Kklim Supercharged August 15, 2021 Share August 15, 2021 @Johnnylim $350 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic September 23, 2021 Share September 23, 2021 (edited) On 8/11/2021 at 2:45 PM, Kklim said: Thanks, Kb27! Car aircon not cool in my 11-year-old Sylphy so went there this morning. Replaced cooling coil, expansion valve and aircon filter, topped up gas, and checked for leaks (none found). 6-month warranty; 2hr job. Hey interesting, they can replace cooling cool within 2hours ? Do you mean compressor? Replacing cooling coil will involve removing the front dashboard which will require some time Edited September 23, 2021 by Ct3833 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged September 23, 2021 Share September 23, 2021 1 hour ago, Ct3833 said: Hey interesting, they can replace cooling cool within 2hours ? Do you mean compressor? Replacing cooling coil will involve removing the front dashboard which will require some time Not for my model. Guess they've done enough such jobs to be able to avoid removing the dash. Saw a Merc with the entire dashboard sitting on top of the car. Aircon work too. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic September 23, 2021 Share September 23, 2021 (edited) Just when I asked this question in the morning, my w212 aircon kaput in the afternoon. My son help me sent it to Kim, now I am here to pick it up, still not ready for collection , replaced Denso compressor and Denso condenser, I don't know how much yet but I prepare 1.5k so that later I can feel it is cheap. 😅😅😅. I had wanted to replace the compressor 3 years ago because i hear some noise but my mechanic advised me not to since it is still cold, so now I have saved 3 years of compressor lifespan.😃 Edited September 23, 2021 by Ct3833 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scholesy 4th Gear September 23, 2021 Share September 23, 2021 2 hours ago, Ct3833 said: Just when I asked this question in the morning, my w212 aircon kaput in the afternoon. My son help me sent it to Kim, now I am here to pick it up, still not ready for collection , replaced Denso compressor and Denso condenser, I don't know how much yet but I prepare 1.5k so that later I can feel it is cheap. 😅😅😅. I had wanted to replace the compressor 3 years ago because i hear some noise but my mechanic advised me not to since it is still cold, so now I have saved 3 years of compressor lifespan.😃 I guess 1.2k if using denso 🙂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic September 23, 2021 Share September 23, 2021 2 hours ago, Ct3833 said: Just when I asked this question in the morning, my w212 aircon kaput in the afternoon. My son help me sent it to Kim, now I am here to pick it up, still not ready for collection , replaced Denso compressor and Denso condenser, I don't know how much yet but I prepare 1.5k so that later I can feel it is cheap. 😅😅😅. I had wanted to replace the compressor 3 years ago because i hear some noise but my mechanic advised me not to since it is still cold, so now I have saved 3 years of compressor lifespan.😃 You jinxed it bro. 🤣 Why never try New Luck? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic September 23, 2021 Share September 23, 2021 3 hours ago, Ct3833 said: Just when I asked this question in the morning, my w212 aircon kaput in the afternoon. My son help me sent it to Kim, now I am here to pick it up, still not ready for collection , replaced Denso compressor and Denso condenser, I don't know how much yet but I prepare 1.5k so that later I can feel it is cheap. 😅😅😅. I had wanted to replace the compressor 3 years ago because i hear some noise but my mechanic advised me not to since it is still cold, so now I have saved 3 years of compressor lifespan.😃 As long as the compressor doesn’t jam and breaks down, then no need to replace the condenser. If compressor jams then the metal shavings will flood the condenser and drier. There is no way to flush the condenser as the fins are very thin and small. the evaporator on the other hand has big tubes and can easily be flushed. so 2 schools of thought. One, just use till the compressor blows up or whatever and replace condenser if it does. Two, catch the compressor failure earlier enough so that replacing it only is good enough. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic September 24, 2021 Share September 24, 2021 (edited) 8 hours ago, Mkl22 said: As long as the compressor doesn’t jam and breaks down, then no need to replace the condenser. If compressor jams then the metal shavings will flood the condenser and drier. There is no way to flush the condenser as the fins are very thin and small. the evaporator on the other hand has big tubes and can easily be flushed. so 2 schools of thought. One, just use till the compressor blows up or whatever and replace condenser if it does. Two, catch the compressor failure earlier enough so that replacing it only is good enough. You are correct, my scenario belonged to the second type, the compressor blew up, the condenser got contaminated, total damage was $1,420.00. @Fcw75, I might have better luck if i have gone to New Luck?😅😅 Edited September 24, 2021 by Ct3833 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear September 24, 2021 Share September 24, 2021 16 hours ago, Ct3833 said: You are correct, my scenario belonged to the second type, the compressor blew up, the condenser got contaminated, total damage was $1,420.00. @Fcw75, I might have better luck if i have gone to New Luck?😅😅 Hello, did they also replace the piping ? especially the drier ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic September 24, 2021 Share September 24, 2021 5 minutes ago, Apple-Tree said: Hello, did they also replace the piping ? especially the drier ? No they did not. Trouble coming my way? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear September 25, 2021 Share September 25, 2021 11 hours ago, Ct3833 said: No they did not. Trouble coming my way? Not that I want to scare you ........But hor.... Usually, when you have to discharge the gas to do repair, the drier is always replaced as it is usually the only place where there is a filter, hence, all the debris is stopped there lor. And it is a low cost item compared to the compressor or condenser lor. Check where is the drier for your car ? Integrated at the Condenser or Suction pipe.... The following should be changed : a) Suction Pipe where there is a drier. b) Discharge Pipe - Where spoil or not, it is because it is a rubber pipe and the high pressure exist lor. c) Expansion Valve ....... this is probably the most prone to breakage one. It is usually jammed open or closed. This regulate the pressure to the evaporator (coiling), if the expansion valve failure cause icing, it will break the evaporator lor ....... How long the mechanic do the vacuum, also matter lor ........ Vacuuming is to purge the air in the system, the most important thing is to remove water (vapour) lor ......... Water boil away because without pressure, water readily become a gaseous state lor. Good one need..... as long as 45mins. Most aircon man in SG say 30 seconds wor ..... Then hor, the adding of oil into the system, d) Change pipe add back 10~30ml PER Pipe. e) New compressor is always prefilled with 100~150ml, so no need to do anything. Just need to check during unpacking if there is leak mark at the joint point. This is due to transportation. f) Evaporator and Condenser add 30~50ml PER device. Of course got add, the mechanic say ...... there lor, that little bottle ..... Anw, just look see ba ........ since it is already done ..... it is not going to die immediately ...... usually in years one ..... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic September 25, 2021 Share September 25, 2021 12 hours ago, Ct3833 said: No they did not. Trouble coming my way? Don't worry so much. If anything, just go back find Ah Kim. He will resolve it for you. I am sure he did a decent job. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic September 25, 2021 Share September 25, 2021 1 hour ago, Apple-Tree said: Not that I want to scare you ........But hor.... Usually, when you have to discharge the gas to do repair, the drier is always replaced as it is usually the only place where there is a filter, hence, all the debris is stopped there lor. And it is a low cost item compared to the compressor or condenser lor. Check where is the drier for your car ? Integrated at the Condenser or Suction pipe.... The following should be changed : a) Suction Pipe where there is a drier. b) Discharge Pipe - Where spoil or not, it is because it is a rubber pipe and the high pressure exist lor. c) Expansion Valve ....... this is probably the most prone to breakage one. It is usually jammed open or closed. This regulate the pressure to the evaporator (coiling), if the expansion valve failure cause icing, it will break the evaporator lor ....... How long the mechanic do the vacuum, also matter lor ........ Vacuuming is to purge the air in the system, the most important thing is to remove water (vapour) lor ......... Water boil away because without pressure, water readily become a gaseous state lor. Good one need..... as long as 45mins. Most aircon man in SG say 30 seconds wor ..... Then hor, the adding of oil into the system, d) Change pipe add back 10~30ml PER Pipe. e) New compressor is always prefilled with 100~150ml, so no need to do anything. Just need to check during unpacking if there is leak mark at the joint point. This is due to transportation. f) Evaporator and Condenser add 30~50ml PER device. Of course got add, the mechanic say ...... there lor, that little bottle ..... Anw, just look see ba ........ since it is already done ..... it is not going to die immediately ...... usually in years one ..... Wah thanks for sharing the detail information, since it is not going to cause immediate failure, I will just leave it as it is. I have cater for enough to repair my COE car 😃😃 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic September 25, 2021 Share September 25, 2021 51 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: Don't worry so much. If anything, just go back find Ah Kim. He will resolve it for you. I am sure he did a decent job. Good to know. Now my old car at least has something new. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic September 25, 2021 Share September 25, 2021 3 hours ago, Apple-Tree said: Not that I want to scare you ........But hor.... Usually, when you have to discharge the gas to do repair, the drier is always replaced as it is usually the only place where there is a filter, hence, all the debris is stopped there lor. And it is a low cost item compared to the compressor or condenser lor. Check where is the drier for your car ? Integrated at the Condenser or Suction pipe.... The following should be changed : a) Suction Pipe where there is a drier. b) Discharge Pipe - Where spoil or not, it is because it is a rubber pipe and the high pressure exist lor. c) Expansion Valve ....... this is probably the most prone to breakage one. It is usually jammed open or closed. This regulate the pressure to the evaporator (coiling), if the expansion valve failure cause icing, it will break the evaporator lor ....... How long the mechanic do the vacuum, also matter lor ........ Vacuuming is to purge the air in the system, the most important thing is to remove water (vapour) lor ......... Water boil away because without pressure, water readily become a gaseous state lor. Good one need..... as long as 45mins. Most aircon man in SG say 30 seconds wor ..... Then hor, the adding of oil into the system, d) Change pipe add back 10~30ml PER Pipe. e) New compressor is always prefilled with 100~150ml, so no need to do anything. Just need to check during unpacking if there is leak mark at the joint point. This is due to transportation. f) Evaporator and Condenser add 30~50ml PER device. Of course got add, the mechanic say ...... there lor, that little bottle ..... Anw, just look see ba ........ since it is already done ..... it is not going to die immediately ...... usually in years one ..... Mercedes drier usually integrated into the condenser. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VictorLim 1st Gear June 1, 2022 Share June 1, 2022 When I start the car, there is a stale smell coming out of the air-con that disappears after running the air-con for a minute. Anyone know the cause and how to fix this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cumzilla 4th Gear July 23, 2022 Share July 23, 2022 On 9/14/2019 at 3:18 PM, Lovemyride said: Hello Discoburg, fellow Mz2 owner here. Had the same problem as you recently. Went to Mark Cool at Woodlands after reading reviews of various workshops. Ah Huat suspected it's the condenser after I described the problem and he hooked up the meter. Gave me a quote which I agreed. Then he started to remove the stuff to confirm if it's really the condenser. He showed me the oil leaks. Went ahead with the job, OEM condenser. Total damage $400 + gst, 3 hours. I might've been able to get it done a bit cheaper elsewhere but I was happy with the level of detail and friendliness. He said parts don't last long nowadays. Only 3 years be it original or OEM. Many other makes are also like this but maybe it's true that Mazda parts are more expensive than other Jap brands. Mz2 owner here, changed my condenser at Mark Cool almost 4 years ago, the shop charged me $550, what he said is true about parts don't last long, now the center and passenger side's vents are blowing warm air again during super hot day... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cumzilla 4th Gear July 23, 2022 Share July 23, 2022 On 6/1/2018 at 5:35 PM, Discoburg said: On 6/1/2018 at 5:05 PM, Fcw75 said: Sorry once again. I won't recommend to anyone liao. When the aircon was down, I went to Tomika and without checking anything just tell me to do aircon flushing with the machine. After that I went to Kim and the boss himself took the trouble to check and pinpoint the problem. He said machine aircon flushing is not necessary. So anyone if ever want a aircon shop, can give New Luck recommended by bro kb27 next time. Come on bro. It’s not your fault. Kim’s service is good. Just that I was taken aback when people say $530 too expensive. Maybe the new Mazda part expensive? I think so, mine was $550, but it was OEM not mazda original. Yours original? I think u won't be able to know how long it lasted as u already changed to Mz3... ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...