Car air-con

Discoburg

On 5/21/2024 at 3:55 PM, Ct3833 said:

Ah it is AD price, then go with AD, i dont mind paying that price. 

But 4 days leh...

wah piang... if they need so long, i also worry what they trying to do... (or is they dunno what to do, so must slowly do/ask/try/test...) 😅

On 5/21/2024 at 3:55 PM, Volvobrick said:

Probably they sub out to outside workshop and made the mark up. That's why need extra days to send and retrieve the car mah! 

yah hor... maybe i can go set up such a biz also... 😄

On 5/21/2024 at 4:17 PM, Fcw75 said:

Are you sure 900+ is all in or just for the cooling coil?

i asked how much to replace cooling coil, so should be cooling coil lor... still got other things?

On 5/21/2024 at 4:29 PM, Atrecord said:

i asked how much to replace cooling coil, so should be cooling coil lor... still got other things?

As in labour. 

On 5/21/2024 at 4:36 PM, Fcw75 said:

As in labour. 

oh... they better had included this. when i called in, i asked 'how much does it cost to replace cooling coil?'...

if they didn't include labour, then i will assume they are not going to charge... 😂

On 5/21/2024 at 4:26 PM, Atrecord said:

But 4 days leh...

wah piang... if they need so long, i also worry what they trying to do... (or is they dunno what to do, so must slowly do/ask/try/test...) 😅

Wah haha lagi value for money, but 4 days downtime very painful🤣

On 5/21/2024 at 4:29 PM, Atrecord said:

Normally when u ask how much to replace cooling coil.

The quote u get from outside ws will include the parts and labour together. 

With ad , u need to ask in details. 

On 5/21/2024 at 4:40 PM, Atrecord said:

oh... they better had included this. when i called in, i asked 'how much does it cost to replace cooling coil?'...

if they didn't include labour, then i will assume they are not going to charge... 😂

Better confirm again.

On 5/21/2024 at 5:11 PM, Fcw75 said:

Better confirm again.

My neighbour s80. Replace cooling coil at ad. 

2700😂😂😂😂🤩

On 5/21/2024 at 5:24 PM, Beregond said:

2700😂😂😂😂🤩

Now i know who stays in richmen neighbourhood 😄

On 5/21/2024 at 5:24 PM, Beregond said:

2700😂😂😂😂🤩

At least that one cums with 12 mth warranty...if spoil again can replace the part for free...i tink have to pay for labour tho...outside shops cheaper by quite a lot but only 3 mths...😂

On 5/21/2024 at 4:18 PM, Fcw75 said:

It’s ok to compare prices, you are paying leh.

Thanks for your encouragement. I eventually decided call AD, who quoted me just a bit higher than L&Kim, but said need 4 days!

Then since i started, called Tomika and Edwin too. Tomika was significantly cheaper, but said play safe put car overnight, but will try to finish in same day.

Edwin's price even cheaper, but encouraged me to change the condenser together, saying for my car model, usually cooling coil and condenser will spoil around same time (while compressor is fine). And Edwin said can complete job in 4 hr!

So this afternoon went to Edwin to get it done. 

Only flip side is that warranty is only 3 mth... hope it will not be required, and this can last me 4.5 yr...

Now my turn to get not so cool aircon.

Just service my car in mid March and also top up coolant.... 

Then Saturday the aircon especially passenger side not so cooling... previous time also passenger side warmer than my side, not sure if it's dual climate sensor issue or pertinent to this car make. 

So went to check coolant pressure and top up gas again.... then it works.... 

The workshop boss said I had change compressor about 2 years ago and compressor still working fine, mainly due to coolant pressure drop. Only this time round was shorter, only 2 months ago... previous round before the coolant pressure drop was around 6 months... 

But the dashboard no low coolant pressure warning light.... 

He said probably evaporator coil leak, should change..... Need a few days to do that bcos cooling coil is right behind dashboard..... Quite labour intensive to do it.....

I went to Google... apparently it was very common to my car and topping up coolant works just fine. 

On 5/28/2024 at 9:46 PM, Atonchia said:

Then Saturday the aircon especially passenger side not so cooling... previous time also passenger side warmer than my side, not sure if it's dual climate sensor issue or pertinent to this car make. 

The workshop boss said I had change compressor about 2 years ago and compressor still working fine, mainly due to coolant pressure drop. Only this time round was shorter, only 2 months ago... previous round before the coolant pressure drop was around 6 months... 

He said probably evaporator coil leak, should change..... Need a few days to do that bcos cooling coil is right behind dashboard..... Quite labour intensive to do it.....

I went to Google... apparently it was very common to my car and topping up coolant works just fine. 

just sharing: 

last week AD told me need 4 days to replace cooling coil, citing got lots of jobs...

L&Kim need 1 day, and Tomika said will try 1 day, but play safe tell me prepare to leave car overnight.

Then Edwin said 4 hr can already... in the end they finished it in 3 hr (and it was including replacing cooling coil and condenser)... when i tried to ask for discount, they replied to say price is competitive, familiar with the work, plus 'downtime shortest in SG'...

So if you really in the end need to do something, can consider Edwin if downtime is a key consideration... as it was for me...

On 5/28/2024 at 9:46 PM, Atonchia said:

You simi car ? Japanese car usually 1 day can do the replacement.  my friend just replaced the cooling coil of his harrier in L&Kim for 700+. Left the car in the afternoon , next day afternoon job done.

On 5/29/2024 at 6:03 PM, Ct3833 said:

You simi car ? Japanese car usually 1 day can do the replacement.  my friend just replaced the cooling coil of his harrier in L&Kim for 700+. Left the car in the afternoon , next day afternoon job done.

Many say my car don't come with signal stalk... must special indent.🤣

On 5/29/2024 at 5:03 PM, Atrecord said:

just sharing: 

last week AD told me need 4 days to replace cooling coil, citing got lots of jobs...

L&Kim need 1 day, and Tomika said will try 1 day, but play safe tell me prepare to leave car overnight.

Then Edwin said 4 hr can already... in the end they finished it in 3 hr (and it was including replacing cooling coil and condenser)... when i tried to ask for discount, they replied to say price is competitive, familiar with the work, plus 'downtime shortest in SG'...

So if you really in the end need to do something, can consider Edwin if downtime is a key consideration... as it was for me...

Wow! In 4 hrs...simi chia lai ay...🤔

On 5/30/2024 at 6:03 AM, mersaylee said:

Wow! In 4 hrs...simi chia lai ay...🤔

Maybe few workers worked on it but still don’t understand why must change condenser when only cooling coil spoilt…