Reckless Cyclist

Brock

44 minutes ago, Heartlander said:

Used Google street view to view the stretch of road. Confirm from the surrounding that is the road bridge that is just beside the new coastal walk entrance, and the direction of travel for that accident was from Changi Beach towards Aviation Park just after the bus stop. Seems the perpendicular metal structure would eventually be cemented or tarred over as evidenced  by 1 of the structure shown on Google street view. If cement over would not have this kind of accidents.

I am riding the route at least 3 times a week so definitely would be paying more attention henceforth. But that stretch is not where most riders would be riding at higher speed but maybe that is why the rider had been lucky as would have sustained more serious injury. My observation is that most riders would go faster at the bend near the Changi Naval base area as there is a bit of gentle downslope. The main coastal road is quite flat and most riders cannot sustain even 35km/hr for the whole stretch, especially those not riding in formation thus cannot benefit from draft effects.

I was shocked to see this post. I rode past the bridge yesterday morning.

Yesterday was difficult to go fast with lots of headwind.

There are times I was pulling at the front.

There are times I sitting in the middle of the pack.

I could only clock average speed around 33km/h.

17 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

I was shocked to see this post. I rode past the bridge yesterday morning.

Yesterday was difficult to go fast with lots of headwind.

There are times I was pulling at the front.

There are times I sitting in the middle of the pack.

I could only clock average speed around 33km/h.

last time army daze we train for SOC by carrying extra weight (water, dummy mag, dummy grenade). When test come, we go with test items only. Much lighter. Really fly.

u try train with FBO: use heavy bike with side panniers on front n back and tow a lorry tyre (lying flat) behind u. When wanna clock PB, go lightweight. Sure champion 😁

p.s. for towing the lorry tyre, use a metal bar, not a rope. Otherwise it will bang u if u brake

On 8/20/2022 at 4:04 PM, Vratenza said:

Lile this can? Streamline enough? :D

Just use NRIC/FIN/WP/EP number can already,  don't need simi sai registration. 

how-to-start-professional-bike-racing-1499802583-picsay.jpg.95078aec3fc72a95b7ce2e0758b01b5f.jpg

Just like cars with bike carrier blocking the rear licence plate that have to hang another plate on the bike being carried, if caught by TP not doing that,  just get fine only. 

No need fine. Need to be drastic. Don’t wear then, no compensation. Kenna knock down and get injured or dead your problem. 

i still advocate no fault of the driver or any compensation for any cyclist on the expressway. 

Edited by Mkl22

2 minutes ago, Shibadog said:

last time army daze we train for SOC by carrying extra weight (water, dummy mag, dummy grenade). When test come, we go with test items only. Much lighter. Really fly.

u try train with FBO: use heavy bike with side panniers on front n back and tow a lorry tyre (lying flat) behind u. When wanna clock PB, go lightweight. Sure champion 😁

p.s. for towing the lorry tyre, use a metal bar, not a rope. Otherwise it will bang u if u brake

Might as well use mountain bike to train... :D

Edited by Vratenza

6 minutes ago, Shibadog said:

No use when facing headwind.

Your suggested training will be useful when doing hill laps.

1 hour ago, Vratenza said:

no need so troublesome to keep different bicycles…just use the salah gear to climb ascend during regular training…then during race or time trial, use the corright one then you’ll fly like an arrowdynamic missile…make sure to erase the finger muscle memory first…😁

looks like a quite peacefull  weekend ..... no updates on recklessness ....... tot Sun sure have some upload video of MAMIL's or delivery bikers  :grin:and @inlinesix can lepak today....... OK lah all fall-in Sex377A 

1 hour ago, BanCoe said:

looks like a quite peacefull  weekend ..... no updates on recklessness ....... tot Sun sure have some upload video of MAMIL's or delivery bikers  :grin:and @inlinesix can lepak today....... OK lah all fall-in Sex377A 

Just like COVID, peak of the week is Tuesday

😂

On 8/21/2022 at 11:14 AM, Philipkee said:

Ask you all.  Can this be mistaken to be a cycling lane? I see many foreign workers cycling there and sometimes they cycle straight past the traffic light when it's a left turning lane. 

This is near the woodlands dormitory.  Near the Sembawang naval base.

IMG-20220821-WA0020.jpg

this area is like that. Last time when they pang kang, the whole road towards the community centre will be full of bicycles and people walking around. But they generally will look out for traffic and give way. Unlike the rest of the self entitled mamil roaches. 

On 8/21/2022 at 4:15 PM, Vratenza said:

Lol that is what I have been using all along. My 15 year old alu frame bike costing only $250 when bought used easily weighed 14kg, only notable mods have been a 52T chainring and hybrid tyres. And the grueling pace I put myself under the hot sun on weekends for the last 2 years have been paying off now. But nowadays quite paiseh as fellow cyclists have been giving small encouraging small talks when stopping at traffic lights or throwing glances of disbelief when chionging that I could keep up with them or overtaking them for the distance, the most flattering had been from a pinoy cyclist who had been racing for some distance who was generous with some kind words. Maybe one of these days I should borrow a good bike to try out the difference haha.

Edited by Heartlander

On 8/20/2022 at 3:05 PM, Jellandross said:

Cycling lane is for pussies. I am the hero.

I hope they don't b1tch on social media if they fall into a pothole on the road where cycling lane is available lol

On 8/20/2022 at 3:05 PM, Jellandross said:

Cycling lane is for pussies. I am the hero.

That's it! Your see that! Gave them a yard of space for cycling and now some want a full lane! 😒

5 minutes ago, DOBIEMKZ said:

That's it! Your see that! Gave them a yard of space for cycling and now some want a full lane! 😒

They want the whole road lah simi lane

they ride pass you better kneel down and bow ok?

5 minutes ago, DOBIEMKZ said:

I am against cycling lane.  It is usually the worst part of the road.

Look at cycling lane in Sentosa.  The paint is peeling off.