The (trade) war has started

Civic2000

attachicon.gif60348073_10156402639552934_2834094669174931456_n.png

China like lugi lel ......  :D

Actually the trade volume between the 2 countries have been un-balance, with USA importing more than China thus making Trump unhappy as he think China is taking advantage by buying less from USA. But I have read that it is not necessary for the figure to be same, so long as there is no unfair policy.

If China imported less, of course it will have less to impose tariffs right?  :D

it's like a repeat of the Opium War

Britain kpkb for suffering of trade deficit (they paid huge amount of silver to buy tea, porcelain, silk from China, but China didn't want anything from them)

after the war, they forced China to sign unequal treaty (similar to current threat by Trump, where US can punish China for unfair practise or violation of terms, but China cannot retaliate)

Actually the trade volume between the 2 countries have been un-balance, with USA importing more than China thus making Trump unhappy as he think China is taking advantage by buying less from USA. But I have read that it is not necessary for the figure to be same, so long as there is no unfair policy.

If China imported less, of course it will have less to impose tariffs right?  :D

well , China can impose a higher %  :D  .   Just saying ... Of course China will think twice doing that .

If this continues , China will lose out ... they need a second plan to square off with DT . 

next iPhone price increase  :a-m1524:

hahaha ..... still got pp buy iphone meh ? they market share been dropping. 

They cant fight Samg and HW ... 

no.. if China dumps its T bills, it will cause the T bill prices to crash and their yields spike

dun forget there are other countries who are big holders of T bills

how will US going to pay the dividends?

you can say they can print endless USD, but that will cause a massive inflation that will crash their own economy

of cos, by doing that, China will crash also.... so it's a lose lose (or die together) situation

How many $ is the US printing?

usd-10000_dollars-10,000_USD.jpg

100 million

usd-100_million_dollars-100,000,000_USD-

1 billion

usd-1_billion_dollars-1,000,000,000_USD-

usd-1_trillion_dollars-1,000,000,000,000

usd-us-debt_ceiling-2017-20_trillion_USD

Edited by Jamesc

This is how much US dollars been printed but how much inflation in the US is there?

Trump says inflation is very low.

Tit for tat...

This restaurant probably in the middle of desert with zero American visit one lah... Put 100 percent also no one complain.

They might do the final finish in Vietnam, so it exports as "Made in Vietnam" . [laugh]

Like "Made in Italy" furniture, just take a round trip to Italy, put on logo, the exported as "Made in Italy", high premium makes it worthwhile. But for low-margins goods, not practical.

Like merc or bmw, put in made in germany but how many of its parts made in germany? Lol

60348073_10156402639552934_2834094669174931456_n.png

China like lugi lel ...... :D

From this picture, it seems like its not easy to find alternatives for china products. Esp if u buy at such huge volume, theres no way u can find enough supply to switch.

Some involving machinery tech and chemicals are almost irreplaceable. These tariffs will end up hurt american consumers as usa importers have to pay for the tariff. And if u think that other countries supplier will be cheaper after china tariffs, those other countries supplier will jack up their price as well in this opportunity to increase their profit margin

https://www.cnbc.com/amp/2019/05/13/this-chart-from-goldman-sachs-shows-tariffs-are-raising-prices-for-consumers-and-it-could-get-worse.html

Quote from article:

"First, the costs of US tariffs have fallen entirely on US businesses and households, with no clear reduction in the prices charged by Chinese exporters. Second, the effects of the tariffs have spilled over noticeably to the prices charged by US producers competing with tariff-affected goods."

From this picture, it seems like its not easy to find alternatives for china products. Esp if u buy at such huge volume, theres no way u can find enough supply to switch.

Some involving machinery tech and chemicals are almost irreplaceable. These tariffs will end up hurt american consumers as usa importers have to pay for the tariff. And if u think that other countries supplier will be cheaper after china tariffs, those other countries supplier will jack up their price as well in this opportunity to increase their profit margin

https://www.cnbc.com/amp/2019/05/13/this-chart-from-goldman-sachs-shows-tariffs-are-raising-prices-for-consumers-and-it-could-get-worse.html

Quote from article:

"First, the costs of US tariffs have fallen entirely on US businesses and households, with no clear reduction in the prices charged by Chinese exporters. Second, the effects of the tariffs have spilled over noticeably to the prices charged by US producers competing with tariff-affected goods."

Simplest argument, if this article is true that China don’t have to reduce price to continue selling, errr why they kao pei kao bu and complain so much?

the share of the tariffs born by each side is debatable but America get compensated by the huge tariffs they collect.

Edited by Wind30

This whole drama makes layman like me very confused. Why did manufacturing shifted out of USA to China? Now moving back because it is cheaper to produce? Who is paying more if there are cheaper similar product unless you control and say only can buy expensive ones.

The whole world listening to a single command on how to do business? Interesting leh.

when you have a huge trade deficit

it simply means

what you produce, no one wants

what the other produce, ALL YOU WANT [laugh]

when you have a huge trade deficit

it simply means

what you produce, no one wants

what the other produce, ALL YOU WANT [laugh]

can you tweet this to Mr. Trump

Quote from article:

if its that easy to shift outside china and maintain the same level of cost and quality many of those factory would have done so long ago.

fact is it extremely hard.

1 good example is item that use REE (raw earth element.)

This is how much US dollars been printed but how much inflation in the US is there?

Trump says inflation is very low.

Batman rich