2018 Volvo S60 (3rd Gen) & V60 (2nd Gen)

Carbon82

On 5/20/2020 at 2:31 PM, douglassim said:

With the new design, it should attract younger buyers. 

Previous models of Volvo, i reckon attract more Uncles. Same as Mercs.

Something different on Spore road, as compare to the 3 Germans & Jap_Korean.

Uncle? That must be me. The more uncle ones were those with the Chinese-coffin backside. Considering that Volvo is non-mainstream, I was surprised to find 4 Volvos at the carpark of my block, 2nd only to Merc I think.

Anyway I was attracted to the earlier S60 bcoz it was the few models with city safety at that price point. Turned out to be a wise choice indeed.

12 hours ago, firefly20 said:

Uncle? That must be me. The more uncle ones were those with the Chinese-coffin backside. Considering that Volvo is non-mainstream, I was surprised to find 4 Volvos at the carpark of my block, 2nd only to Merc I think.

Anyway I was attracted to the earlier S60 bcoz it was the few models with city safety at that price point. Turned out to be a wise choice indeed.

LOL, i have reach Uncle status too. but the new S60, make me look young. hehe..!!

At my Carpark area, with 5 blocks. Mine is the only Volvo Car parking, make it very exclusive. LMAO. Mostly is 3 germans & Jap and Kor.

On 5/21/2020 at 4:11 PM, firefly20 said:

So it's not that bad w/o the air con dials? You mentioned that you had worse FC when driving in Eco mode which is really counter-intuitive.

Looks like showrooms will only open in Jul, and I can only get my ride after that. I can live with that, driving my old T4 a few more weeks to send my son to school when it reopens.

Not a problem at all. My car is white and it comes packaged with solar film. The temperature is set at 22C and 3/5 fan speed. Hardly ever need to make any adjustment to the aircon. 

As I mentioned, just issue voice command while driving to adjust temperature or fan speed. I am also used to using CarPlay to initiate calls and compose WhatsApp messages using voice command while driving. 

As for FC, I feel the changes the to gearshift points, engine management and response from the accelerator pedal makes it too sluggish for my comfort in our dense traffic. So eventually to get the same performance, I end up using more fuel. I might not be a paddle to metal guy but I am not a road hog either.

6 hours ago, jammer_sg said:

Not a problem at all. My car is white and it comes packaged with solar film. The temperature is set at 22C and 3/5 fan speed. Hardly ever need to make any adjustment to the aircon. 

As I mentioned, just issue voice command while driving to adjust temperature or fan speed. I am also used to using CarPlay to initiate calls and compose WhatsApp messages using voice command while driving. 

As for FC, I feel the changes the to gearshift points, engine management and response from the accelerator pedal makes it too sluggish for my comfort in our dense traffic. So eventually to get the same performance, I end up using more fuel. I might not be a paddle to metal guy but I am not a road hog either.

In that case, I can forget about Eco mode. Been spoilt by the TC of my S60 (yes, it's only 1.6l but it's torquey at low end rpm) and can easily outrun most b&b cars at standstill. That's sufficient for me.

Unless driving a MPV/SUV where I can accept some slowness, but for a sedan to struggle to get up-to-speed will be rather pek chek for me.

Anyway I'm more or less settled on the T4 M (heart is calm) and no longer looking at the XC40. Looked like a good deal and with guaranteed COE, not going to over-analyse COE trend in the coming months. Finances are manageable so will just go for it.

Edited by firefly20

On 5/23/2020 at 8:54 AM, firefly20 said:

In that case, I can forget about Eco mode. Been spoilt by the TC of my S60 (yes, it's only 1.6l but it's torquey at low end rpm) and can easily outrun most b&b cars at standstill. That's sufficient for me.

Unless driving a MPV/SUV where I can accept some slowness, but for a sedan to struggle to get up-to-speed will be rather pek chek for me.

Anyway I'm more or less settled on the T4 M (heart is calm) and no longer looking at the XC40. Looked like a good deal and with guaranteed COE, not going to over-analyse COE trend in the coming months. Finances are manageable so will just go for it.

Welcome buddy, to S60 club. Another S60 on the road. Lol

2 hours ago, douglassim said:

@firefly20, when will your new ride be arriving? Any plan to do coating for your new car?

Did you do the coating? I did so in-house. You have lobang for coating? Said suppose to last 6 mths. 

Not the cheapest option but at least I won’t have the send the car in to get it done or worry about getting caught in the rain upon collection before the coat cures.

3 hours ago, douglassim said:

@firefly20, when will your new ride be arriving? Any plan to do coating for your new car?

Aiyoh, showroom also not opened yet so everything stands still. I only paid $6K in booking fee, that's all. I haven't test driven yet but that should not be a problem since I'm driving the same model now. In theory I can still back out but unless something ridiculous happens such as the car breaking down during my test drive, I'm 99% sure of committing. 

Showrooms are supposed to open by Jul so here's hoping it can be earlier since today got zero SG/PR cases. ✌️

I'm getting the optional in-car cameras but usually I won't bother about coating as I've accepted the fact that there're always boliao people around who like to scratch new cars (think there's a thread on this here). Happened to all my 3 cars so nowadays I just don't bother. I can be quite OCD and will park my car nicely within the lot so it's not a case of pissing people off with my parking.

Okay lah, I still maintain the habit to park away from lorries or pickups to minimise dents and scratches.

Edited by firefly20

19 minutes ago, jammer_sg said:

Did you do the coating? I did so in-house. You have lobang for coating? Said suppose to last 6 mths. 

Not the cheapest option but at least I won’t have the send the car in to get it done or worry about getting caught in the rain upon collection before the coat cures.

Just curious, how much does this coating cost?

4 hours ago, firefly20 said:

Just curious, how much does this coating cost?

Paid $650. All done before the car was collected. Apparently there are many grades of coating and pricing. Looking for alternative options to re-coat when the time comes. Thought maybe douglassim has lobang  

I understands  the coating eases the pain of washing off stains. I also quite OCD taking a long time to wash the car. I do wash the under side of the body kit’s skirting ha ha. 

Should be able to get the in-car security camera, reverse parking camera, additional rubber mat and solar film which I did. These are the little things they should be able to absorb.

8 hours ago, jammer_sg said:

Paid $650. All done before the car was collected. Apparently there are many grades of coating and pricing. Looking for alternative options to re-coat when the time comes. Thought maybe douglassim has lobang  

I understands  the coating eases the pain of washing off stains. I also quite OCD taking a long time to wash the car. I do wash the under side of the body kit’s skirting ha ha. 

Should be able to get the in-car security camera, reverse parking camera, additional rubber mat and solar film which I did. These are the little things they should be able to absorb.

Thanks for the tips, jammer. Under the current discounted pricing, I find myself mentally prohibited to ask for free stuff. I guess this is a weakness of mine, so cannot do sale. Haha.

17 minutes ago, firefly20 said:

Thanks for the tips, jammer. Under the current discounted pricing, I find myself mentally prohibited to ask for free stuff. I guess this is a weakness of mine, so cannot do sale. Haha.

Did you get the referral discount? 

13 hours ago, jammer_sg said:

Did my coating outside, after neg together w my colleague car. They gave us $400 for each car. So i went with them, 6 months already and the coating still durable\last.

8 minutes ago, firefly20 said:

Before the CB, went to Volvo showroom. They are promoting their Ceramic coating with a discount if you buy service credits with them. Not too sure the promo is still valid or not, @firefly20 you can consider if you want. Volvo Service Center also doing car coating, lol.

There's nothing wrong for asking so call freebies, even if you feel the car is selling at a very affordable price. i actually feel it's a customer right to ask.

14 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

Did you get the referral discount? 

Nope, I got the loyalty bonus though, and managed to contra some outstanding servicing credits off the sales price.

6 minutes ago, douglassim said:

Before the CB, went to Volvo showroom. They are promoting their Ceramic coating with a discount if you buy service credits with them. Not too sure the promo is still valid or not, @firefly20 you can consider if you want. Volvo Service Center also doing car coating, lol.

There's nothing wrong for asking so call freebies, even if you feel the car is selling at a very affordable price. i actually feel it's a customer right to ask.

Due to previous bad experiences with outside workshops when I was younger, I've been going back to AD for servicing since then (not just for Volvo). So I'm not adverse to purchasing servicing credits.

Okay then, I'll grit my teeth and ask (and try my best not to give myself away that it's a half-hearted attempt). 😄

1 hour ago, douglassim said:

Ask and you might get something. Don’t ask, automatically will pay whatever the going rate. Wonder why some people so shy. 

Is it a must to trade in car to enjoy the promo prices? N if yes, did u guys get a fair price or just  paper value plus body?