Tohto Hypersonic August 4, 2018 Share August 4, 2018 (edited) You drive at 160 to 170km/h still need to take 6.5 hours? I only drive around 120 to 130kmlh on NSH de. 3 hours from 2nd link to KL in 3 hours? First time drive so far, thats why need 2 drivers, just in case. Furtherest i drive is Genting only from sg. @Adrianli car are made for German Autobann high speed cruising, 200km/h is nothing. I think he don't even feel any floating of car. Edited August 4, 2018 by Tohto ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic August 4, 2018 Share August 4, 2018 I really hope can have a similar trip to boleh, but too bad. Wife never interested into going holiday in Malaysia. My last drive up holiday in Malaysia was like almost 10yrs. Even though I enjoy driving a lot, and I think my car can only stretch it potential in boleh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutrino Supercharged August 4, 2018 Share August 4, 2018 (edited) This hotel belong to Shangrila group. Definitely high standard. For your future visit to Penang, if you are staying in George town. I strongly recommend Eastern Oriental for your stay. Get the studio room. Room are huge and sea facing. Breakfast is also very good. Studio come with afternoon cocktail at 5pm with very nice snack and free flow of beer, wine etc... If you book room 1501 you'll find that the room area is much bigger than HDB flats. But all rooms in new wing or Heritage wing have the afternoon cocktails and canapes. Edited August 4, 2018 by Neutrino 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic August 4, 2018 Share August 4, 2018 (edited) The EO rooms are really nice. But I find the food is ok-ok lah. Roast duck in their dinner buffet is surprisingly very good, but the wine is not great for a 5-star hotel. A lot of people may prefer to enjoy the street food - where TS stayed is the best location for local hawker fare. Yah. New lane has the best street food. So I normally stay at Jens hotel, club room are also very nice after the renovations. Only 10mins walk to New Lane. E & O stay a few occasions as Jens hotel was fully book. Edited August 4, 2018 by Tohto 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic August 4, 2018 Share August 4, 2018 Tell her you are planning holiday in land of the smile, there will be time at the beach and shopping in BKK. Except you will be driving there. Problem solved. I think BKK I think is too far.I will n fly there and get a rental car to drive out of BKK. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleAtas Turbocharged August 5, 2018 Share August 5, 2018 This guy deserves the Iron butt award!! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Privacy 5th Gear August 5, 2018 Share August 5, 2018 1800km is not very far but not to take NSH it's super far.... i used to do 1800km tri country road trip to Hatyai... on a bike :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leoeve 1st Gear August 6, 2018 Share August 6, 2018 nice road trip 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pmet 3rd Gear August 8, 2018 Share August 8, 2018 Super post! Man you make me wanna restart my MY road trip ambition. How was the road from KK to Penang? Any potholes riddled roads? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic August 8, 2018 Author Share August 8, 2018 Super post! Man you make me wanna restart my MY road trip ambition. How was the road from KK to Penang? Any potholes riddled roads? Thanks. Not a lot of potholes, just a few here and there. Mostly patched up. So not completely smooth like expressway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged August 9, 2018 Share August 9, 2018 excellent post with detailed write ups and photos especially the food 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheesey74 Supercharged August 9, 2018 Share August 9, 2018 This thread should be the best thread of the month. So detail trip report with same detail photo. Mod and Admin. Yep, moi sarpork ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged August 11, 2018 Share August 11, 2018 great pics, great account, responsible droning and touristing too. thanks! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wallaw819 4th Gear August 13, 2018 Share August 13, 2018 Nice trip. Did almost the same trip last year but from Kuantan cut through Gus Musang to Cameron Highlands then towards Penang. Long road trips are the best! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kykh Supercharged August 13, 2018 Share August 13, 2018 At last completed 8 days 7 nights road trip around Malaysia. What a drive!!! Total mileage, clocking about 2,000km. Good to explore new places and visit some familiar places. Until the next long road trip, thanks for reading my long posts. I enjoy reading your road trip journals (this and the one to Thailand)! The part on parasailing was funny :) I have not gotten onto any road trip ever since I married, as my wife is not keen. I hope to convince her and travel with my family when the kids are older. Are there any safety precautions against robbery that you had taken on road trips? You seem to be confident that you would not be caught speeding ;) 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic August 13, 2018 Author Share August 13, 2018 I enjoy reading your road trip journals (this and the one to Thailand)! The part on parasailing was funny :) I have not gotten onto any road trip ever since I married, as my wife is not keen. I hope to convince her and travel with my family when the kids are older. Are there any safety precautions against robbery that you had taken on road trips? You seem to be confident that you would not be caught speeding ;) I always dress down when in MY. But no matter what, I always "stand out" due to my height. I also empty my wallet and only bring out necessary cash for the day and a few credit cards. So even if kena rob, not much of a loss. I am using Waze, it helps "look up" ahead of police presence, thanks to MY drivers contributing. I will also contribute if I spot them and just tap on the "thumbs up" tab to confirm police presence when I pass by them. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kykh Supercharged August 14, 2018 Share August 14, 2018 (edited) I always dress down when in MY. But no matter what, I always "stand out" due to my height. I also empty my wallet and only bring out necessary cash for the day and a few credit cards. So even if kena rob, not much of a loss. I am using Waze, it helps "look up" ahead of police presence, thanks to MY drivers contributing. I will also contribute if I spot them and just tap on the "thumbs up" tab to confirm police presence when I pass by them. Thanks for the tips! Your aerial shots with the drone were great too! Have you tried operating the drone to follow your car through a scenic route while your co-driver was behind the wheel? :) Edited August 14, 2018 by kykh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 14, 2018 Share August 14, 2018 I always dress down when in MY. But no matter what, I always "stand out" due to my height. I also empty my wallet and only bring out necessary cash for the day and a few credit cards. So even if kena rob, not much of a loss. I am using Waze, it helps "look up" ahead of police presence, thanks to MY drivers contributing. I will also contribute if I spot them and just tap on the "thumbs up" tab to confirm police presence when I pass by them. In term of dress down, don't wear slipper. Slipper is national costume. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...