Civic2000 Supercharged October 4, 2018 Share October 4, 2018 YOUTRIP FAQ Is there any withdrawal charge?Yes, there is a SGD5 or equivalent withdrawal fee for each overseas ATM withdrawal. For ATM withdrawal in any of the 10 currencies that stored in your multi-currency wallet (SGD, USD, EUR, GBP, JPY, HKD, AUD, NZD, CHF, and SEK), the fee of SGD5 will be charged in the equivalent transaction currency using our wholesale exchange rate. For ATM withdrawal in all other supported foreign currencies, the fee of SGD5 will be charged in SGD currency. Similar to any purchase transaction, ATM withdrawal in these currencies will be converted and deducted in SGD by default and followed by SmartExchange™ where applicable. Please also take note that additional charges may be applied by overseas local bank for ATM withdrawal. To add: Overseas ATM withdrawal can only be done at ATM that labelled with either Mastercard®, Maestro® or Cirrus® logo using your YouTrip card. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged October 4, 2018 Share October 4, 2018 Been using this card and app for the last 3 weeks buying us stuff online and have saved easily $100 Like the fact that you tx off the cc and spending is seamless In Thailand , used the atm and had a comm surcharge but ok for large amounts Overall a great concept I’m awaiting my mightyfx app and see how it fares It shd be here soon The refund takes a while to reflect Same happened to me and the funds went to my usd counter in the app When you next pay, they utilize that counter first before using ur local currency acct outside the top 10 currencies, they also supported another 140 currencies but because they are not listed in the wallet, i reckon they will be netted off against the S$ balance everytime we spend one of these 140 currencies? i am going taiwan soon, was quite surprised NT$ was not listed in the first 10 while HKD and even SEK is......how many asian travellers use SEK? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alau3978 3rd Gear October 4, 2018 Share October 4, 2018 I have been using this card in Rome, Paris and now in Barcelona. Even for amount less than $2.00 I can charge it to the card when I used it in the supermarket. Most importantly, I used it for security reasons. The only drawback that I have is when I want to get the Tax Refund back to the youtrip card, the girl at the Paris outlet counter was unable to do so. I can only ask for a Cash Refund when I exit at an Europe Airport. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 4, 2018 Author Share October 4, 2018 outside the top 10 currencies, they also supported another 140 currencies but because they are not listed in the wallet, i reckon they will be netted off against the S$ balance everytime we spend one of these 140 currencies? i am going taiwan soon, was quite surprised NT$ was not listed in the first 10 while HKD and even SEK is......how many asian travellers use SEK?Taiwan is not a country 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged October 5, 2018 Share October 5, 2018 Taiwan is not a country haha...it still has its own currency.........travellers are less bothered with nationalistic sentiments and more with pragmatic needs for currency ma....haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic October 5, 2018 Share October 5, 2018 Malaysian Ringgit also not listed in first 10 right? outside the top 10 currencies, they also supported another 140 currencies but because they are not listed in the wallet, i reckon they will be netted off against the S$ balance everytime we spend one of these 140 currencies? i am going taiwan soon, was quite surprised NT$ was not listed in the first 10 while HKD and even SEK is......how many asian travellers use SEK? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged October 5, 2018 Share October 5, 2018 Malaysian Ringgit also not listed in first 10 right? yes, don't have, although myr and rmb don't bothered me as much as i got such currency bank account. what i am really surprised is SEK. this card is created in singapore by hong kies. i would expect the currency to be predominantly asian and some major currencies in other part of the world like usa and europe and rightly so. but swedish kronar doesn't fit the bill and neither does a lot of asian had things to buy in sweden. ikea and volvo stuff can be bought with local currencies. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
bsswan 6th Gear October 5, 2018 Share October 5, 2018 While it is good, the down side is cannot transfer back unused balance. So it could be a challenge to use up the remaining balance. Correct me if I am wrong. Surely just convert some FX before heading away if rate is good/acceptable....keep SGD in the main wallet and convert only when needed to the currency you need that few days. At the end, last day(s), run down the currency to zero then automatically further payments come out of SGD at that day's FX rate, assuming no money in other currencies. Nothing left behind in foreigh currency wallet and last transactions win-some-lose-some live rate. Even if only holding SGD, purchases are done at live rate with zero fee? Only worthwhile to convert currency today if you think rate today is better than when overseas? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic October 5, 2018 Share October 5, 2018 just signed up and waiting for card who got referral code please pm me thanks. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic October 5, 2018 Share October 5, 2018 just signed up and waiting for card who got referral code please pm me thanks. Sifu, use mine. times are tough. need some kopi $ 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic October 5, 2018 Share October 5, 2018 just signed up and waiting for card who got referral code please pm me thanks. good luck. i signed on 2nd sept. Recevived my card 28 sept. activated it on 1st oct. still yet to use it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aristotle 5th Gear October 5, 2018 Share October 5, 2018 Now in Bangkok. My friend change in Central World at 23.55, while I use the card and transacted at 23.60. So slightly better than money changer rates, and definitely better than normal credit card foreign currency exchange rate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 5, 2018 Author Share October 5, 2018 Now in Bangkok. My friend change in Central World at 23.55, while I use the card and transacted at 23.60. So slightly better than money changer rates, and definitely better than normal credit card foreign currency exchange rate.me too at Hua Hin now, used the card to pay for all purchases at the premium outlet and meals , same rate 23.55. Checked money changer rate at Chinatown and raffles place, best rate 23.56. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic2000 Supercharged October 5, 2018 Share October 5, 2018 me too at Hua Hin now, used the card to pay for all purchases at the premium outlet and meals , same rate 23.55. Checked money changer rate at Chinatown and raffles place, best rate 23.56. Your $1000 will get you THB23, 560 @ $$ changers in China Town or Raffles Place. But you are actually paying about S$1005 for THB 23560 if you go to the $$ changer in China Town or Raffles Place, the extra $5 being the cost of bus fares. Though the YouTrip card gives you about the same rate, but save you lots of time and trouble of going to the $$ changers. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 9, 2018 Author Share October 9, 2018 Your $1000 will get you THB23, 560 @ $$ changers in China Town or Raffles Place. But you are actually paying about S$1005 for THB 23560 if you go to the $$ changer in China Town or Raffles Place, the extra $5 being the cost of bus fares. Though the YouTrip card gives you about the same rate, but save you lots of time and trouble of going to the $$ changers. the rate changes on daily basis, some time higher and some time lower. Yesterday rate for the card was $23.74, much higher than most money changer. I only keep $50 in the card and every time i need to use it i will top up the exact purchase amount (round up) at the cashier before using the card this is provided you have data roam all the time. $50 is to buffer for sudden change in the rate (you won't know until the transaction was made) and in case i lost the card. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged October 16, 2018 Share October 16, 2018 Got the card last week. A (stupid) qns to ask the bros here. I frequent 2 online shops, one in Jap and another in US. If I top up both currencies in my card, how does the card does it deductions? I assume if I pay in yen, it will deduct the amount available in yen right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator October 16, 2018 Share October 16, 2018 Got the card last week. A (stupid) qns to ask the bros here. I frequent 2 online shops, one in Jap and another in US. If I top up both currencies in my card, how does the card does it deductions? I assume if I pay in yen, it will deduct the amount available in yen right? you topup and it will enter your sgd wallet when you pay in that currency they deduct the amount from the sgd wallet, converted by the equivalent foreign currency amount for eg, you but sth usd$30 they deduct usd$30*1.37 = sgd$41.1 from the wallet if you had $50sgd initially,m you will have sgd$8.9 left 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged October 16, 2018 Share October 16, 2018 you topup and it will enter your sgd wallet when you pay in that currency they deduct the amount from the sgd wallet, converted by the equivalent foreign currency amount for eg, you but sth usd$30 they deduct usd$30*1.37 = sgd$41.1 from the wallet if you had $50sgd initially,m you will have sgd$8.9 left Great. Thanks. So what is the "exchange" option in the app used for if it does the conversion for you? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...