Exercising and losing weight

ODC

On 11/8/2024 at 7:39 AM, TangoCharlie said:

Alamak the iherb creatine powder oos. Can't find any energy gel there.

Any recommendation on energy gel from 过来人s? Brand and flavour? So far see GU and SiS quite popular. 

I have never taken before but plan to take for the race. Like 1 per hour? Heard it's very sweet and too much of it can lead to LS.

I took those given in the race pack previously. 

Yes too much, or not use to new type will LS 😅. Better trial during practice run to gauge if it matches your gut... before actual race day.

On 11/8/2024 at 11:28 AM, TangoCharlie said:

I will try honey stinger that inline6 recommended since it's honey basically and taste should be good.

I do feel a boost from the energy drink at water stations during hm. As for struggling the last few km, my theory is that the body was too stressed to process whatever you ate.

Better don't mix isotonic drinks with gels and banana.....

I still remember my 1st FM,alternate isotonic then water station, then 4  gels, 1 x every 10km....

Felt nauseated after banana and water at 29km.....😅,  not sure because too much mixes....

My eventful evening run, met this boy. Call me, 运动爷爷, instead of 运动大哥.

image.png.faabe09e2a4d03335100627420c53072.png

• Haha! 8

On 11/15/2024 at 11:25 PM, Atonchia said:

I took those given in the race pack previously. 

Yes too much, or not use to new type will LS 😅. Better trial during practice run to gauge if it matches your gut... before actual race day.

On 11/15/2024 at 11:30 PM, Atonchia said:

Better don't mix isotonic drinks with gels and banana.....

I still remember my 1st FM,alternate isotonic then water station, then 4  gels, 1 x every 10km....

Felt nauseated after banana and water at 29km.....😅,  not sure because too much mixes....

thanks for sharing. will try out during LSD tomorrow. plan is to take banana before run, then honey stinger every hour and water throughout. 

On 11/16/2024 at 2:02 AM, Ender said:

no need to be sad.....uncle in angmo is very general one....i address some grandpa neighbours as uncle too! hahaha

Over the years, the progression is from gor gor -> uncle -> yeh yeh 🤪

This kid must be very young? Like your grandson. So called 爷爷 is ok la no matter what is your age. Lol.

Some people 好命, 40s can be 爷爷.

On 11/16/2024 at 11:53 AM, Giordanogavin said:

Over the years, the progression is from gor gor -> uncle -> yeh yeh 🤪

Only thing is my transition to yeh yeh is abit premature. Thanks to the boy to be the first person to dub me that.

On 11/16/2024 at 12:09 PM, 13177 said:

This kid must be very young? Like your grandson. So called 爷爷 is ok la no matter what is your age. Lol.

Some people 好命, 40s can be 爷爷.

Small boy, PRC accent, my guess is kindergarten age.

My age? do the math from my attached picture. 

Edited by Ender

On 11/17/2024 at 10:19 AM, TangoCharlie said:

@inlinesix, the honey stinger jin ho jiak. Good recommendation. Thanks. 

Took 2 this morning. 

Screenshot_20241117-100013.png

Your 20km pace is faster this legend, whom the media said he excel in the race today.

WhatsAppImage2024-11-17at18_21.06_38fe2872.thumb.jpg.42b572611b11fad989e1574f6400eb8e.jpg

https://www.dimsumdaily.hk/chow-yun-fat-excels-at-hong-kong-airport-10km-race-plans-future-challenges/

Chow Yun-fat excels at Hong Kong Airport 10km race, plans future challenges

Think he explains well the importance of having high mitochondria density and quality. By improving the quality and higher density of Mitochondria we can be burning fats more efficiently and clearing of lactate faster. This how exercise in zone 2 training makes us metabolic flexible. Improve insulin sensitivity too, hence protective against alot of metabolic disease such as diabetes.

On 11/17/2024 at 9:38 PM, Ender said:

Your 20km pace is faster this legend, whom the media said he excel in the race today.

WhatsAppImage2024-11-17at18_21.06_38fe2872.thumb.jpg.42b572611b11fad989e1574f6400eb8e.jpg

https://www.dimsumdaily.hk/chow-yun-fat-excels-at-hong-kong-airport-10km-race-plans-future-challenges/

Chow Yun-fat excels at Hong Kong Airport 10km race, plans future challenges

Age adjusted he beats me hands down easily.

Just wish to  run as long as I can and 'enjoy' at the same time.

On 11/18/2024 at 1:00 PM, Ender said:

Think he explains well the importance of having high mitochondria density and quality. By improving the quality and higher density of Mitochondria we can be burning fats more efficiently and clearing of lactate faster. This how exercise in zone 2 training makes us metabolic flexible. Improve insulin sensitivity too, hence protective against alot of metabolic disease such as diabetes.

Ok, I have adjusted my HR zones on my watch.

Zone 1 55-70%

Zone 2 70-80%

Zone 3 80-90%

Zone 4 90-95%

Zone 5 95-100%

Lol my LDL cholesterol reached a new peak. Reached very high levels. 

Now guai guai eat medication. I previously stopped after 1 month or so cos I thought it gave me more muscle soreness. LL have to eat now. 

Trying to be more disciplined. 

Wah level up liao… moral of the story don’t run so much won’t have so many events

😬🤣

On 11/21/2024 at 6:56 PM, Lala81 said:

Lol my LDL cholesterol reached a new peak. Reached very high levels. 

Now guai guai eat medication. I previously stopped after 1 month or so cos I thought it gave me more muscle soreness. LL have to eat now. 

Trying to be more disciplined. 

Does all different brand of cholesterol med give muscle soreness?

I have been eating cholesterol med for at least a decade liao, don’t dare to stop since doctor say high risk tio stroke and heart attack if don’t take even got side effects. 😅