Singapore to Fail without PAP?

Aventador

Amazing that u compare sg condo with taipei apartment lol

Why dont rent or buy hdb?

Oh i forgot that taiwanese always prefer to rent because they cant afford home neither they have hdb.

Btw our hdb are equivalent to their apartment

And nobody forcing u to eat restaurant everyday. Want eat restaurant can go zichar stall or go causeway

Dont forget hor taiwan NTU vs Sg NTU pay 3x lower

Huh? You are amazed I compare singapore with taiwan? You were the one who brought up about taiwan so I am educating you about taiwan's cost of living compared to singapore. Our cost of living in singapore is significantly higher even though wages don't differ significantly. BTW since you mention tze char, you think tze char is very cheap? A simple vegetable dish cost $10 upwards these days, not to mention fish or meat dishes. 

Just give me back MY CPF money when I turn 55. Thatâs all I ask.

...... minus minimum sum (still increasing every year) and medisave Edited by Pocy

My 2 cents, in just a few bullet points...

- I don't think we will fail without PAP for the simple reason that there are already a governance system in place (good or bad is a separate story) and we are still financially sound (assuming no skeleton in the closet), thus life shall still goes on in general after a change in government;

- The current problem with say transport, housing, employment, medical, educations, etc. will not goes away overnight, but whether it can be made better depend on the policies and solutions mapped out by the new government, which I don't see is a big issue (my belief is that new blood = new ideas);

- We have been enjoying what we had today, and the current government has been getting complacent in some, if not all areas, so a "turbulent" might send whoever is appointed (in the new government) to relook at the current policies, which again is not a bad thing (we might be good but not the best yet);

- Worries about investment pulling out of Singapore, leading to massive unemployment and devaluation of SGD, well, how sure are we that the current policies are highly sustainable, given that the root cause of all evil might be something else that the current cohort fails to see or address (e.g. land cost);

- Last but not least, as the new incumbent have to prove their worth, don't think they will want to mess up the golden opportunity given to them, so I am expecting them to do more to prove that their "ideal system" works, afterall, the current government started as an opposition party (in case some have forgotten).

i so sad. people tell me fook off.

i .....i......stay on

i know you damn passionate about politics

but boy..you need to

post-131345-0-67969900-1527394416.jpg

cool down

Edited by Staff69

Military personnels generally make very poor management individuals in the private sector. Some may feel I am generalizing, but I also have a whole group of private business owners whom tend to agree with me.

The army was never built for profit, so a general whom had been serving 40 to 50 years under this sort of environment, often proves to be lacking when trying to balance profit and duty. However, they are excellent choices for operational efficiency and nothing more than that.

I met a few retired military men who are keen to invest in startup companies with their pension fund as well. Having spoken to them one-on-one, I deemed them not suitable to even be investors in the private sector. They simply have no clue about taking business risks and at least 3 out of 5 "demanded" a fixed return every year. Particularly so, the highest risks exist in startups and growth companies. Just had to politely decline them and suggested that they are better off with Government bonds.

Military officers are only good at taking orders from the top and spend more than they need. Trace back to our army days, how much cookhouse food is wasted daily. They have to be thrown away by the truckloads every day! 

Military personnels generally make very poor management individuals in the private sector. Some may feel I am generalizing, but I also have a whole group of private business owners whom tend to agree with me.

The army was never built for profit, so a general whom had been serving 40 to 50 years under this sort of environment, often proves to be lacking when trying to balance profit and duty. However, they are excellent choices for operational efficiency and nothing more than that.

I met a few retired military men who are keen to invest in startup companies with their pension fund as well. Having spoken to them one-on-one, I deemed them not suitable to even be investors in the private sector. They simply have no clue about taking business risks and at least 3 out of 5 "demanded" a fixed return every year. Particularly so, the highest risks exist in startups and growth companies. Just had to politely decline them and suggested that they are better off with Government bonds.

........ but many people see the failure in MRT currently helmed by general tho I am agreeable with most of your views.

They are not suited to helm SMRT, in fact. Don't blame these Generals. Blame those whom put these Generals there (probably because they themselves can't bear the heat).

In SAF, there's no such things as Investor and Dividends. These Generals could have underestimate the greedy bunch of investors whom wants profit and dividends at all cost. These Generals' hands are tied as well, even as a CEO, you have to see who are these institutional investors (usually politically-linked) so a part of me sympathized with these Generals being sacrificed in the line of fire. Very apt position for a military man.

So in order not to sidetrack from the original topic whether will Singapore fail without PAP, answer is still no. But Singapore will be in trouble if we continue to add military men to the team which does not understand the private sector.

** A personal friend of mine (a Colonel) is so sick of the system, he is prepared to hang up his uniform after his final 5 years. But at least he has some business exposure through his wife whom runs a family eatery. So he will not be "bored" after his final drive-out from camp.

Edited by Ravinged

Huh? You are amazed I compare singapore with taiwan? You were the one who brought up about taiwan so I am educating you about taiwan's cost of living compared to singapore. Our cost of living in singapore is significantly higher even though wages don't differ significantly. BTW since you mention tze char, you think tze char is very cheap? A simple vegetable dish cost $10 upwards these days, not to mention fish or meat dishes.

No i am amazed that the website calculate rent and buy for sg based on condo price. Of course that will shoot up the living cost duh

Of course u feel more ex livng in a condo. Even pub bill also no subsidy

If u compare foreigner cost of living, yes sg is more ex esp for housing.

No i am amazed that the website calculate rent and buy for sg based on condo price. Of course that will shoot up the living cost duh

Of course u feel more ex livng in a condo. Even pub bill also no subsidy

If u compare foreigner cost of living, yes sg is more ex esp for housing.

The rental comparison is for city centre apartments in and outside the city centre which is fair. Fyi condos outside city centre can be cheaper to rent than hdb unless you are unaware. I can find you examples easily.

Too lazy to ready all 6 pages. My opinion and I had been told too many times.NO ONE IS INDISPENSABLE.

If PAP goes, there might be chaos and hardships and uncertainties at first, but, we will find our way to adapt and survive.

My personal thought - running Singapore like a business is not wrong but they got to find the balance between growth and commpanssion for the citizens. At present, its all about growth and gdp. The disconnect with the people has been ignored. Listening to grassroots is equal to hearing shit. 3 big issues they got. Cpf, Hdb and, transparency on our reserve.

The rental comparison is for city centre apartments in and outside the city centre which is fair. Fyi condos outside city centre can be cheaper to rent than hdb unless you are unaware. I can find you examples easily.

U sure or not. My area here condo ulu also $500-800 more ex than hdb near mrt lol

Yes totally agree maybe as COO

but as CEO need biz acumen.

My personal opinion is we can stilll cut further .....

1) Defence

2) Finance

3) Education

4) Home Affair & Law (National Security & Law comes hand in hand)

5) National Development & Transport (Both are planning for the better of SG)

6) Health & Environment (every environmental issue is also health issue)

7) Foregin Affair

8) Communication & infor with Culture & Community (Communication thru culture and community)

9) Manpower & Social & Family (workforce, maids, family & social equalities)

:ignoring:

This one I call VALUE FOR MONEY [laugh]

Yeah, anyone still under the illusion that we are doing well with our higher salaries, please take a walk through the geylang serai festive bazaar now and gape at the jaw-dropping prices.

Too lazy to ready all 6 pages. My opinion and I had been told too many times.NO ONE IS INDISPENSABLE.

If PAP goes, there might be chaos and hardships and uncertainties at first, but, we will find our way to adapt and survive.

My personal thought - running Singapore like a business is not wrong but they got to find the balance between growth and commpanssion for the citizens. At present, its all about growth and gdp. The disconnect with the people has been ignored. Listening to grassroots is equal to hearing shit. 3 big issues they got. Cpf, Hdb and, transparency on our reserve.

Honestly,a lot of people here are also disgruntled about the mode of transportation here.

When I board the bus,i see that bus fares for those that had spent more than $2 previously for bus rides can have their fares as low as 5 cents,which is not even enough to buy a sweet.

This,I think is a source of worry as it is not sustainable at all.

Bus fares ought to be raised so as to make it sustainable,and to match other developed countries.

In my opinion,this is as good as subsidies to petroleum and the full results will be felt once the subsidies are cancelled due to reduced funds.

The result might pan out to be the same as some countries like Indonesia which reduced subsidies.

However,other than that,we still need to be pragmatic and encourage a carlite Singapore.

However,this cannot be done by monetary means.

It should be done by physical means.

Like reducing car park lots in CBD by half.Due to demand, parking rates are hiked to 40 dollars a day/1000 dollars a month,given that a lot of people still drive to work there.

For others, tolls on expressways at about 10 cent/km.

Though for non CBD areas and housing estates,car park rates could be reduced to about 60 dollars a month and parking at other places reduced to $1/hour.

Slash tax on petroleum products and reduce price to $1.30/L and reduce size of petrol stations to do so.Government must also provide concessions on rent and make petrol stations unmanned(i.e adopt technology like credit cards and those without cannot pay for petrol/NTUC cash payment at machines.)

Tax on vehicles must be reduced.

Scrap parf,etc,so car owners get nothing back.

Though scrap Coe and reduce tax collected on cars so as to make owning cars cheaper but difficult to run.

Lift the 10 year restrictions on car usage and scrap the increasing road tax after 10 years(old cars are actually greener than having to buy another new car)

Road tax should be based on emissions and fuel consumption instead of the archaic displacement based rate.

Inspection based on vehicles weight and inspection once a year after 5 years.

Use NEDC for emissions tests and not any cock and bull method.

This might be a farce...but if government does so,there will be no need to make citizens that disgruntled by taxing them to death for what they want.

Despite a smaller amount of taxes collected, government will also lose less as there are no more subsidies for buses and trains.

The difference can be made up of the government reduces expenditure on other unnecessary stuff,issues.

Edited by Brass

Let's talk and focus more on the road condition issues, traffic flow problem, Taxes, COE, ERP all relating to the transportation. Let's be fair to them and measure it by the 1st world standard.

Their policy is all about dollars and cents. It's too heartless. Where is the care and concern for citizens? It's about squeezing every dollars from it's people as legally as possible. Policy always come with sugar coated words. End of the day, we end up poorer