Inlinefour Twincharged August 29, 2018 Author Share August 29, 2018 Actually you see.. Monthly installment plus insurance plus road tax, plus maintenance is about 1.5k to 1.6k Outside car rental if can find good deal for hybrid like 60 per day 1 month about 1.8k. So still can save abit. However buy car is a long term commitment.. So if you are not sure, better rent car 1st and try it out. If you feel it's okay then after rental contract finish, you could then buy new car or 2nd hand car drive also not too late. Till now I still not sure how much % will be able to claim for petrol. As per last year income tax all cannot claim. But then the next one able to claim. Will wait till when send letter ask me to submit for income tax then I will ask iras on all these. Yes mine insurance premium is 2046 for Honda Shuttle hybrid. So is confirmed more expensive then non commerical insurance. Plus commerical insurance excess is different from non commerical car insurance. Mine is own damage 1k excess, other people claim me 1.5k excess. Last time LCR asked Drivers to undertake a 5k excess which is very high But hybrid car battery replacement about 7-8k right? My friend rent a hybrid car... but his car never park at his carpark. He dont even need to buy season parking. He drives 12hrs and his dad drives another 12hrs. The rent of car is divided by 2. I never hear him say he’s not earning. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas 5th Gear August 29, 2018 Share August 29, 2018 saw some bros posting that now after the com cut not worth to hitch anymore but don't know how true 10% is not a lot to me. Min ride cost is $5. So you keep $4.50 already can cover 1 cheap meal. So when I do hitch I just take it as the person I fetch treat me to a meal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aventa 3rd Gear August 29, 2018 Share August 29, 2018 I stop hitching after I realized many people take me for Taxi / PHV drivers. They come down late after 10+ minutes, flag for my car to reach their exact spot, come in whole group of 3 all sit behind / don't bother to acknowledge my presence and say hi and many more issues. I rather not hitch and therefore, I stopped. Now with this 10% fee, strengthens my reasons to not hitch. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Club21z 4th Gear August 30, 2018 Share August 30, 2018 Grab good for retire job, one day hit target keep car Lim kopi Liao. Cannot imagine work Fulltime to upkeep family. Good luck for those on road 12hours. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Banz86 5th Gear August 30, 2018 Share August 30, 2018 I stop hitching after I realized many people take me for Taxi / PHV drivers. They come down late after 10+ minutes, flag for my car to reach their exact spot, come in whole group of 3 all sit behind / don't bother to acknowledge my presence and say hi and many more issues. I rather not hitch and therefore, I stopped. Now with this 10% fee, strengthens my reasons to not hitch. I stopped regularly hitching as well as I received the same treatment. I remember telling a person to take the front seat as I'm not a Grab driver, I was rebutted, "just drive". That was the time that I tapered down my hitching and would rather take my time to head to my destination. Unless I'm going to the airport, Tanah Merah Ferry Terminal, NSRCC, Changi Village (i stay in the West), where I will still accept a long distance hitch. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged August 30, 2018 Share August 30, 2018 Not true hor. Please don't anyhow bomb. The taxi MDTs have a record of all the fares. Taxi drivers are required to print out the daily transactions and keep them, for declaration during income assessment submission. And they must keep all receipts (diesel, car wash, parking) and fare records for X number of years as IRAS reserves the right to audit their accounts if required. other than the tax deductables.......Taxi drivers are like hawkers, the cash transactions easy to "decide" how much income to declare. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic August 30, 2018 Share August 30, 2018 If what you said is true, I stand corrected. Not true hor. Please don't anyhow bomb. The taxi MDTs have a record of all the fares. Taxi drivers are required to print out the daily transactions and keep them, for declaration during income assessment submission. And they must keep all receipts (diesel, car wash, parking) and fare records for X number of years as IRAS reserves the right to audit their accounts if required. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Totak 2nd Gear August 30, 2018 Share August 30, 2018 Actually you see.. Monthly installment plus insurance plus road tax, plus maintenance is about 1.5k to 1.6k Outside car rental if can find good deal for hybrid like 60 per day 1 month about 1.8k. So still can save abit. However buy car is a long term commitment.. So if you are not sure, better rent car 1st and try it out. If you feel it's okay then after rental contract finish, you could then buy new car or 2nd hand car drive also not too late. Till now I still not sure how much % will be able to claim for petrol. As per last year income tax all cannot claim. But then the next one able to claim. Will wait till when send letter ask me to submit for income tax then I will ask iras on all these. Yes mine insurance premium is 2046 for Honda Shuttle hybrid. So is confirmed more expensive then non commerical insurance. Plus commerical insurance excess is different from non commerical car insurance. Mine is own damage 1k excess, other people claim me 1.5k excess. Bro, which ins company? considering to covert. own damage 1k excess, other people claim me 1.5k excess. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
boonhat_91 6th Gear August 30, 2018 Share August 30, 2018 I stopped regularly hitching as well as I received the same treatment. I remember telling a person to take the front seat as I'm not a Grab driver, I was rebutted, "just drive". That was the time that I tapered down my hitching and would rather take my time to head to my destination. Unless I'm going to the airport, Tanah Merah Ferry Terminal, NSRCC, Changi Village (i stay in the West), where I will still accept a long distance hitch. I hope you kicked that scum out and told them to "just walk" 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged August 30, 2018 Share August 30, 2018 Bro, which ins company? considering to covert. own damage 1k excess, other people claim me 1.5k excess. NTUC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic August 30, 2018 Share August 30, 2018 to be frank. a high earning driver is like using your life exchange for money. some ppl need that amount of income to cover. lppl . no life also must drive. if got better choice, stable working hours leave , mc cover. same amount of paid. who want to be driver? but dun think office work very relax. my friend underwriter, pay very shiok, every month end also burn sat and sunday , weekday almost 9-10. i self employ, ppl see and think i very shiok. but they dun know, i work 6 full weekday i went for holiday once in like 10 years only. there is only a very small % not caught in this rat race 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Char 5th Gear August 30, 2018 Share August 30, 2018 I stop hitching after I realized many people take me for Taxi / PHV drivers. They come down late after 10+ minutes, flag for my car to reach their exact spot, come in whole group of 3 all sit behind / don't bother to acknowledge my presence and say hi and many more issues. I rather not hitch and therefore, I stopped. Now with this 10% fee, strengthens my reasons to not hitch. This group of rider only let hitch driver wait lo as being late no penalty at all ... they will wait for Grab car , taxi , train , flight , cruise and even boy/ girl friend instead lo ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged August 30, 2018 Share August 30, 2018 (edited) Oh yes it's 100% true no joke.. what you said might apply 20 to 25 years ago. But nowadays, everything is linked to the taxi company's central computer. Want to siam taxes ah? Hard loh... Only hawkers can still declare what they like because there is no central system to monitor their takings for the day How long have you not taken a taxi? If what you said is true, I stand corrected. Edited August 30, 2018 by Beehive3783 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged August 30, 2018 Author Share August 30, 2018 10% is not a lot to me. Min ride cost is $5. So you keep $4.50 already can cover 1 cheap meal. So when I do hitch I just take it as the person I fetch treat me to a meal. Hmmm...if conti car $4.50 I think can't cover cost B&B car maybe ok but don't think they want to wait and detour Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged August 30, 2018 Author Share August 30, 2018 Only hawkers can still declare what they like because there is no central system to monitor their takings for the day iras officers will sit in front of the store doing the counting some hawkers kenna 1 month headcounting then they x 12 to be the annual income Chicken and Duck rice shop are required to show officers the head with tailbone for auditing purpose There is no where to hide from Pinky Remember Tip Top curry puff and No signboard seafood 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic August 30, 2018 Share August 30, 2018 Oh yes it's 100% true no joke.. what you said might apply 20 to 25 years ago. But nowadays, everything is linked to the taxi company's central computer. Want to siam taxes ah? Hard loh... Only hawkers can still declare what they like because there is no central system to monitor their takings for the day How long have you not taken a taxi? He is like chok tong. Car blocked by fallen tree nvm, just get out and walk to the other side of the road. Got another car there waiting for him Why need to take taxi? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic August 30, 2018 Share August 30, 2018 I stopped regularly hitching as well as I received the same treatment. I remember telling a person to take the front seat as I'm not a Grab driver, I was rebutted, "just drive". That was the time that I tapered down my hitching and would rather take my time to head to my destination. Unless I'm going to the airport, Tanah Merah Ferry Terminal, NSRCC, Changi Village (i stay in the West), where I will still accept a long distance hitch. You never chase the person off the car. I would have said get the F out! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lava 5th Gear August 30, 2018 Share August 30, 2018 phv is the form of driving down our unemployment rate. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...