RadX Moderator May 19, 2018 Share May 19, 2018 Not sure if that will lead to instant death [laugh] U dun cum..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged May 19, 2018 Author Share May 19, 2018 (edited) helped my mum to do up her will at maxwell road. tbose government assist legal department. something like that. Forgotten the name. can check it out if anyone interested. cheap cheap 250 only. me also finish half century sprint. all my so called assets dual name with mum or wife. amendment here. The will my mum made does not include cpf account. apparently the cpf go to the nominated nominee. LPA while its free, can be quite a hassle if you have siblings who are questioning such decision. Thats the first part of the LPA. Make sure that all the siblings are included on the discussion First before even discussing with the parents. If its for yourself, Then by default its the spouse who does all the decision making , else if you dont trust the spouse for reasons best known to you, then its time to start the LPA. Anyway, do have a search before you start a new thread ... http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2706605-lpa-still-free-for-form-1/?hl=lpa Edited May 19, 2018 by Sdf4786k 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic May 19, 2018 Share May 19, 2018 LPA while its free, can be quite a hassle if you have siblings who are questioning such decision. Thats the first part of the LPA. Make sure that all the siblings are included on the discussion First before even discussing with the parents. If its for yourself, Then by default its the spouse who does all the decision making , else if you dont trust the spouse for reasons best known to you, then its time to start the LPA. Anyway, do have a search before you start a new thread ... http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2706605-lpa-still-free-for-form-1/?hl=lpa Also lots of not so easy questions which a lay person cannot understand but the Staff at the Ministry were helpful , any slight amendment has to be endorsed by all parties too - in fact I had to make an extra trip with my family members to counter sign some amendments like even a simple “Slash / “ and no blan-coing allowed too 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic May 19, 2018 Share May 19, 2018 The URA centre (East wing) 45 maxwell road. 07-11 spore 069118 tel:18002255-529 email: [email protected] solicitor appointed by ministry of law to handle my mum last will. Tan lay Keng & Co. advocates and Solicitor Singapore. i advise to make a trip down to maxwell road personally and check on the procedures with them. They should be able to guide you through. Total cost me and mum 250 plus. 4 trips with 1 trip to lawyer office. original kept by M.law. We brought home the duplicate copy. alternatively can try ntuc income. their seminar held on weekday after office hours. cost slightly higher around 500plus as ah Ben mentioned. LPA while its free, can be quite a hassle if you have siblings who are questioning such decision. Thats the first part of the LPA. Make sure that all the siblings are included on the discussion First before even discussing with the parents. If its for yourself, Then by default its the spouse who does all the decision making , else if you dont trust the spouse for reasons best known to you, then its time to start the LPA. Anyway, do have a search before you start a new thread ... http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2706605-lpa-still-free-for-form-1/?hl=lpa you daring...not me started this thread....!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 19, 2018 Share May 19, 2018 LPA while its free, can be quite a hassle if you have siblings who are questioning such decision. Thats the first part of the LPA. Make sure that all the siblings are included on the discussion First before even discussing with the parents. If its for yourself, Then by default its the spouse who does all the decision making , else if you dont trust the spouse for reasons best known to you, then its time to start the LPA. Anyway, do have a search before you start a new thread ... http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2706605-lpa-still-free-for-form-1/?hl=lpa Eh this encompass all But ya will add that here Tks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kdash Supersonic May 19, 2018 Share May 19, 2018 LPA while its free, can be quite a hassle if you have siblings who are questioning such decision. Thats the first part of the LPA. Make sure that all the siblings are included on the discussion First before even discussing with the parents. If its for yourself, Then by default its the spouse who does all the decision making , else if you dont trust the spouse for reasons best known to you, then its time to start the LPA. Anyway, do have a search before you start a new thread ... http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2706605-lpa-still-free-for-form-1/?hl=lpa very daring, haha... will definitely try to do a LPA or will... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged May 20, 2018 Author Share May 20, 2018 Be careful of Income recommendations of Lawyers ... they sound cheap initially but every additional clause or items later they will say they want to charge extra , my Moms one initially quoted for $300 became almost like over $450 /- to add more salt to the injury they last minute say they need a medical cert from doctor and I said where to get it and they recommended their doctor whom will charge $150 ; I got fed up and said my mom (82) is and of sound mind ; why can’t a polyclinic one do?? After all they are her primary care giver ?? Becos of this Law Company making it so difficult (meanwhile I was also doing LPA for my Mom and polyclinic docs DONT do it ) so I was asked to contact anyone in the panel of Private GP’s on the LPA website and found a doc in Bedok whom charged only $200 and asked him at same time if he can certify my Mom is fit and sound mind .... he said he cannot but he only do the assessment tests for LPA as he has been trained for it only and he said it’s strange that Lawyers ask for this Sound Mind thingy nowadays and he recommended a small law firm in Chinatown and only charged me $300 with extra terms and best of all they accepted the Polyclinic Cert happily , By the way for those applying for LPA please note it takes at least 4-6 months processing minimum as the backlog is very big , my moms one already over 3 months - still have not received ,The certification yet ( heard govt is promoting so got tsunami of applications ) and many mistakes can happen in LPA form filling Even those on the certified list will not want to do the certification because the doctor needs to Provide Proof of Mental Capacity. The usual one that should be reasonably good is at TTSH. NOT every one that is MBBS or in layman terms Mouth Big Brain Small can do the certification and hence need one that is on the approved list. If no problem, never mind, if need to go to court to challenge a decision, that's where all the useless piece of small argument becomes a big deal. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic May 20, 2018 Share May 20, 2018 Even those on the certified list will not want to do the certification because the doctor needs to Provide Proof of Mental Capacity. The usual one that should be reasonably good is at TTSH. NOT every one that is MBBS or in layman terms Mouth Big Brain Small can do the certification and hence need one that is on the approved list. If no problem, never mind, if need to go to court to challenge a decision, that's where all the useless piece of small argument becomes a big deal. What clinic at TTSH ?? Are you talking about Will or LPA?? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged May 20, 2018 Author Share May 20, 2018 What clinic at TTSH ?? Are you talking about Will or LPA?? The question on polyclinic to get certified on mental capacity. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic May 21, 2018 Share May 21, 2018 Was searching for the thread that i posted my ordeal for my mum's case. Found it here : http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2688129-how-to-withdraw-from-banks-for-bedridden-coma-relative/page-3?hl=deputy My late mum had a sudden heart attack and stroke, followed by dementia. We were at a lost then of what to do. She didnt left any instructions, will or LPA. Getting to her assets to pay off some bills were impossible. So we approached a lawyer, a random one and agreed on a fixed fee to help us. She said since my mum did not have any last instructions, she will help us apply for my brother to be a Deputy through the family courts. Firstly, we need the doctors from TTSH who operated on my mum to certify her mental capacity. Getting the medical report took months, mum stayed there for 3 months. Getting the doctor signature was a pain too as they play taichi, pushing here and there. We were under subsidised scheme so no one specific specialist, its a group of specialist and a head. The head refuse to sign anything before the complete medical report out. Then plus his long leave and personal stuff, etc. Secondly, need all my uncles and aunties and me agree to my brother being a Deputy for my mum. Not a problem here. Thirdly, the lawyer wana make sure all documents are in order before applying. We need to gather all my mum's known bank accounts and asserts. Fourthly, court date is a long wait also, in months. Then when the time come, the judge will question this and that and we have to go find the answers to satisfy him. When obtained the court order, what a relieve on our own finances. Able to use her savings and pension to maintain her. Took us slightly more than 2 years to get it. Also no thanks to the Yang Yin case that was ongoing then. Now that my mum is gone, her house is still under her name. So we will see how IRAS or SLA or URA gona distribute it. So if you can do something now while you have a choice. Have a sealed envelope with all ur pin and password and let ur next of kin know where to find the sealed envelope. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 21, 2018 Share May 21, 2018 my grandma died suddenly. She had some money in OCBC. It took my uncle 5 years to receive the $. He swore never to use OCBC again (though i don't think it's really their fault). Hence my parents willingly did the LPA and will themselves few years later. Was searching for the thread that i posted my ordeal for my mum's case. Found it here : http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2688129-how-to-withdraw-from-banks-for-bedridden-coma-relative/page-3?hl=deputyMy late mum had a sudden heart attack and stroke, followed by dementia. We were at a lost then of what to do. She didnt left any instructions, will or LPA. Getting to her assets to pay off some bills were impossible.So we approached a lawyer, a random one and agreed on a fixed fee to help us. She said since my mum did not have any last instructions, she will help us apply for my brother to be a Deputy through the family courts.Firstly, we need the doctors from TTSH who operated on my mum to certify her mental capacity. Getting the medical report took months, mum stayed there for 3 months. Getting the doctor signature was a pain too as they play taichi, pushing here and there. We were under subsidised scheme so no one specific specialist, its a group of specialist and a head. The head refuse to sign anything before the complete medical report out. Then plus his long leave and personal stuff, etc.Secondly, need all my uncles and aunties and me agree to my brother being a Deputy for my mum. Not a problem here.Thirdly, the lawyer wana make sure all documents are in order before applying. We need to gather all my mum's known bank accounts and asserts.Fourthly, court date is a long wait also, in months. Then when the time come, the judge will question this and that and we have to go find the answers to satisfy him.When obtained the court order, what a relieve on our own finances. Able to use her savings and pension to maintain her. Took us slightly more than 2 years to get it. Also no thanks to the Yang Yin case that was ongoing then.Now that my mum is gone, her house is still under her name. So we will see how IRAS or SLA or URA gona distribute it.So if you can do something now while you have a choice. Have a sealed envelope with all ur pin and password and let ur next of kin know where to find the sealed envelope. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic May 22, 2018 Share May 22, 2018 Looks like govt gona introduce professional deputies. In today' TNP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged June 29, 2020 Share June 29, 2020 Quick question... Must both the donor and donee be present at the certification ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged December 27, 2020 Share December 27, 2020 (edited) On 5/18/2018 at 12:44 PM, RadX said: many are unaware of all these things that are left to do and the amt that goes to gahmen left unclaimed is emormous. Takes a while to contest that claim, and why let that day happen? Make it easier lah for your loved ones you leave behind. do note CPF though, is under nomination and not under estate management Yes. Thinking of doing up one. Basically my family members don't know much about my financial details. If I am suddenly gone one day, they don't even know which banks, stock brokerages, insurance agencies they should approach to claim the monies. For money left unclaimed, they would stay forever with the banks, govt etc (I am not alone, multiply by the whole population and it is astronomical indeed!). My family members won't even know, let alone touching them. I believe most middle-aged (~50 years old) mcfers should easily have accumulated 6 to 7 - figure assets under their names after working for 30 years. This amount is realistic. I am also starting to believe the many zeros described in the Nigeria scam stories, especially if they are from African royal families. Average Joes in Sgp already have 6 - figure (all assets combined) by middle age. Thinking of finding an easy way, may be write down a list and keep in my drawer? To be opened after my sudden departure. I personally know quite a number of people who didn't live pass 60 years old. Don't quite believe in those "Singaporeans now live longer" types of story. I better prepare early, I will never know which will arrive first, "Tomorrow, or Accident". Edited December 27, 2020 by Albeniz 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic December 27, 2020 Share December 27, 2020 12 minutes ago, Albeniz said: Yes. Thinking of doing up one. Basically my family members don't know much about my financial details. If I am suddenly gone one day, they don't even know which banks, stock brokerages, insurance agencies they should approach to claim the monies. For money left unclaimed, they would stay forever with the banks, govt etc (I am not alone, multiply by the whole population and it is astronomical indeed!). My family members won't even know, let alone touching them. I believe most middle-aged (~50 years old) mcfers should easily have accumulated 6 to 7 - figure assets under their names after working for 30 years. This amount is realistic. I am also starting to believe the many zeros described in the Nigeria scam stories,, especially if they are from African royal families. Average Joes in Sgp already have 6 - figure (all assets combined) by middle age,. Thinking of finding an easy way, may be write down a list and keep in my drawer? To be opened after my sudden departure. I personally know quite a number of people who didn't live pass 60 years old. Don't quite believe in those "Singaporeans now live longer" type of statistics. Is always good to have a either or joint names in all your assets. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 27, 2020 Share December 27, 2020 13 minutes ago, Albeniz said: Yes. Thinking of doing up one. Basically my family members don't know much about my financial details. If I am suddenly gone one day, they don't even know which banks, stock brokerages, insurance agencies they should approach to claim the monies. For money left unclaimed, they would stay forever with the banks, govt etc (I am not alone, multiply by the whole population and it is astronomical indeed!). My family members won't even know, let alone touching them. I believe most middle-aged (~50 years old) mcfers should easily have accumulated 6 to 7 - figure assets under their names after working for 30 years. This amount is realistic. I am also starting to believe the many zeros described in the Nigeria scam stories,, especially if they are from African royal families. Average Joes in Sgp already have 6 - figure (all assets combined) by middle age,. Thinking of finding an easy way, may be write down a list and keep in my drawer? To be opened after my sudden departure. I personally know quite a number of people who didn't live pass 60 years old. Don't quite believe in those "Singaporeans now live longer" types of story. Same. This list needs to be updated. My wife is minimally financially savvy. I have a template which i print out and update every 1-2 years with our current assets/accounts etc. I Hand write the sensitive information. Then copy kept in the safe. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hubwee Supercharged December 27, 2020 Share December 27, 2020 Wondering if anyone has done up a trust for their children ? What do you think is enough for your children to live comfortable for the rest of their lives ? I am of the opinion that too much does not help but how much is enough ? most people I talk to always think that they will want to leave everything behind for their children which frankly I do not really agree .. no right or wrong so keen to hear if you guys have thought about it ?. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic December 27, 2020 Share December 27, 2020 If original beneficiaries were killed in a disaster, would you give your money to charity or next level of kins? If wifey is executor/ trustee, who would you name as next trustee? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...