What to do with inheritance?

Adrianli

elite, it is better if you share what you would personally NOT stay away from

T2 has already given him very good advice.  Better he have money in his pocket which can see him through many years. 

So your answer to sifu is that AL should take the money and invest in himself?

wah. so many gurus here.

1. Clear outstanding debts and liabilities

2. Accumulate 100K in Singapore Savings Bond.. It will fetch better interest than FD and can be withdrawn without any lock-in period

3. If any balance left, see what other options you have, depending on your risk appetite.

1. Clear outstanding debts and liabilities

2. Accumulate 100K in Singapore Savings Bond.. It will fetch better interest than FD and can be withdrawn without any lock-in period

3. If any balance left, see what other options you have, depending on your risk appetite.

For #2, lock in period can be up to one month. If you sell right after the previous payout date, you have to wait till next month.

BTW, now buy SSB cannot buy 50k or even 100k one shot. They will give you a small portion only (think 15k?). Then you gotta wait till next month to buy some more.

Edited by Kusje

oic...thank you elite

full cash yo!

That's true, but some FDs don't allow you to withdraw or close the account for X number of years. So still better than FD I guess.

For #2, lock in period can be up to one month. If you sell right after the previous payout date, you have to wait till next month.

So your answer to sifu is that AL should take the money and invest in himself?

wah. so many gurus here.

wah ....now then you know?

here got many mcfers for peasant storeman to learn from de

:a-m1212:  [:)]

as a silent partner.. what is your value add??

过河拆桥 stories i have heard to many.....

I would have no value to add except for the initial capital and probably dine for free.

BTW, now buy SSB cannot buy 50k or even 100k one shot. They will give you a small portion only (think 15k?). Then you gotta wait till next month to buy some more.

last time undersubscribed tell you buy leh

you kpkb interest too low

[:/]  [dizzy]  :D

last time undersubscribed tell you buy leh

you kpkb interest too low

[:/]  [dizzy]  :D

When it was under subscribed, the interest rate was indeed too low but I still bought because sifu told me to buy so I have to buy.

Right now I am selling the low interest rate bonds to buy the higher interest rate bonds.

Edited by Kusje

I hope your extended family will distribute without fuzz. Many a times, quarrels and unhappiness of share to the pie lead to breakups.

Wishing you all the best.

This one, i dont know. I have no say at all. I hope the distribution by the lawyers go smoothly. I never hoped for anything so this inheritance came as a surprise for me.

Having never hoped for anything mindset is the best, if not if the outcome turn out not what you have expected, it might lead to quarrels and unhappiness since you have expected something initially.

When it was under subscribed, the interest rate was indeed too low but I still bought because sifu told me to buy so I have to buy.

Right now I am selling the low interest rate bonds to buy the higher interest rate bonds.

wah high flyer 就是 high flyer

so smart and astute

I dont think i will receiving anywhere in 7 digits. Most probably in the low 6 digits amount. I dont have any say, my aunties and uncles will have first bite and the leftover will be passed to us.

So you are saying to invest some, keep some and cold storage the rest?

Low 6 digits, take some out for a holiday/small treats

the rest invest in some good equities (too little for bonds), with good dividend and capital appreciation

at the least will give you $5-10k a year free spending money from dividends (no count capital gains yet)

don't bother with FD if you don't need a lot of liquid cash, the rates are below inflation

PM Throttle2 for a few stock ideas. He got questionable EQ but his financial knowledge is reliable

*or you can just mirror Temasek Holdings purchases, hahahaha, sure huat

F&B is cut throat.  I would personally stay away.  

totally agree. stay away.

I hope your extended family will distribute without fuzz. Many a times, quarrels and unhappiness of share to the pie lead to breakups.

Wishing you all the best.

thats why sometimes better not leave anything behind. screw the kids... hahaha, let them survive on their own. have enough for oneself and spend it all before you die. 

know too many who scrimped and saved on themselves, only to have the kids and descendants squander it all.

totally agree. stay away.

thats why sometimes better not leave anything behind. screw the kids... hahaha, let them survive on their own. have enough for oneself and spend it all before you die. 

know too many who scrimped and saved on themselves, only to have the kids and descendants squander it all.

Left too much money for the kids and descendants to fight and quarrel is the worst scenario. But for those who have too much money, also difficult to spend it all before die la. Even you say go holidays many times per year or buy luxury car and houses also cannot spend it all. Esp if the person is still earning high salary and have many other incomes which continue to generate their wealth. Lol.

wah high flyer 就是 high flyer

so smart and astute

If following sifu's advice makes me smart and astute, then i will always be smart and astute.