RadX Moderator September 5, 2018 Share September 5, 2018 Abuse and unpaid as a mod! Esp by that ccb @ash2017 and @staff69 But MCF ok lah except for @angcheek alwes harrasing @babyblade hahhahaha https://www.engadget.com/2018/08/31/reddit-moderators-speak-out/ Unpaid and abused: Moderators speak out against Reddit Keeping Reddit free of racism, sexism and spam comes with a mental health risk. Be omewhere out there, a man wants to rape Emily. She knows this because he was painfully clear in typing out his threat. In fact, he's just one of a group of people who wish her harm.For the past four years, Emily has volunteered to moderate the content on several sizable subreddits -- large online discussion forums -- including r/news, with 16.3 million subscribers, and r/london, with 114,000 subscribers. But Reddit users don't like to be moderated. In a joint investigation, Engadget and Point spoke to 10 Reddit moderators, and all of them complained that Reddit is systematically failing to tackle the abuse they suffer. Keeping the front page of the internet clean has become a thankless and abusive task, and yet Reddit's administration has repeatedly neglected to respond to moderators who report offenses. "I've had a few death threats," said Emily, who asked to be referred to by her first name and her Reddit username, lolihull, to prevent the online harassment from spilling over into her real life. "And when people find out you're a woman, you get rape threats." That's why Emily tries not to mention she's a woman on Reddit: The torrent of abuse is far less likely to turn sexual. "People are willing to dedicate their time to make you feel threatened for the hell of it," she said. Some messages are direct and succinct. One sent to Emily reads, "I hope you get shot in the face with a bullet." But others are profoundly disturbing and more creative. In one rambling attack, a Redditor told Emily, "I want you to get cancer because I wanna see your own body killing you. I want you to get cancer, your mother, sister, brother, father, grandparents I want them all to get cancer and when they open their mouths I wanna piss in them. I f**king hate you. You nasty disgusting slut f**kmeat." Further down in the diatribe he adds, "I want you to come across a mean STD nigger and he tears your shit hole up so bad you'll never ever have to push your shit out." Emily, a moderator for several popular subreddits Emily's experience is far from unique. "I had three death threats this past month," said abrownn, who moderates r/Futurology, with more than 13 million subscribers, and r/technology, with more than 6 million subscribers. abrownn asked only to be known by their username. All the moderators interviewed confirmed they had received death threats, which they said can take a toll. "Even if you're having the best day, reading a message like 'I'm going to kill you' or 'walk in front of a bus,' is shitty," said Robert Allam, Chief Marketing Officer at Supload, an online sharing platform. Known by his username, GallowBoob, Allam moderates r/tifu ("today I f**ked up"), where more than 13 million subscribers share their schadenfreude anecdotes, and r/oddlysatisfying, where 1.8 million subscribers post content that is inexplicably satisfying to watch. Reddit overtook Facebook this year to become the third most popular website in the US, behind Google and YouTube. At its best, Reddit is a place where people discuss topics with other like-minded individuals; there are subreddits devoted to just about any topic imaginable -- there's even one for people who like to Photoshop human arms onto pictures of birds. At its worst, Reddit is awash with sexist threads, spam and threats. It's down to an army of dedicated volunteer moderators to keep Reddit clean -- and they too often get caught in the crossfire. https://youtu.be/jpFTtmALiS0 ↡ Advertisement 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong1977 4th Gear September 5, 2018 Share September 5, 2018 Agree. MCF is one of the better forum around 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic September 5, 2018 Share September 5, 2018 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic September 5, 2018 Share September 5, 2018 this wan is getit not reddit.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 5, 2018 Author Share September 5, 2018 Hahahah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ash2017 Twincharged September 5, 2018 Share September 5, 2018 (edited) walau .... its coming ownself praise ownself ownself protect ownself ownself steady ownself but seriously if you ignore the undertaker's bitchi- ness and haolian-ness, he is like all of us. he got some principles actually I really like to meet him in person but I frighten he draw turtles on my car, put nails on wheels or pour water into my fuel tank one day we will Abuse and unpaid as a mod! Esp by that ccb @ash2017 and @staff69 But MCF ok lah except for @angcheek alwes harrasing @babyblade hahhahaha https://www.engadget.com/2018/08/31/reddit-moderators-speak-out/ Unpaid and abused: Moderators speak out against Reddit Keeping Reddit free of racism, sexism and spam comes with a mental health risk. Be omewhere out there, a man wants to rape Emily. She knows this because he was painfully clear in typing out his threat. In fact, he's just one of a group of people who wish her harm.For the past four years, Emily has volunteered to moderate the content on several sizable subreddits -- large online discussion forums -- including r/news, with 16.3 million subscribers, and r/london, with 114,000 subscribers. But Reddit users don't like to be moderated. In a joint investigation, Engadget and Point spoke to 10 Reddit moderators, and all of them complained that Reddit is systematically failing to tackle the abuse they suffer. Keeping the front page of the internet clean has become a thankless and abusive task, and yet Reddit's administration has repeatedly neglected to respond to moderators who report offenses. "I've had a few death threats," said Emily, who asked to be referred to by her first name and her Reddit username, lolihull, to prevent the online harassment from spilling over into her real life. "And when people find out you're a woman, you get rape threats." That's why Emily tries not to mention she's a woman on Reddit: The torrent of abuse is far less likely to turn sexual. "People are willing to dedicate their time to make you feel threatened for the hell of it," she said. Some messages are direct and succinct. One sent to Emily reads, "I hope you get shot in the face with a bullet." But others are profoundly disturbing and more creative. In one rambling attack, a Redditor told Emily, "I want you to get cancer because I wanna see your own body killing you. I want you to get cancer, your mother, sister, brother, father, grandparents I want them all to get cancer and when they open their mouths I wanna piss in them. I f**king hate you. You nasty disgusting slut f**kmeat." Further down in the diatribe he adds, "I want you to come across a mean STD nigger and he tears your shit hole up so bad you'll never ever have to push your shit out." Emily, a moderator for several popular subreddits Emily's experience is far from unique. "I had three death threats this past month," said abrownn, who moderates r/Futurology, with more than 13 million subscribers, and r/technology, with more than 6 million subscribers. abrownn asked only to be known by their username. All the moderators interviewed confirmed they had received death threats, which they said can take a toll. "Even if you're having the best day, reading a message like 'I'm going to kill you' or 'walk in front of a bus,' is shitty," said Robert Allam, Chief Marketing Officer at Supload, an online sharing platform. Known by his username, GallowBoob, Allam moderates r/tifu ("today I f**ked up"), where more than 13 million subscribers share their schadenfreude anecdotes, and r/oddlysatisfying, where 1.8 million subscribers post content that is inexplicably satisfying to watch. Reddit overtook Facebook this year to become the third most popular website in the US, behind Google and YouTube. At its best, Reddit is a place where people discuss topics with other like-minded individuals; there are subreddits devoted to just about any topic imaginable -- there's even one for people who like to Photoshop human arms onto pictures of birds. At its worst, Reddit is awash with sexist threads, spam and threats. It's down to an army of dedicated volunteer moderators to keep Reddit clean -- and they too often get caught in the crossfire. https://youtu.be/jpFTtmALiS0 Edited September 5, 2018 by Ash2017 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 5, 2018 Author Share September 5, 2018 I rest my case Hahhahahha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic September 5, 2018 Share September 5, 2018 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic September 5, 2018 Share September 5, 2018 Abuse and unpaid as a mod! Esp by that ccb @ash2017 and @staff69 But MCF ok lah except for @angcheek alwes harrasing @babyblade BB is paid to put up with angcheek leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 5, 2018 Author Share September 5, 2018 BB is paid to put up with angcheek leh. yah man...she must be getting a hefty sum... she must be one of those crazy rich asian nia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic September 5, 2018 Share September 5, 2018 To put up with @angcheek nonsense......nothing less than non-mediocre level of $501K PA will do... yah man...she must be getting a hefty sum... she must be one of those crazy rich asian nia 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 5, 2018 Author Share September 5, 2018 To put up with @angcheek nonsense......nothing less than non-mediocre level of $501K PA will do... i also say.... hahahah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buadongdong Twincharged September 5, 2018 Share September 5, 2018 Chey.. At first when I see the title, I thought which maid kenna abused and unpaid again.. hahaha.. So it turns out to be our Mods.. Poor things.. Sayang you all ah .. @Radx, @carbon82, @jman888, @spring Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 5, 2018 Share September 5, 2018 I sayang @babyblade on behalf of @angcheek Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic September 5, 2018 Share September 5, 2018 Pui Pui Pui Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic September 5, 2018 Share September 5, 2018 Report to MOM lah! Also check CPF contribution! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheesey74 6th Gear September 5, 2018 Share September 5, 2018 walau .... its coming ownself praise ownself ownself protect ownself ownself steady ownself but seriously if you ignore the undertaker's bitchi- ness and haolian-ness, he is like all of us. he got some principles actually I really like to meet him in person but I frighten he draw turtles on my car, put nails on wheels or pour water into my fuel tank one day we will 得饶人处且饶人。。 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ash2017 Twincharged September 5, 2018 Share September 5, 2018 得饶人处且饶人。。 true very true he said he forgive but the bugger never say he will forget but for me i forgive and forget actually it is so easy to get the wrong meaning in a forum after being awhile here these are the few things that i notice some people meant well but kena tekan because others interpret wrongly some people have good hard, sacrifice themselves to be kena so that others will benefit and not make the same mistake, also kena tekan by the same people whom they try to help so in the end, what I learn, at the end of the day, let everything go and start anew ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...