Unfazed 6th Gear July 19, 2018 Share July 19, 2018 I m all for law enforcement agencies using cars with better performance as we never know when a chase is needed. Performance do come in handy when they need to pick up speed fast to shorten the chase & intercept asap. What Police vehicles dun need are probably luxury features like electric seats etc etc. This electric seat feature can breakdown due to the vehicle being driven by diff officers hence many adjustment are made each shift. Once fail, gonna be grounded already. Basic features with gd engine performance I feel are the most important. The early yrs of TP expressway patrol cars of the 1st bmw were manual & installed with reinforcement bars (what do we call these bars, antiroll bars?) The Police spec had no power window also. The car was heavier in reality with more safety eqpt installed as compared to normal spec. The 5er bmw tat Taiwan currently uses are also specified with manual transmission and the officers must go thru vigorous driving trg to be fit for driving the 5er bmw. ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imac 5th Gear July 19, 2018 Share July 19, 2018 True...I don't understand. If they need brute force to pursue or chase after offenders,they could just buy a Kia k7 or the stinger with the 3.3L engine....powerful enough for such duties and yet not conspicuous enough to raise eyebrows. And they shouldn't buy such cars like a Malaysian car. Minimally a Elantra,nothing less. Anything that is reliable and presentable is good I propose this: Basic patrol car: Hyundai Elantra or eqv Mid grade patrol car: Hyundai sonata or eqv Top grade pursuing car: Hyundai Grandeur 3.3L or eqv. Ditch luxury, after all a police car is a workhorse. I like to add Honda Vezel to the list. As most of our "speedy-gonzales" drove Vezel...TP just need another Vezel can do 99% of their job already. No need high-end car like BMW...it just too over-killed...wastage of public-money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic July 19, 2018 Share July 19, 2018 Might as well tell to go take mrt la u all 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aventa 3rd Gear July 19, 2018 Share July 19, 2018 Japan bought 2018 GTR, we bought 2018 3 series Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic July 19, 2018 Share July 19, 2018 I like to add Honda Vezel to the list. As most of our "speedy-gonzales" drove Vezel...TP just need another Vezel can do 99% of their job already. No need high-end car like BMW...it just too over-killed...wastage of public-money. I think the car might flip before the police can reach the culprit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged July 19, 2018 Share July 19, 2018 any news how much the 8 BMW procurement cost? i still support la. our TP must still have some garang cars at high end... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic July 20, 2018 Share July 20, 2018 Might as well tell to go take mrt la u allWahaha.....give TP ezylink card can oredi. Can use bus app to catch speeder coz bus lane faster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged July 20, 2018 Share July 20, 2018 The checkpoints have so many humps, how to get normal sedan car? TP cannot lose to ICA: although really the bimmer suits highway patrol more and the 4WD SUV better for crashing over all terrain in pursuit of Mas selamat no.2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear July 20, 2018 Share July 20, 2018 I m all for law enforcement agencies using cars with better performance as we never know when a chase is needed. Performance do come in handy when they need to pick up speed fast to shorten the chase & intercept asap. What Police vehicles dun need are probably luxury features like electric seats etc etc. This electric seat feature can breakdown due to the vehicle being driven by diff officers hence many adjustment are made each shift. Once fail, gonna be grounded already. Basic features with gd engine performance I feel are the most important. The early yrs of TP expressway patrol cars of the 1st bmw were manual & installed with reinforcement bars (what do we call these bars, antiroll bars?) The Police spec had no power window also. The car was heavier in reality with more safety eqpt installed as compared to normal spec. The 5er bmw tat Taiwan currently uses are also specified with manual transmission and the officers must go thru vigorous driving trg to be fit for driving the 5er bmw. The only thing I dun understand is why the decision on diesel...didnt (they) have been coming up with policies to discourage us from deciding on diesel cars? All bros and sis here...we can drive B&B cars...but lets give them some credit when due. If we need them to carry out their duties, we also must accept the fact that they need gd eqpt too. TP is king of the road, they must hv gd handling machine too. So much so said, why are they not changing bike yet. Car from WRX to Volvo to bmw, but bike still same same wor...dun have abs features for very long time liao. I believe bmw has all along been aggressive in their mktg strategies in the police aspect as many countries are using their cars & bikes as law enforcement vehicles. The only thing my concern is downtime, reliability hence leading to simplicity. Gd performance and if keep it simple, will reduce downtime. The prev bmw bike was gd (thou got abit of public outcry lah), handling sui sui & work with advance electronics but also come with huge tradeoffs, same for WRXs too..thou Japanese make but maintaining Turbo never easy never cheap too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic July 20, 2018 Share July 20, 2018 the police need to learn 8k rpm 2 mph turn ... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Banz86 5th Gear July 20, 2018 Share July 20, 2018 The only thing I dun understand is why the decision on diesel...didnt (they) have been coming up with policies to discourage us from deciding on diesel cars? All bros and sis here...we can drive B&B cars...but lets give them some credit when due. If we need them to carry out their duties, we also must accept the fact that they need gd eqpt too. TP is king of the road, they must hv gd handling machine too. So much so said, why are they not changing bike yet. Car from WRX to Volvo to bmw, but bike still same same wor...dun have abs features for very long time liao. I believe bmw has all along been aggressive in their mktg strategies in the police aspect as many countries are using their cars & bikes as law enforcement vehicles. The only thing my concern is downtime, reliability hence leading to simplicity. Gd performance and if keep it simple, will reduce downtime. The prev bmw bike was gd (thou got abit of public outcry lah), handling sui sui & work with advance electronics but also come with huge tradeoffs, same for WRXs too..thou Japanese make but maintaining Turbo never easy never cheap too. There was a ST article couple of days back on why they choose diesel. Quote "to balance between economy and power", something along that line. Diesels have high torque which is required from a standstill where most B&B cars will lose out at the traffic lights. I think they have considered that most of the cars are now turbo / supercharged / etc as mentioned by another forumer, which makes it more viable to purchase a relatively higher performance vehicle. I do agree that they should change out their bikes to ABS enable and best is with traction control. As a biker, these safety feature will mitigate risks that our TP officers face daily on the roads. Although as drivers we don't like to see them, but as a follow biker and citizen, whom wants to see others getting injured during the course of their work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged July 20, 2018 Share July 20, 2018 the police need to learn 8k rpm 2 mph turn ... I recalled that the car was F10 inline 6 535i used by the movie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic July 20, 2018 Share July 20, 2018 Turbo diesel will be king of the traffic light sprint in the torque playground. Highway chasing, the large capacity/turbo petrol will pull away as the HP comes into play. I wonder what the TP have in mind when the decide to go for turbo diesel? Catch errant motorist in suburb 50kph limit roads? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sugimoto 6th Gear July 20, 2018 Share July 20, 2018 I recalled that the car was F10 inline 6 535i used by the movie I only recalled there is an Audi S4 in the 1st & last chase scene, there is no F10 fleet in the movie as HK police just acquired the F10 fleets during that time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 20, 2018 Share July 20, 2018 Rather than diesel, why not 330e? BMW has a division that specializes in police car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged July 21, 2018 Share July 21, 2018 TP cannot lose to ICA: although really the bimmer suits highway patrol more and the 4WD SUV better for crashing over all terrain in pursuit of Mas selamat no.2 ICA use these cars for what purpose? normally they raid massage parlours, nab cigarette smugglers, overstayers, illegal entrants... are these cars very suited for such roles? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imac 5th Gear July 21, 2018 Share July 21, 2018 TP cannot lose to ICA: although really the bimmer suits highway patrol more and the 4WD SUV better for crashing over all terrain in pursuit of Mas selamat no.2 I wondered how ICA justified the need to buy such expensive 4WD SUV ? Do you need SUV to catch illegal immigrant ? Hope the AGO would do some check on it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic July 21, 2018 Share July 21, 2018 (edited) Subaru ok la ... it's not X3 .... you expect ICA got Vezel SUV meh? if not Vezel ... than it's either QQ or Kia or Hyundai liao i "assume" Subaru give good discount la Forester suit the ICA look ... rugged and boxy not trendy like Vezel, QQ, Kia or Hyundai ... after awhile ... looks sian I wondered how ICA justified the need to buy such expensive 4WD SUV ? Do you need SUV to catch illegal immigrant ? Hope the AGO would do some check on it. Edited July 21, 2018 by Wt_know ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...