Reckless Cyclist

Brock

16 minutes ago, Atonchia said:

I think the main question is not why they are not in bike lane.... 

errrr... the bike lane not suitable for TT speed in my opinion.. and at times u kenna those "walk horse see flower" riders.. and some not observant de.. u dare chiong? at times i bei tahan i oso take the road if i abv 32km/h

and the design of the lane is a joke.. u see the famous 2 bus stops (towards CV) there... who can ride there at speed? plus alot of legs stretching out at times when waiting for bus..

9 minutes ago, Ody_2004 said:

errrr... the bike lane not suitable for TT speed in my opinion.. and at times u kenna those "walk horse see flower" riders.. and some not observant de.. u dare chiong? at times i bei tahan i oso take the road if i abv 32km/h

and the design of the lane is a joke.. u see the famous 2 bus stops (towards CV) there... who can ride there at speed? plus alot of legs stretching out at times when waiting for bus..

When you drive and there is a bend/red light, I guess you would slow down/stop right? However when cycling, how come bends, obstacles, red lights suddenly become excuses to do stupid things?

Likewise, slow down near the bus stops and take the bike lane to the left.  Even at 35km/h plus (burst only, legs cannot sustain!) plus, I still do bike lane.

38 minutes ago, Atonchia said:

Front guy wants to stop for red light..... Back guy just kept going...... 

I think the main question is not why they are not in bike lane.... 

But why like more than 2 pax? 🤫

as we can see even in a group of cyclists, assuming same group, there're 2 sets of cyclist. maturity and responsibility are not in sync. different blood different thinking. 

9 hours ago, Blueray said:

ST headline should read

Reckless cyclist arrested on the spot, bicycle impounded. [laugh]

The problem is this will never happen,  it is why the consequences  now. The vicious cycle will continue until more death before the authority  would start thinking about what to do with it, I suspect they have not given any thoughts about it.

1 hour ago, AR159 said:

as we can see even in a group of cyclists, assuming same group, there're 2 sets of cyclist. maturity and responsibility are not in sync. different blood different thinking. 

During rest time, don't they catch up and discuss lessons learned and  exchange idea on how to ride in a safer manner? They don't care about their buddies risking their life ? Or those who are  being told hackcare about it ?  Those regular group cyclists here may want to share your experience  and thoughts. 

Edited by Ct3833

15 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

During rest time, don't they catch up and discuss lessons learned and  exchange idea on how to ride in a safer manner? They don't care about their buddies risking their life ? Or those who are  being told hackcare about it ?  Those regular group cyclists here may want to share your experience  and thoughts. 

Not many local group knows how to ride in close formation.

The lead rider will decide whether to chiong or stop.

If stop, we will shout light and stop.

The message will be convey backward along the peloton.

There is no room for last minute change of mind.

1 hour ago, Volvobrick said:

When you drive and there is a bend/red light, I guess you would slow down/stop right? However when cycling, how come bends, obstacles, red lights suddenly become excuses to do stupid things?

Likewise, slow down near the bus stops and take the bike lane to the left.  Even at 35km/h plus (burst only, legs cannot sustain!) plus, I still do bike lane.

I guess you never ride along TMCR.

It is not easy to sustain 35km/h without peloton along TMCR.

1 hour ago, Volvobrick said:

drive car shouldn't tailgate due to safety.

ride bike must tailgate to clock better average speed. heck care safety. 

15 minutes ago, Shibadog said:

drive car shouldn't tailgate due to safety.

ride bike must tailgate to clock better average speed. heck care safety. 

This is call drafting.

You cannot clock better average speed unless your engine can keep up.

I can’t follow 32km/h average speed group without being dropped after 5km.

For proper drafting etiquette, there is good communication from front to rear and vice versa as well as rotation of lead drivers.

Edited by inlinesix

2 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

This is call drafting.

You cannot clock better average speed unless your engine can keep up.

I can’t follow 32km/h average speed group without being dropped after 5km.

i get it. It's still tailgating. 

i am just pointing out the utter disregard for safety in order to clock better speed. 

2 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

ya la . its the same. i drive car. but if the road situation dun allow me to drive at 90. i have to slow down.

if i cycle in bicycle lane, the situation dun allow me to cycle at my top speed. i slow down also right???

this is common sense. why are we even discussing this?? 😵

1 minute ago, Shibadog said:

i get it. It's still tailgating. 

i am just pointing out the utter disregard for safety in order to clock better speed. 

Rather than clocking better speed, we have been riding at constant speed.

For riding in peloton, there should be no spike in speed.

You are wrong to say it is utterly disregard for safety.

2 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Rather than clocking better speed, we have been riding at constant speed.

For riding in peloton, there should be no spike in speed.

You are wrong to say it is utterly disregard for safety.

when i say "better speed", i mean "higher speed compared to speed when riding without tailgating/drafting".

as you yourself conceded, roadies draft in order to maintain higher speed than if they were riding alone/separated.

ok it's not utter disregard for safety. I stand corrected; It's actually a conscious choice to undertake the implied risks to ownself, cycling buddies as well as other road users. 

1 minute ago, Shibadog said:

when i say "better speed", i mean "higher speed compared to speed when riding without tailgating/drafting".

as you yourself conceded, roadies draft in order to maintain higher speed than if they were riding alone/separated.

ok it's not utter disregard for safety. I stand corrected; It's actually a conscious choice to undertake the implied risks to ownself, cycling buddies as well as other road users. 

My improvement in term of average speed is 2km/h.

Your implied risk is also wrong.

If there is any hazard on the road, the lead rider will shout or point.

The message is convey from front to rear.

58 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

I guess you never ride along TMCR.

It is not easy to sustain 35km/h without peloton along TMCR.

What's so hard to DIY?  That's from a pair of very old legs and bike lane. 

Screenshot_20210808_221656.jpg

Edited by Volvobrick

10 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

My improvement in term of average speed is 2km/h.

Your implied risk is also wrong.

If there is any hazard on the road, the lead rider will shout or point.

The message is convey from front to rear.

tell that to the two guys that just buang at TMCR. 

i'm just glad no innocent vehicle driving beside them got implicated.