Lala81 Hypersonic February 23 Share February 23 (edited) On 2/23/2024 at 3:07 PM, Ender said: Norm doesn't mean ok mah. I used to mixed with a bunch of colleagues for tea break whose mentality is like that. We are of similar age, so some of us will have some health issue once crossed 40. But we comfort each other like this is how it is when you age. Worst thing when I changed my lifestyle and run hard. They even discourage me, say things like old liao, should slow down, body cannot take this type of hard exercise. Ran 5 km 5 times a week is hard exercise to them last time. Wait til they see the mileage I run nowadays. haha herd mentality. I think the attitudes to exercise is changing lah. Especially now with influencers, fitspo, social media, people realise how hardcore the fitness community are internationally and locally. Edited February 23 by Lala81 ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 23 Share February 23 On 2/23/2024 at 3:07 PM, Ender said: Norm doesn't mean ok mah. I used to mixed with a bunch of colleagues for tea break whose mentality is like that. We are of similar age, so some of us will have some health issue once crossed 40. But we comfort each other like this is how it is when you age. Worst thing when I changed my lifestyle and run hard. They even discourage me, say things like old liao, should slow down, body cannot take this type of hard exercise. Ran 5 km 5 times a week is hard exercise to them last time. Wait til they see the mileage I run nowadays. True, norm doesn't mean ok. But getting fatter as aged really a norm, but if have health issue while we aged and simply ignore it then thinking need to change liao. Actually those people who say old liao cannot exercise hard is simply lazy to exercise la. Finding an excuse not to exercise. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic February 23 Share February 23 On 2/23/2024 at 9:54 AM, Tianmo said: When I was coaching my son, we would run into this old man at Gombak stadium who walks backwards ard the track often. Once he came up to talk to me, and asked me to let my son walk backwards after each training session to "balance" the training. We did it for a short while, and the young boy refused, he said weird like hell. I read on another forum some athlete after the track session training (anti clockwise) will cool down with reverse direction jog, clockwise? Reason is like the old man said to you, to "balance" the training. I think left leg runs shorter distance if you run anti clockwise, due to left in on the inner radius during the curve. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic February 23 Share February 23 On 2/23/2024 at 3:28 PM, 13177 said: True, norm doesn't mean ok. But getting fatter as aged really a norm, but if have health issue while we aged and simply ignore it then thinking need to change liao. Actually those people who say old liao cannot exercise hard is simply lazy to exercise la. Finding an excuse not to exercise. why you walking and not running hard ah? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic February 23 Share February 23 On 2/23/2024 at 5:22 PM, Ender said: I read on another forum some athlete after the track session training (anti clockwise) will cool down with reverse direction jog, clockwise? Reason is like the old man said to you, to "balance" the training. I think left leg runs shorter distance if you run anti clockwise, due to left in on the inner radius during the curve. i dont know if you are referring to the sprints or the distance running. In distance running, actually I dont know how much can balance the numbers of laps ran, like if you run 20 laps, and jog 2 laps opposite, will the 2 laps balance that 20 laps? I really dont know. In sprints, actually the left leg is key, and not everyone can run the curve well because of a weaker left leg. The reason is as the runner runs into the curve, he/she has to (throw) lean the body with the curve and the body weight is shifted inwards, so although the left leg runs shorter distance, it is actually taking more weight and pressure as compare to the right leg. If you pay attention to curve runner injuries, most of the time is left leg. I dont think running clockwise can help in this aspect, maybe it might help in other areas bah. Ok, I usually see SRY warm up and cool down jogging in the grass field clockwise (opposite direction). 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 23 Share February 23 On 2/23/2024 at 6:18 PM, Tianmo said: why you walking and not running hard ah? Already resume back jogging liao, but still haven’t reach running hard like @Ender. 😅 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic February 23 Share February 23 On 2/23/2024 at 3:28 PM, 13177 said: True, norm doesn't mean ok. But getting fatter as aged really a norm, but if have health issue while we aged and simply ignore it then thinking need to change liao. Actually those people who say old liao cannot exercise hard is simply lazy to exercise la. Finding an excuse not to exercise. On 2/23/2024 at 8:30 PM, 13177 said: Already resume back jogging liao, but still haven’t reach running hard like @Ender. 😅 dont be simply lazy hor. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic February 24 Share February 24 I see my friends' Strava. Most has been maintaining their running, swimming and cycling mileage..... I have been slackening.... lazy to swim and even run.... also should start cycling soon once TMCR reopen. 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 24 Share February 24 On 2/24/2024 at 2:42 PM, Atonchia said: I see my friends' Strava. Most has been maintaining their running, swimming and cycling mileage..... I have been slackening.... lazy to swim and even run.... also should start cycling soon once TMCR reopen. I don’t dare to open on days I am not exercising 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic February 24 Share February 24 On 2/24/2024 at 2:42 PM, Atonchia said: I see my friends' Strava. Most has been maintaining their running, swimming and cycling mileage..... I have been slackening.... lazy to swim and even run.... also should start cycling soon once TMCR reopen. Try the new Cycling connector from Pasir Ris to East Coast. But this is for leisure PCN cyclist. https://thesmartlocal.com/read/eastern-corridor-cycling-guide/ Eastern Corridor Cycling Guide: We Review The Newly-Completed PCN Route From Pasir Ris To ECP 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic February 24 Share February 24 wah heng i no strava… no pressure but i not lazy ah… just sometimes too hot or too wet or too busy or too sick or too much traveling or … to run 😬😅 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic February 24 Share February 24 On 2/24/2024 at 3:53 PM, Ender said: Try the new Cycling connector from Pasir Ris to East Coast. But this is for leisure PCN cyclist. https://thesmartlocal.com/read/eastern-corridor-cycling-guide/ Eastern Corridor Cycling Guide: We Review The Newly-Completed PCN Route From Pasir Ris To ECP My arm not fully recovered cannot press too much on the handlebars, so PCN is a good workout for leisure cycling. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic February 24 Share February 24 On 2/23/2024 at 4:35 PM, Lala81 said: I'm overweight. my BMI is 25. And not the Loki type of "overweight" Of relevance to me! My BMI dropped already, from 28 to 26 now.... Over the past 9 months I dropped 8kgs 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 24 Share February 24 On 2/24/2024 at 4:46 PM, Loki said: My BMI dropped already, from 28 to 26 now.... Over the past 9 months I dropped 8kgs U are a hulk. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic February 24 Share February 24 Ok just took action. Did a 4km pre dinner run. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoCharlie Supersonic February 25 Share February 25 (edited) Having kakis for your workouts help. Lucky for me, 3 of us live on the same block. We were P1 classmates in 1975, and reconnected easily when we bumped into one another. 2 of us started running regularly 3 years ago and the third joined us this year. Hope to go on for a long time as long as we can move. Quite incredible your neighbours turn out to be someone you know 50 years back. Edited February 25 by TangoCharlie 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 25 Share February 25 On 2/25/2024 at 8:27 AM, TangoCharlie said: Having kakis for your workouts help. Lucky for me, 3 of us live on the same block. We were P1 classmates in 1975, and reconnected easily when we bumped into one another. 2 of us started running regularly 3 years ago and the third joined us this year. Hope to go on for a long time as long as we can move. Quite incredible your neighbours turn out to be someone you know 50 years back. P1 classmates that never meet for 50 years, still able to recognise each other?! 😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoCharlie Supersonic February 25 Share February 25 On 2/17/2024 at 2:18 PM, Tianmo said: My opinion, going heavy is subjective, and also a misconception mainly because of the body building industry. As far as weight training is concern, most information available comes from body building, and those information are made for that industry. For functional applications, weight training helps with strength, power and muscle endurance, each done differently depending on personal goal. For strength, go very heavy, in the 1-3 reps, 2-3 set format. For power, you need to move a lighter weight, but heavy enough to do 6-8 reps at a certain velocity, about 3-4 sets. For muscle endurance, move a very light weight for many reps for many sets, usually 10-20 reps, 5-10 sets. Each type of training is use for different function, but for normal day to day usage, as long as you move some weight, you are good. But having said these, the basic of all these would still be strength, (although strength alone is never enough), since how much weight (light or heavy) you can move very much depend on how strong you are. Strong=strength Powerful=power That is one reason you hear strong and powerful, and not powerful and strong. A strong man may be powerful, but a powerful man might not be as strong. Muscle endurance is a totally different thing by itself. I have a question. I was handed down a pair of non adjustable dumbbells from my kid who have moved on to gym. So I started to use them to replace my swims when weather does not permit. My friend passes me a workout plan using dumbbells for beginners. 2 different workouts to alternate, 5 movements doing 8 to 16 reps, 3 sets each recommended. But I realise I can do more reps for certain movements (e.g deadlifts >20), lesser for others (lateral raise <3), meaning I am training for strength, power and endurance for different muscles in a workout. Will it cause imbalance or problems? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...