13177 Hypersonic September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 Very good comparison! I think Singapore is the only country in the world where you can walk out of your house, to MRT/bus-stop, and to your destination without getting wet on raining days. In terms of cost-vs-benefit, definitely is a thumbs up. Many area still did not benefit under this $300m sheltered walkways. thanks for the info! that puts things in perspective. building covered linkways for the good of Singaporeans, it is a very good initiative and I fully appreciate that. However, at a face value cost of 1.5m per km, there is skepticism because of the rubbish bin saga.. like what @victor68 mentioned, i hope this 300m is spent prudently and not a significant portion of it to "consultancy fees". They spent $300m for this sheltered walkways, think they need to recoup it from somewhere?! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 I count wrong again 300,000,000$ / 600,000 = $500 per meter square $500/sqm is cheap or expensive I don’t know That’s about less than $50 per square foot , I oso dunno if it can be based on a simple straight line calculation , there might be other costs associated like light fixtures , exercise equipment, shades with lights, benches..... list can go on 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 Thatâs about less than $50 per square foot , I oso dunno if it can be based on a simple straight line calculation , there might be other costs associated like light fixtures , exercise equipment, shades with lights, benches..... list can go onOk I can confirm is cheapTrellis roofing is about $250-$300 per square meter This one comes with very strong pillar so $500 per square meter is reasonable $500psqm whether got include other stuff or not I don’t know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redmouthfish 1st Gear September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 Many area still did not benefit under this $300m sheltered walkways. They spent $300m for this sheltered walkways, think they need to recoup it from somewhere?! Can't expect this to cover the whole of Singapore, else we have to build a gigantic umbrella of size 720sq km. For instance landed property area, private condo area does not have covered walkways. By the way, I live in private estate and does not benefit from this. But as long as it benefits the vast majority of Singaporean living in HDB, especially in old housing estate with older folks, I am fine and will support. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 Pay for covered walkway more useful den pay for many ministers 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 thank you ah gong peasant is so grateful for the sheltered walkways and benches to rest on around my hdb estate Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 Can't expect this to cover the whole of Singapore, else we have to build a gigantic umbrella of size 720sq km. For instance landed property area, private condo area does not have covered walkways. By the way, I live in private estate and does not benefit from this. But as long as it benefits the vast majority of Singaporean living in HDB, especially in old housing estate with older folks, I am fine and will support. Must depends on which old housing estate, i notice old housing estate at boon keng/balestier area dont see any sheltered walkways?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 Forget about that people here don’t want to bring own shopping bags when they go marketing or shopping for that fact ..... so much of plastic waste Next Gen will demand AirCon shelters next Wrong. Next Gen will demand for travelators first like those in the airport. Less walking, less perspiration so no need aircon. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 Very good comparison! I think Singapore is the only country in the world where you can walk out of your house, to MRT/bus-stop, and to your destination without getting wet on raining days. In terms of cost-vs-benefit, definitely is a thumbs up. last time when it rains, I will have to ferry my kids to school. Now no need any more. From my place is all sheltered to the bus stop, from the MRT station to the school is fully sheltered walkways. the only rain the kids may get is when they boarding and alighting from the bus. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 Its fine to be skeptical but don't anyhow join the tin foil hat brigade. In MCF, the fastest and sure fire way to get popular is f**k PAP, and those who try to reason will be call something something, usually 4 legged. So there you have it, is tio ya kan, boh tio ya kan, smlj tio si kan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 In MCF, the fastest and sure fire way to get popular is f**k PAP, and those who try to reason will be call something something, usually 4 legged. So there you have it, is tio ya kan, boh tio ya kan, smlj tio si kan. Sio kan is the answer to everything Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redmouthfish 1st Gear September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 In MCF, the fastest and sure fire way to get popular is f**k PAP, and those who try to reason will be call something something, usually 4 legged. So there you have it, is tio ya kan, boh tio ya kan, smlj tio si kan. This is why everything the country works are politicized whether or not it is benefit to majority of people. For this case of covered walk way, I thought it is obvious case of beneficial to Singaporean, and yet people are criticize it for doing. I hope Singapore will not become like Taiwan or HK, where everything is politicized and nothing is implemented. As far as politics is concerned, no policy will please 100% of people. As long as the policy is beneficial to majority of Singaporean, especially those poorer or less privileged, I am fine and will support. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 From my house to bus shelter, no covered walkway. From bus shelter to MRT, got covered walkway. Must go and see MP to KPKB Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 Sheltered walkways for benefit of every Singaporeans (or most) -- > SUPPORT 100% Cost S$300m to build 200km of sheltered walkways --> SCEPTICAL based on previous million dollar rubbsh bin and having seen how public monies are being wasted in SAF. Supporting all these measures without asking any questions --> BLIND FAITH 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 From my house to bus shelter, no covered walkway. From bus shelter to MRT, got covered walkway. Must go and see MP to KPKB My side also no shelter to anywhere. Used to have natural shelter along the foot path, huge trees. But they are chopping them down.☹ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 Sheltered walkways are never cheap... other than material cost, still got costs of lights, lightning protection, PE certification, etc Also got annual inspection and regular maintenance Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 Covered walkways are indeed beneficial but looking at some built around my neighborhood, they do seem rather elaborate and therefore costly. Like, some of them even have fancy design concrete bases ... whatever for? Just need simple construction with tubular frames and corrugated zinc (?) roofs like those older style bus stops. Won't cost 1.5 million per km. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 18, 2018 Share September 18, 2018 Covered walkways are indeed beneficial but looking at some built around my neighborhood, they do seem rather elaborate and therefore costly. Like, some of them even have fancy design concrete bases ... whatever for? Just need simple construction with tubular frames and corrugated zinc (?) roofs like those older style bus stops. Won't cost 1.5 million per km.What you suggested give LTA chance to spent more $$$ in future. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...