YouTrip Mobile wallet

Jman888

Tested youtrip vs revolut during last trip in Taiwan, India.... Youtrip better rates.  

Edited by jcmm

On 2/18/2025 at 6:07 PM, TangoCharlie said:

So far youtrip still better rates than trust for me in Japan.

For withdrawal, youtrip i can withdraw 40k yen, bank charge 220 yen.

Trust need to find visa plus. Managed to find 7/11 ATM. Every withdrawal up to 20k yen need to pay 220 yen.

Withdrawal limits also depends on which bank's ATM.

So probably use trust as back up in future.

Japan within cap of $400 and at 7-11, zero charge. 

On 2/18/2025 at 9:26 PM, TangoCharlie said:

As in zero bank charge within 400sgd cap at 7-11 ATM?

Yes straight from JPY wallet. Don't use bank's ATM, only at 7-11. I have done it many times. Applies to Revolut card too.

Edited by Voodooman

Wow... many people complaining on fb there are multiple deductions for declined card transactions. Youtrip was down this morning and all transactions failed. Suddenly these failed transactions become successful and money is deducted. Merchant has no record of the transactions. Youtrip jialat liao, anyhow deduct money

On 3/4/2025 at 4:52 PM, Raubern said:

Wow... many people complaining on fb there are multiple deductions for declined card transactions. Youtrip was down this morning and all transactions failed. Suddenly these failed transactions become successful and money is deducted. Merchant has no record of the transactions. Youtrip jialat liao, anyhow deduct money

had stopped using youtrip and revolut (both are debit cards) after the introduction of Trust 

in fact, they are many credit cards now target travellers with 0% Fx fees and near market exchange rate even from UOB and DBS

On 3/4/2025 at 5:45 PM, Wt_know said:

had stopped using youtrip and revolut (both are debit cards) after the introduction of Trust 

in fact, they are many credit cards now target travellers with 0% Fx fees and near market exchange rate even from UOB and DBS

But sometimes is still good to sit on pre-bought currency. My iChange has JPY at 116 bought a few weeks ago for travel in May.

Now is like 111..... Pros and Cons.

Same. I use Trust more now on travel.

However, I found out during my recent travel to Tokyo that Trust card cannot be used to top up the subway card on my iPhone while Youtrip worked. So good to have both handy.

On 3/4/2025 at 8:45 PM, Wt_know said:

Exactly which cards offer near market FX rates? 

On 3/4/2025 at 6:07 PM, bsswan said:

But sometimes is still good to sit on pre-bought currency. My iChange has JPY at 116 bought a few weeks ago for travel in May.

Now is like 111..... Pros and Cons.

i have the same thinking

last year i stack up “a lot” of jpy in youtrip 

it sits there for almost 4-5 months

at one point i was not able to login to youtrip … i thought my $$$ all jit dong keng liao

after that experience i never want to stash $$$ in simi sai wallet

scare the simi sai fintech up lorry  … credit card besterest

use first pay later … some more can dispute the transaction

like you say, good point is change when rate is good … unless change $5k $10k la … if $1k-$2k no point right?

huat ah!

On 3/4/2025 at 6:15 PM, Vid said:

Same. I use Trust more now on travel.

However, I found out during my recent travel to Tokyo that Trust card cannot be used to top up the subway card on my iPhone while Youtrip worked. So good to have both handy.

suica or pasmo?

it’s a travel card add directly to iphone wallet

no prob for me. 

Trust for now is good with the 1% cb. But trust policy change faster than chameleon change colour. Good to have yt as backup. 

On 3/4/2025 at 7:16 PM, Wt_know said:

suica or pasmo?

Neither 😂

I was using icoca. Later read that Pasmo and icoca don't work well with visa charging.

On 3/4/2025 at 7:16 PM, Wt_know said:

suica or pasmo?

it’s a travel card add directly to iphone wallet

no prob for me. 

Also top up suica can only do during regular hours. Some folks experience that at 2-3am cannot top up. Maybe daily system maintenance down time. 

On 3/4/2025 at 8:21 PM, Mkl22 said:

Also top up suica can only do during regular hours. Some folks experience that at 2-3am cannot top up. Maybe daily system maintenance down time. 

wah ... 2-3am ... just finish drinking at izakaya ar? lol

On 3/6/2025 at 12:53 PM, Lala81 said:

Fsmone debit card now no different. 

Also 1% cashback. 

I've been using fsmone sgd auto sweep account. 

https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsmone/article/rcms315940/spend-directly-from-your-sgd-auto-sweep-account-with-the-fsmone-debit-

Try mine a few times overseas in Japan and Bali.....always rejected. Youtrip no such problems.

If it works, quite good actually as you earn good interest rate on money sitting there.

Edited by TangoCharlie

On 3/6/2025 at 2:29 PM, TangoCharlie said:

Try mine a few times overseas in Japan and Bali.....always rejected. Youtrip no such problems.

If it works, quite good actually as you earn good interest rate on money sitting there.

Oh someone actually has it. I thought it's quite 冷门。