Lotr 6th Gear May 19, 2020 Share May 19, 2020 (edited) 9 minutes ago, firefly20 said: Yes I could stomach that increase if I want to. Just that when I look at the OMV between the 2 models, I a bit beh song at the profit margin for the XC. Does anyone else look at OMV when buying cars like me? When I was younger, I didn't bother. Now older and wiser, I learned that it matters due to PARF. It's also money refunded to buyers in the end rite? I was this close to getting the RAV4 ($122K for guaranteed COE when I enquired). All happy and set to go. Then the Volvo promo came up and I saw that the selling price of the S60 was just a few Ks above the cost price. That was what changed my mind (that kiasu syndrome). I mean even if the COE drops to $20K tomorrow, the S60 will still a good buy for me. Anything below $20K, I get the rebate. So I can't lose (I think). But it's a different ballgame with the XC40. me lor, always comparing omv, selling price, profit margin, features until now haven't change car s60 is not a few Ks above the cost price. at least 20k even with the latest promotion. Edited May 19, 2020 by Lotr ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
firefly20 3rd Gear May 19, 2020 Share May 19, 2020 10 hours ago, jammer_sg said: No, no typo lol. I log the mileage and amount pumped each visit. The manual says minimum is 95. Good enough for normal drive. It says 98 should give better performance and millage. Initially pump better fuel the since brand new. We shall see come next top up. OIC. I didn't know that 95 RON is acceptable. Do update here on the difference, so that we can have another option in future. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
douglassim 1st Gear May 19, 2020 Share May 19, 2020 28 minutes ago, firefly20 said: For the XC40, I can still tank that extra $10K if I really like the car. But for the XC60, I will have to dig out more than 1 biscuit tin in my house, or sell blood. Nah, I really should live within my means … still need to keep some biscuit tins for rainy days. And I don't want to be collecting can drinks as a form of exercise during my retirement. 😁 in terms of retirement exercise, I was more thinking into cycling as a rickshaw w tourist. LOL 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
firefly20 3rd Gear May 19, 2020 Share May 19, 2020 5 minutes ago, Lotr said: me lor, always comparing omv, selling price, profit margin, features until now haven't change car s60 is not a few Ks above the cost price. at least 20k even with the latest promotion. Haha, so we belong to the same birds of a feather. No leh, based on SGCarMart's calculation, the cost price of the S60 T4 M is $123K. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lotr 6th Gear May 19, 2020 Share May 19, 2020 9 minutes ago, firefly20 said: Haha, so we belong to the same birds of a feather. No leh, based on SGCarMart's calculation, the cost price of the S60 T4 M is $123K. Yes, you are right. S60 T4M OMV is 34k, basic cost with coe ($30k) is 125k. I used the rebate level 20k in my calculation Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
firefly20 3rd Gear May 19, 2020 Share May 19, 2020 3 minutes ago, Lotr said: Yes, you are right. S60 T4M OMV is 34k, basic cost with coe ($30k) is 125k. I used the rebate level 20k in my calculation So now have I convinced you to get one? Haha. You can put Douglas as the recommender. Throw in another $1K off for loyalty bonus, and you can understand why the deal becomes irresistibly attractive to me. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic May 19, 2020 Share May 19, 2020 (edited) 11 hours ago, Theoldjaffa said: I jumped on the SUV wagon 11 years ago and traded it in after less than 2 years. I feel most SUVs are just jacked up hatchbacks that offers not much significant extra space as compared to a sedan in the same class. the benefits are higher driving position, boot space for loading stuff.. that’s about it. i didn’t like it when I had to pay $1 more for petrol car wash as an SUV, even when mine is just a compact one. Yeah u can say it’s just $1 but I can’t take it when a bigger car like E Class is charged lower than mine 🤪 And that my tyres is not those common size ones (it has a much higher profile) so it costs more compared to a sedan one. I can pay more for better tyres but I don’t like to pay more because of lack of demand thus the higher price levied. thay said, I like the XC40 very much and I feel it’s nicer looking than the S60, which itself is also handsome. ive had the first gen 2010 S60 2.0t and I can safely say Volvo’s got the best comfortable seats in the business. Just that Wearnes’ pricing of the cars is ridiculously higher for the Low OMV. go with your heart if SUV is what you want but don’t buy one just because “every other person is jumping on the SUV wagon” I am similar to you except I have never owned a SUV. I do rent SUVs when I visit Australia or NZ cos sometime want to explore unpaved roads. I had the opportunity to drive the Q8 for 2 days locally, and could feel the weight despite the 3.0 turbo engine. Only fun thing was playing around with the air suspension making the car higher, lower, higher... For space and handling, traditional station wagon is much better (unless you need a 7 seater) . That's why I am keeping mine beyond 10 years. Edited May 19, 2020 by Volvobrick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lotr 6th Gear May 19, 2020 Share May 19, 2020 52 minutes ago, firefly20 said: So now have I convinced you to get one? Haha. You can put Douglas as the recommender. Throw in another $1K off for loyalty bonus, and you can understand why the deal becomes irresistibly attractive to me. I am still sitting on the fence even though there is no denying that s60 pricing is the best now. I am just too picky. heehee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jammer_sg 1st Gear May 19, 2020 Share May 19, 2020 We all know buying a car it the worst thing to do with one’s money especially in SG. I am sure guys looking for your next ride have already done your homework but if I may share; 1) Separate your needs from your wants (do I really need a car, if so which type) 2) Look for value (spec vs pricing) 3) Up keeping costs 4) Affordability (What if your financial situation changes especially when we are just at the start of a deep recession) Don’t take your eyes off the ball fellow petrol heads. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
douglassim 1st Gear May 20, 2020 Share May 20, 2020 12 hours ago, Lotr said: I am still sitting on the fence even though there is no denying that s60 pricing is the best now. I am just too picky. heehee i will definitely get the S60 now due to the pricing. Abit regret getting too early, but everything happen for a reason. LOL 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lotr 6th Gear May 20, 2020 Share May 20, 2020 1 hour ago, douglassim said: i will definitely get the S60 now due to the pricing. Abit regret getting too early, but everything happen for a reason. LOL Fully agree that S60 pricing now is making it very attractive. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
douglassim 1st Gear May 20, 2020 Share May 20, 2020 1 hour ago, Lotr said: Fully agree that S60 pricing now is making it very attractive. With the new design, it should attract younger buyers. Previous models of Volvo, i reckon attract more Uncles. Same as Mercs. Something different on Spore road, as compare to the 3 Germans & Jap_Korean. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lotr 6th Gear May 20, 2020 Share May 20, 2020 14 minutes ago, douglassim said: With the new design, it should attract younger buyers. Previous models of Volvo, i reckon attract more Uncles. Same as Mercs. Something different on Spore road, as compare to the 3 Germans & Jap_Korean. S60 is good looking car. Should see more on the road with this promo but now coe bidding date is still unknown, so will have wait a while more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SZ_ford 5th Gear May 20, 2020 Share May 20, 2020 1 hour ago, douglassim said: With the new design, it should attract younger buyers. Previous models of Volvo, i reckon attract more Uncles. Same as Mercs. Something different on Spore road, as compare to the 3 Germans & Jap_Korean. S60 does look more atas now. love the interior though not so sure about the lack of buttons Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
douglassim 1st Gear May 20, 2020 Share May 20, 2020 54 minutes ago, SZ_ford said: S60 does look more atas now. love the interior though not so sure about the lack of buttons Volvo built the S60 interior solely on their touch screen infotainment system. Which explain the lack of buttons, so the touchscreen can be big. [I assume] Overall, it's a bold move if you compare to previous S60 or S80. [Some people said Retro Interior] For me is too old a design, will never consider S60 if the design is same as previous model. I actually love the Thor Headlight, but my Sis-In-Law said more like Axe. 😡 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jammer_sg 1st Gear May 21, 2020 Share May 21, 2020 18 hours ago, SZ_ford said: S60 does look more atas now. love the interior though not so sure about the lack of buttons The old centre console is very dated while the new one is like a iPad. The climate controls are actually readily available at the bottom of the screen on the home page all the time. I tend to use the voice control to make adjustments if I need to. I do have the Amazon Echo at home so it is just a matter of learning its vocabulary from the manual in order to issue it commands. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
firefly20 3rd Gear May 21, 2020 Share May 21, 2020 10 hours ago, jammer_sg said: The old centre console is very dated while the new one is like a iPad. The climate controls are actually readily available at the bottom of the screen on the home page all the time. I tend to use the voice control to make adjustments if I need to. I do have the Amazon Echo at home so it is just a matter of learning its vocabulary from the manual in order to issue it commands. So it's not that bad w/o the air con dials? You mentioned that you had worse FC when driving in Eco mode which is really counter-intuitive. Looks like showrooms will only open in Jul, and I can only get my ride after that. I can live with that, driving my old T4 a few more weeks to send my son to school when it reopens. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
firefly20 3rd Gear May 21, 2020 Share May 21, 2020 On 5/20/2020 at 2:50 PM, Lotr said: S60 is good looking car. Should see more on the road with this promo but now coe bidding date is still unknown, so will have wait a while more. I think so too, especially the R Design. I actually prefer the S60 to the XC40 in terms of looks, but would have gotten the XC40 if they are of the same price. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...