper compared to on site construction.. and it’s en mass pre fab... surely that cost is too high... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 19, 2018 Share September 19, 2018 Actually they do have isolated shelters in private landed estates and condo’s .... they look like a small bus stops (maybe hold only 3-4 people max) in an event of sudden downpour or for a person to just rest from sun , they are not obvious but are there Those small little bus-stop cannot do much during heavy rain la, as if the bus-stop is not exist. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic September 19, 2018 Share September 19, 2018 Those small little bus-stop cannot do much during heavy rain la, as if the bus-stop is not exist.Actually quite OK , i took shelter once with my dog ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...