[Discussion] P-Plates and Big/Powerful Cars

boonhat_91

On 7/17/2018 at 4:03 AM, boonhat_91 said:

how many here can confidently say they are in the skillful top 20%? And even more so from the moment you started driving?

money to burn aside, is there any merit to starting small before upgrading to something bigger/more powerful?

parents here, would you be 100% confident to let your kid borrow your car - assuming it's bigger/more powerful than a b&b?

My kid is not even primary school yet....but ....If any husband can pass their bigger/more powerful car to for their wife to drive without worrying every minute of the period....I think they should be as confident of their P-plate kids borrowing their cars. :D

  On 7/17/2018 at 4:34 AM, Vratenza said:

My kid is not even primary school yet....but ....If any husband can pass their bigger/more powerful car to for their wife to drive without worrying every minute of the period....I think they should be as confident of their P-plate kids borrowing their cars. :D

ouch... :XD:
  On 7/17/2018 at 4:05 AM, Mockngbrd said:

I first got license already very skill liao. Practised a lot on Daytona.

i also practised alot of drifting on Daytona

  On 7/17/2018 at 4:03 AM, boonhat_91 said:

how many here can confidently say they are in the skillful top 20%? And even more so from the moment you started driving?

money to burn aside, is there any merit to starting small before upgrading to something bigger/more powerful?

parents here, would you be 100% confident to let your kid borrow your car - assuming it's bigger/more powerful than a b&b?

Insurance premium is also a consideration. The annual insurance premium for a young driver to drive a 'powerful' car can be more than the yearly depreciation of  a 'normal' car.

  On 7/17/2018 at 4:05 AM, Mockngbrd said:

I first got license already very skill liao. Practised a lot on Daytona.

I practiced a lot in Gran Turismo series and got lots of licenses.

I started off with a humble B&B car. This is because, it was bought on my own money. If it was my dad's money, I would have started off straight with Porsche or Maserati (mind you I do not like RR  [:p] )

The best I saw was a P-plate on a souped up GTR. 

This RR is an eye opener.

When I got my license at 18, I only drove a 2.0L b&b.

Envy these kids nowadays, parents give them Z4, RX-8, WRX STI, Type R on p-plates

Edited by Aventa

On 7/18/2018 at 5:34 AM, Aventa said:

The best I saw was a P-plate on a souped up GTR. 

This RR is an eye opener.

When I got my license at 18, I only drove a 2.0L b&b.

Envy these kids nowadays, parents give them Z4, RX-8, WRX STI, Type R on p-plates

At least you have a car to drive when you got a licence. 

I BMW for many years lol

  On 7/18/2018 at 5:58 AM, Sunset73 said:

At least you have a car to drive when you got a licence. 

I BMW for many years lol

Except that it's not mine

Was on a "borrow-from-parents-when-they-are-free" scheme last time..

Most of the time also BMW..

Edited by Aventa

On 7/18/2018 at 6:04 AM, Aventa said:

I can't even borrow.... i don't have a taxi licence lol

You still consider lucky.

I cannot borrow

my parents never had a car. now i try to drive them around whenever i get the chance.

My P-plate car was a GS300.

But before that, i was a hardcore biker. Scrapping knees down Cameron and Genting highlands. Rode CBR954, R1150GS, Ducati etc before. 0-100 in 2.9s on 2 wheels and >280kmph.

Dual vocation in NS, drove the landrover like a WRX rally car in Area D. Drove 1.5/3/5 tonner as well. But never get the chance to clock enough mileage to convert.

In fact the 3L GS300 felt kinda slow to me. Haha

So P-plate doesnt mean a newbie driver on the road.

On 7/16/2018 at 2:38 PM, boonhat_91 said:

For mcfers who started out with b&b cars and have upgraded to contis/SUVs or performance cars over the years, do you feel that driving b&b at the start made you a better and more confident driver in your bigger/faster car today? If you could go back in time with unlimited money, would you have jumped straight into a performance car once you got your licence?

For those who have been lucky enough to drive a 'big' or 'powerful' car once you got your licence, upon reflection, would you have preferred to gain more experience first with something smaller and less powerful?

Just for discussion..

Although it's true that P plate doesn't mean newbie driver, TS just use that as an example to ask us what we start of with and what is our experience.

For me, I had the chance to practice with my parent's manual panel van before I even take any lessons. This was in Malaysia lah so not scared of mata. I think it is better that the practice car is something easy to drive and don't cause heart pain to anyone if kena a little dent or scratch. If the pocket deep enough that can use RR, horse, fork, tristar and still not heart pain, no problem. During my time, it was a >10 years Liteace.

Looking back although it was very difficult to start learning with a manual, it means I will always have a special place in my heart for that gear shift.