Ysc3 Twincharged June 20, 2018 Share June 20, 2018 Slowly into the 90's, tabao became plastic or foam boxes and plastic cups or bags. good or not, the current foam boxes when we tapow rice is really very convenient. I just hate it when I had to eat off a sheet of paper last time before they came out with the foam box. (I still don't like it even now) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 20, 2018 Share June 20, 2018 but even as the article mentioned, fracking in the permian basin is cheaper than extracting from alberta. So it's never not enough oil, it's just where it's profitable to get it from currently. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 20, 2018 Share June 20, 2018 Convenience at the cost of environmental hazard lor. Everything comes at a price, either you pay or someone else pay or the society pays. Compared with plastic bags they used to use to tabao mee pok, the boxes are more practical. I'm fine with paper wrapping, curry rice, nasi padang, fried hokkien mee wrapped in banana leaf and paper tastes better. Other times, I try to use those Zebra metal containers to go tabao but some hawkers don't like it, they say the metal makes it very hot to hold. They rather use plastic. SS is the easiest to clean. Plastics have to soak quite a bit to get rid of the greasy feeling. Everyone is just more concerned about productivity/cost rather than environmental concerns. The problem with such a BIG problem like pollution and mother earth suffering is that conceptually most people cannot relate to it all the time, so hence we ignore it most of the time. It's part of how humans deal with problem. Similar to how Dr M says the rural malays cannot understand what 1 trillion ringgit is. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged June 20, 2018 Share June 20, 2018 Convenience at the cost of environmental hazard lor. Everything comes at a price, either you pay or someone else pay or the society pays. Compared with plastic bags they used to use to tabao mee pok, the boxes are more practical. I'm fine with paper wrapping, curry rice, nasi padang, fried hokkien mee wrapped in banana leaf and paper tastes better. Other times, I try to use those Zebra metal containers to go tabao but some hawkers don't like it, they say the metal makes it very hot to hold. They rather use plastic. .... but also rem that the paper they use are lined with a layer of plastic also ... unless its leaf wrapping. BYOB is best !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged June 20, 2018 Share June 20, 2018 (edited) Small issue turned partisan politics when Taiwanese tried to ban straws in their bubble tea milk drinks... the 民進黨 gahmen kena whacked left right centre...for banning straws Edited June 20, 2018 by Kyrios Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged June 20, 2018 Share June 20, 2018 Plastic ? I thought they are 油纸, like the old school paper umbrellas ? I am referring to the brown paper used for foods like chicken rice or char kway teow...etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 20, 2018 Share June 20, 2018 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 20, 2018 Share June 20, 2018 As far as green cars technology has advanced, fuel cells are the best green alternative for ICEs for now. Toyota is looking into hydrogen fuel. Let's hope it will be more cost efficient, safe and green in the coming decade, viable enough to gradually answer ICE alternative. Else fuel cell technology could further advance with greener processing and with longer lifespans that decreases disposal rates. Actually we should even look at the footprint of smartphone these days. It's usage is even wider than electric cars and people are changing phones like, every year and some people having more than one phone. BMW had produced limited number of Hydrogen 7 (E68) in 2000s. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 20, 2018 Share June 20, 2018 Back then, ta bao food was always paper wrapping. Bring the food home or office and use your own spoon and fork, no disposable cutlery provided. Kopi and teh were in tin cans. Soft drinks were reusable glass bottles with recyclable caps. Even when KFC first opened here, they served silverware and bottle ketchup, not plastic cutlery and plastic sauces. Slowly into the 90's, tabao became plastic or foam boxes and plastic cups or bags. Yah lor, I remember there was this soy sauce van who will come once a month, we will bring our beer bottles to go and let him fill up the bottles, the bottle is use until break one. Now how many plastic bottles we throw away every year on soy sauce bottles alone? I remember when we first started crossing over to disposable the gov stress alot that it is better for hygiene, and can save on water and washing detergent. At one point everything was disposable, even dinning at hawker centers and kopi tiam use form plates, always can see form plates flying all over in hawker centers. And out of a sudden, the gov loosen up, and dinning in went away with disposable and switched back. And I always wonder what is the actual reason? But somehow, between form box and paper wrapping, I still prefer to eat out of the paper wrapping. For noodle, between plastic bags and the current plastic containers, I still prefer to shake the noodles , open the bag, fold down and eat out of the plastic bag. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic June 20, 2018 Share June 20, 2018 No Piak! Ya, humans have over reproduced. Time to stop piak piak for 10o years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 20, 2018 Share June 20, 2018 I also prefer paper wrapping. As for plastic bags, they are less convenient when there's no table but then can still put inside the whole plastic bag inside mug for support. That's what people used to do. I used to drink the gravy/soup off the plastic bag even. But if out field no foam box or plastic cutlery, then must use own mess tin, spoon and fork. Detergent is also a pollutant in our seas and oceans. Even shower gel, shampoo, face wash, especially those with micro plastic beads. Those beads get stuck into fish stomach. Old school soap is still generally the best for the environment. the noodle part is because it always remind me of my younger days, all sit one round, take out the bags of noodles and shake shake before opening, the noodles get mixed evenly, after eating all tie back into small small and throw into the bins. Always bring back such memories. With the round plastic containers, cannot mix evenly, always end up with the taste getting from plain on top to heavy taste below. Anyway, this plastic issue has already become part of our lifestyle, a very hard nut for anyone to crack it all by themselves. Alot of ppl think its easy, just do this or do that, but it has become a chain of effect, everything done will result in some major follow effects, sad but is just the truth. Even the very simple and basic thing like dinning in at food stalls or cooking at home where there is no disposable involve has become a " too lazy" thing. looking at how the meal delivery business is growing is a good indicator, and what do they use to contain those meal deliveries? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 20, 2018 Share June 20, 2018 Ya, humans have over reproduced. Time to stop piak piak for 10o years.Free Durex better Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic June 20, 2018 Share June 20, 2018 We don't provide straws anymore. Just cup your hand like a straw and dip it inside your drink and suck. We will save environment. The best way is for you to stop drinking. It's healthier. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 20, 2018 Share June 20, 2018 Ya lor .. as I said before, all these home delivery will make whatever efforts to reduce wastage futile, take us back to square one. The only way to deal with such things is through regulation, no sane businessman will want to increase costs to save the environment. yah man, totally agree. regulation is the only way to really put a stop to it. But not a single gov in the whole dare take the lead and put the brakes down. We have come this far and the chain has grown so huge that it is in almost every part of our lifestyle, almost not stoppable. Unless and until someone can come out with a cheap or cheaper replacement, education on reducing use will not work. Those who try will give up eventually because its just tough to swim against the wave. To any business operator, if the environment is gone, we all die together, so why do I want to bleed alone to save the environment while the rest enjoy the profits. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic June 20, 2018 Share June 20, 2018 if u watch those documentry , u will know how long plastic can stay on earth without discompose. its exactly there is no proper way to get rid of them without harming the enviroment, thats why they come out with laws to start baning them. anw its just a trial now at KFC , money is the most important factor, if this trial cut down KFC income, i dun believe they will contuine also I think KFC may need to hire come cleaning staff for spillage on the trays, tables and floor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic June 20, 2018 Share June 20, 2018 KFC should install this at all table, Free flowing soft drinks. Save the cups, lids and straws. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged June 20, 2018 Share June 20, 2018 (edited) no sane businessman will want to increase costs to save the environment. neither will an average consumer. Edited June 20, 2018 by Ysc3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic June 20, 2018 Share June 20, 2018 KFC should install this at all table, Free flowing soft drinks. Save the cups, lids and straws. Last time Jurong Point branch have implemented such idea, but now gone. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...