Ody_2004 Turbocharged March 14, 2021 Share March 14, 2021 4 hours ago, whyhx said: Thanks for the guide and tips throughout the thread! I just passed my TP 3 days ago and looking to buy a used car so this thread was super useful. I've made an appointment to view a used car this week, and possibly test drive it. Will there be any issue with requesting to test drive because I just passed my TP test? Test drive need P-plate or not lol. If i am the seller I will not allow.. crashed how? eat my insurance; car cannot sell If I am the Dealer I will go sharpen my knife! first blood! whahahahaha.. Get the car model that u used while learning is the best bet.. ↡ Advertisement 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comage 5th Gear March 15, 2021 Share March 15, 2021 Normally if I am buying used car I will just walk in directly and not call the dealer beforehand. Why? Because I don't want to give the dealer any chance to "prep" the car - I want to see it in its original condition. I did once however, piss off a dealer (shan't name names) when I said I would like to see the car he put up in the ad. He kept asking why didn't I call beforehand? I said I was in the area so I thought I just come up and "try my luck". Then I said "it's okay if you're busy Boss - I can just leave you alone." In the end he did let me see the car, and in the end I did not buy his car. Lol. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic March 15, 2021 Share March 15, 2021 1 hour ago, Comage said: Normally if I am buying used car I will just walk in directly and not call the dealer beforehand. Why? Because I don't want to give the dealer any chance to "prep" the car - I want to see it in its original condition. I did once however, piss off a dealer (shan't name names) when I said I would like to see the car he put up in the ad. He kept asking why didn't I call beforehand? I said I was in the area so I thought I just come up and "try my luck". Then I said "it's okay if you're busy Boss - I can just leave you alone." In the end he did let me see the car, and in the end I did not buy his car. Lol. most of the cars are prep to squeaky clean condition, so there is no diff whether you call before hand or not. If a car is not prep before hand , you will not likely to buy it , that was exactly the experience you had. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 15, 2021 Share March 15, 2021 (edited) On 10/20/2019 at 7:21 PM, Lotr said: I saw an ad for a 1yr 3mo car, COE 31k, OMV 35k, ARF 41k, Dereg Value: 58k, Mileage 20k Selling price is 148k Really curious how much did the 2nd car dealer pay for such a new car? Anyone care to comment? As low as 85k up to 105k Edited March 15, 2021 by Jamesc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic March 16, 2021 Share March 16, 2021 7 hours ago, Ct3833 said: most of the cars are prep to squeaky clean condition, so there is no diff whether you call before hand or not. If a car is not prep before hand , you will not likely to buy it , that was exactly the experience you had. Yeah. Everyone likes to look at shiny cars. Only to kpkb when they discover all the flaws are hidden. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comage 5th Gear March 16, 2021 Share March 16, 2021 8 hours ago, Ct3833 said: most of the cars are prep to squeaky clean condition, so there is no diff whether you call before hand or not. If a car is not prep before hand , you will not likely to buy it , that was exactly the experience you had. Could be true for PARF cars, not so much for COE cars! A few dealers I went to for COE cars were brutally honest and told me the car is sold "as-is". Apart from wear and tear on the car dashboards, there were also signs of rust on the chassis itself. Not forgetting sweat stains on the cloth seats as well... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic March 16, 2021 Share March 16, 2021 5 minutes ago, Comage said: Could be true for PARF cars, not so much for COE cars! A few dealers I went to for COE cars were brutally honest and told me the car is sold "as-is". Apart from wear and tear on the car dashboards, there were also signs of rust on the chassis itself. Not forgetting sweat stains on the cloth seats as well... There are still enough COE cars that are touched up by dealers before putting up for sales . I filter those 2008 and 2009 ones for reference. https://m.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/listing.php?MOD=&PR1=0&PR2=&DP1=0&DP2=&FR=2008&TO=2009&VTS[]=13&VTS[]=12&DL=&LOC=&POS=&TRN=&AVL=&ENG=&FUE=&MIL_C=&OWN_C=&ASL=1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Colin03 4th Gear March 16, 2021 Share March 16, 2021 Firstly, Congrats Whyhx on your new license. Good to buy the same model of learning practical car or smaller as you will be more familiar on the parallel parking procedures. Usually they will not allow you to test drive as your license is still within 12 months after Pass. Get a mechanics/friend (you familiar with) to go along with you for viewing. They can help you to test and pin-point the est repair costs Once you purchase it, is a good practice to send for 100% all fluids change and mechanical check for replacement. Hope you enjoy your hunting on your new car. Lastly neg with the seller based on the defaults found to get a better deal. Good Luck. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 (edited) 8 minutes ago, mikk123 said: Can any bro enlighten me why the mileage is N.A? Thanks. Means so high till sia suay to put up..... Like 200k km. Don't bother with such ads, unless it is 500 dollars above paper. Edited April 26, 2021 by Volvobrick 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Optramagnum 6th Gear April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 On 3/16/2021 at 9:17 AM, Colin03 said: Firstly, Congrats Whyhx on your new license. Good to buy the same model of learning practical car or smaller as you will be more familiar on the parallel parking procedures. Usually they will not allow you to test drive as your license is still within 12 months after Pass. Get a mechanics/friend (you familiar with) to go along with you for viewing. They can help you to test and pin-point the est repair costs Once you purchase it, is a good practice to send for 100% all fluids change and mechanical check for replacement. Hope you enjoy your hunting on your new car. Lastly neg with the seller based on the defaults found to get a better deal. Good Luck. I beg to defer. I vividly remember that I passed my TP on a Tuesday, test drove 3 cars on Thurs, collect car on following Monday.. But that's many years ago. Lol.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stevekk Clutched April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 @whyhx I passed my test on the 26th July 2019(fri). Went down to see the car at Ubi on the night itself. Placed a deposit and gotten my car the following monday. Made the mistake of not sending the car for check before buying. So far spend a couple of thousands in changing stuffs (dun dream of getting any warranty from 2nd hand car dealers) but nothing major. U are sure to spend some $$ for wear and tear that even inspections would not fail. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
whyhx Clutched April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 I've decided to get a new car actually but thanks for the advice @Stevekk and @Colin03 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wormee 5th Gear April 27, 2021 Share April 27, 2021 On 4/26/2021 at 11:35 AM, Stevekk said: @whyhx I passed my test on the 26th July 2019(fri). Went down to see the car at Ubi on the night itself. Placed a deposit and gotten my car the following monday. Made the mistake of not sending the car for check before buying. So far spend a couple of thousands in changing stuffs (dun dream of getting any warranty from 2nd hand car dealers) but nothing major. U are sure to spend some $$ for wear and tear that even inspections would not fail. Although there might not be warranty provided, there is always lemon law that covers you for 6 months to claim from the dealer for defects (except wear and tear items). It would be much easier if you had sent it for a STA evaluation before the purchase. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
toffeebeans Neutral Newbie April 30, 2021 Share April 30, 2021 Can anyone advise me? I heard that I should only get 2nd hand Japanese cars. If I want a Western brand, my friends tell me to get 1st hand bc maintenance is more expensive?? Is this true? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Sunday_Studio Neutral Newbie January 29, 2022 Share January 29, 2022 Very great share here. Personally, im looking for a 2nd hand car recently too~ Wish to have a few yrs on it and will drive till scrap. Is there any recommendations for car models? Basically, it is just for family use. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
tetiankaaa Neutral Newbie April 26, 2022 Share April 26, 2022 Thank you so much for sharing this guide. Can I ask you if part of it can be shared on my blog? https://www.carsvansandbikes.com/buying-guides Definitely with the mentioning you as an author. Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic April 26, 2022 Share April 26, 2022 5) Please research on the dealer before making your way down jamesc posting on MCF since 2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic April 26, 2022 Share April 26, 2022 9) Ask the dealer whether the odometer has been tampered If you are buying a second owner car the dealer that bought from the first owner may have clocked the car. Me and the second owner won't know the car has been clocked. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...