The (trade) war has started

Civic2000

If this round Mr madman Sam wins, will Philippines jump from the PRC ship and swim back to them?  [:p]  [laugh] 

I am also wondering how is XJP going to complete his belt and road project? What about all the loans he gave out or/and promise to give out?  :huh:

It seem like he is killing the enterprises in china... [crazy]

suddenly is like from no where a slap ended on the face of XJP just as he thought he is riding high, mighty and fearless..  [:p]

Edited by Tianmo

If this round Mr madman Sam wins, will Philippines jump from the PRC ship and swim back to them? [:p][laugh]

I am also wondering how is XJP going to complete his belt and road project? What about all the loans he gave out or/and promise to give out? :huh:

It seem like he is killing the enterprises in china... [crazy]

suddenly is like from no where a slap ended on the face of XJP just as he thought he is riding high, mighty and fearless.. [:p]

The impact will take about 3-6 mth to kick in I think.

Now both side still setting extra tax on each other .

I dun think pinoy will care who wins.

They will follow who ever give them more money.

Alot of company is evolving on both side.

How well they will do will take even longer like a few years to set it.

And not forgetting the most important factor.

Every time US change president. Their policy change. Very unpredictable.

Edited by Beregond

Trade increase between US and China is

just front loading.

If you know the price will go up you will just buy more and stock up.

Just like when GST went from 5 to 7% my MIL bought so much toilet

paper the whole bomb shelter to full to go in. Any emergency no one

can go in but the toilet paper will be safe.

Will trade war result in a lower COE price?

Ultimately yes.

Trade wars lead to reduced GDP

and lower GDP leads to lower income

and lower income leads to lower spending

and lower spending leads to lower COE.

If i tell you the national bonus of the ministers are tied to GDP...... And COE is a major contributor to the government income.

Does that make you rethink what you mentioned?  :D

Ultimately yes.

I am asking because all these while I have seen that Singaporeans and COE prices have been gravity-defying.

When economy is bad, property and car sales go up instead of coming down.

I am asking because all these while I have seen that Singaporeans and COE prices have been gravity-defying.

When economy is bad, property and car sales go up instead of coming down.

The reason for property price going up is the increase in population.

In 2006 population was 4.4 m and 2017 its 5.6 m.

Regardless of how the economy is doing people need a home to live in

and if demand outstrips supply prices will go up.

The US response to the 2008 financial crash was to lower interest rates

to 0.1% and Singapore also had really low interest rates and so a lot of people

borrowed a lot of money and bought property increasing the price.

As for COE the 2 PHV company coming in needed a lot of cars and so they cause

the rise in prices. Now that the mass buying of cars has stopped COE has come down.

The type of recessions we had also didn't have massive sustained job losses and if the

next recession have a lot of job losses, the US cannot lower interest rates by much and

no new PHV company come in and buy a lot of cars then COE will fall.

the rise in prices. Now that the mass buying of cars has stopped COE has come down.

The type of recessions we had also didn't have massive sustained job losses and if the

next recession have a lot of job losses, the US cannot lower interest rates by much and

Thanks for the great enlightenment as well as insightful analysis.

I feel you should be nominated for Nobel prize in Economics.

Is that you James or is that the mil?

careful hor....we dont want another episode like that stomping feet mp...ððð

Haha you mean Kate Spade huh?

The most famous MIL in Singapore, JB and some say Batam

If i tell you the national bonus of the ministers are tied to GDP...... And COE is a major contributor to the government income.

Does that make you rethink what you mentioned? :D

It depends who set the rules. Elements outside their control no count. Within control they will definitely count haha

American creditors say China should honour pre-Communist debts

LIKE many Americans, Jonna Bianco believes President Donald Trump to be “a tireless defender of the American people against Chinese economic aggression”. Ms Bianco, a Tennessee cattle-rancher, is president of the American Bondholders Foundation (ABF), which represents more than 20,000 owners of bonds issued by Chinese governments before the Communist revolution in 1949—and which claims that American citizens are owed more than $750bn. Having met Mr Trump at his golf resort in New Jersey last month, Ms Bianco hopes he will press their case.

The ABF’s claim is built on the widely accepted doctrine that governments inherit their predecessors’ debts. Pre-Communist Chinese governments flooded international markets with debt, such as a £25m (then $122m) issue of “gold loan” bonds in 1913. “As a legal matter, those debts still exist,” notes Mitu Gulati of Duke University. “But so too does the statute of limitations.”

Diplomacy is the usual route to settling the debts of past regimes. China and Britain struck a deal in 1987 for a payment to British holders of imperial bonds. An absence of diplomatic relations helps to explain why the ABF has not pursued Taiwan with the same vigour as it has China. (In 1990 Taiwan’s finance ministry said that repayment “shall be held in abeyance pending the recovery of mainland China”.)

https://www.economist.com/finance-and-economics/2018/09/29/american-creditors-say-china-should-honour-pre-communist-debts

US  is thinking of defaulting on their debt to china lol.

got 1 T ++  :mellow:

lend ppl money easy , want to collect very hard.

American creditors say China should honour pre-Communist debts

LIKE many Americans, Jonna Bianco believes President Donald Trump to be “a tireless defender of the American people against Chinese economic aggression”. Ms Bianco, a Tennessee cattle-rancher, is president of the American Bondholders Foundation (ABF), which represents more than 20,000 owners of bonds issued by Chinese governments before the Communist revolution in 1949—and which claims that American citizens are owed more than $750bn. Having met Mr Trump at his golf resort in New Jersey last month, Ms Bianco hopes he will press their case.

The ABF’s claim is built on the widely accepted doctrine that governments inherit their predecessors’ debts. Pre-Communist Chinese governments flooded international markets with debt, such as a £25m (then $122m) issue of “gold loan” bonds in 1913. “As a legal matter, those debts still exist,” notes Mitu Gulati of Duke University. “But so too does the statute of limitations.”

Diplomacy is the usual route to settling the debts of past regimes. China and Britain struck a deal in 1987 for a payment to British holders of imperial bonds. An absence of diplomatic relations helps to explain why the ABF has not pursued Taiwan with the same vigour as it has China. (In 1990 Taiwan’s finance ministry said that repayment “shall be held in abeyance pending the recovery of mainland China”.)

https://www.economist.com/finance-and-economics/2018/09/29/american-creditors-say-china-should-honour-pre-communist-debts

old debts all dig out liao... [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

US  is thinking of defaulting on their debt to china lol.

got 1 T ++  :mellow:

lend ppl money easy , want to collect very hard.

you owe me, I owe you. 

you dont pay me, I dont pay you... [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]