Mooose 6th Gear June 21, 2021 Share June 21, 2021 3 hours ago, yellowshaun said: One big question mark i have is why they somehow dont want to bring in the Almera that is selling like hotcakes in malaysia! Very well reviewed also! actually i also wonder .. in malaysia the almera sells for slightly more than the honda city, but where it is built - thailand - the almera undercuts the city noticeably in price. the second highest spec almera VL (highest spec is the sportech that is B20000 ($850) more but with mainly only cosmetic add ons) is fully loaded with all the safety features like rear cross traffic alert, blind spot warning monitor, 6 airbags (incl side and curtain), moving object detection, 360 view camera, intelligent forward collision warning and emergency braking etc is only B639000 ($27,300) but still costs less than the middle range city sv (B665000 or $28400) without many of these features .. so with the asean fta it is in theory possible to bring in the almera to undercut the city prices .. and with a 1.0 turbo it will be attractive from the tax pov too .. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nick2342 2nd Gear June 21, 2021 Author Share June 21, 2021 (edited) 1 hour ago, Mooose said: sorry, dont mean to sound discouraging, but certain companies (not saying tan chong is one of these) have the practice that they do not bother with people who have applied previously but not shortlisted .. i have also seen some HR say in their ads that those who have previously applied but not shortlisted for interview etc need not bother applying again .. get a close relative or friend to go through your paper qualifications .. again dont mean to sound elitise but maybe the job and companies you are applying to is looking for something that you do not have? yes, i know you are applying for a similar job as that you are doing now, but this present company may well not have required it or may have overlooked it even if this was the normal need for such jobs? not asking you to give up, but instead of charging multiple times at a door that wont budge open, relook your strategies, maybe you may need to upskill to get another piece of paper deemed normal for this kind of job or company etc .. good luck and all the best .. No worries i understand. Yup perhaps that might be the case in either scenarios. Have tried asking friends and relatives to review my resume but it didnt work out. Perhaps you're right.. there might be a few things i need to improve on or learn like forklift licence and im looking to do so once the Covid situation hopefully gets better. Thank you. Edited June 21, 2021 by Nick2342 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mooose 6th Gear June 21, 2021 Share June 21, 2021 3 minutes ago, Nick2342 said: No worries i understand. Yup perhaps that might be the case in either scenarios. Have tried asking friends and relatives to review my resume but it didnt work out. Perhaps you're right.. there might be a few things i need to improve on or learn like forklift licence and im looking to do so once the Covid situation hopefully gets better. Thank you. you also need honest friends and relatives who know what they are looking at when they look at your CV .. many a time people are just too paiseh to say alamak how come you dont have this cert or that license still want to apply for this kind of job .. its like asking your good friend .. my shirt nice or not .. how many will tell you ok la quite nice .. and how many will tell you that your taste is in the ditchwater? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic June 21, 2021 Share June 21, 2021 (edited) 16 minutes ago, Nick2342 said: No worries i understand. Yup perhaps that might be the case in either scenarios. Have tried asking friends and relatives to review my resume but it didnt work out. Perhaps you're right.. there might be a few things i need to improve on or learn like forklift licence and im looking to do so once the Covid situation hopefully gets better. Thank you. I am not sure you wrote in to try your luck or you were responding to their job ads. if you are writing to an advertisement in future, look at their stated job role clearly and amend your resume with all the key words you can find in the job scope so as to make your prior experience very relevant to the job that you are applying for. And make sure you state your nationality if you are SGPrean in your resume, with the tightening of WP, being a SGPrean would give you a better chance to be called up for an interview. Edited June 21, 2021 by Ct3833 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nick2342 2nd Gear June 21, 2021 Author Share June 21, 2021 3 minutes ago, Mooose said: you also need honest friends and relatives who know what they are looking at when they look at your CV .. many a time people are just too paiseh to say alamak how come you dont have this cert or that license still want to apply for this kind of job .. its like asking your good friend .. my shirt nice or not .. how many will tell you ok la quite nice .. and how many will tell you that your taste is in the ditchwater? Ohh i see. Yup i understand. Will continue improve myself and try again next time hopefully! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nick2342 2nd Gear June 21, 2021 Author Share June 21, 2021 9 minutes ago, Ct3833 said: I am not sure you wrote in to try your luck or you were responding to their job ads. if you are writing to an advertisement in future, look at their stated job role clearly and amend your resume with all the key words you can find in the job scope so as to make your prior experience very relevant to the job that you are applying for. And make sure you state your nationality if you are SGPrean in your resume, with the tightening of WP, being a SGPrean would give you a better chance to be called up for an interview. Ohh i see. Thank you. Will keep it in mind. Hmm i did both, applied generally as well as for a specific position. Yup ive tried to edit my resume with the key words and jobscopes as close as possible for the specific position when i applied. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nick2342 2nd Gear June 21, 2021 Author Share June 21, 2021 (edited) 59 minutes ago, michael06 said: Did you try your school's student council? Usually the SC got lobang and can help you find relevant jobs. Most ppl dunno ITE/Poly student council can help their grads find jobs. Hmm yup i did before. But i grad long ago not sure if they cn help me. Will try to see if can approach them. Thanks! Edited June 21, 2021 by Nick2342 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nick2342 2nd Gear September 5, 2021 Author Share September 5, 2021 Hi all, not sure how to explain my situation as its quite complicated so please kindly bear with me. Its been my dream to work at Tan Chong since young and it inspired me to pick up automotive education in the hopes of working there one day with something related to spare parts. Is just that i am worried abt many things such as age as i started out late and hve a medical issue(partial hearing) which limits the roles i can do. Currently working in a related role in another company to hopefully gain experience and hve tried applying to Tan Chong many times but was unsucessful. Hve tried editing/reviewing my resume and reaching out to others tt i know for help, among others but also not much luck, thus not really sure what to do. Hope cn receive some kind advice if possible. Thanks in advance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged September 5, 2021 Share September 5, 2021 8 minutes ago, Nick2342 said: Hi all, not sure how to explain my situation as its quite complicated so please kindly bear with me. Its been my dream to work at Tan Chong since young and it inspired me to pick up automotive education in the hopes of working there one day with something related to spare parts. Is just that i am worried abt many things such as age as i started out late and hve a medical issue(partial hearing) which limits the roles i can do. Currently working in a related role in another company to hopefully gain experience and hve tried applying to Tan Chong many times but was unsucessful. Hve tried editing/reviewing my resume and reaching out to others tt i know for help, among others but also not much luck, thus not really sure what to do. Hope cn receive some kind advice if possible. Thanks in advance. Not a lot of information to go on. What's your educational/vocational background, what's your current role and why do you want to work at Tan Chong so much? Will your aspiration to work at Tan Chong change, if for some reason they no longer handle the Nissan brand? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
November 1st Gear September 5, 2021 Share September 5, 2021 Joke of the day? Why Tan Chong? Are you insider trying to promo TC? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic September 5, 2021 Share September 5, 2021 You have started a similar thread in 2018, why not continue using the same thread? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brass 6th Gear September 5, 2021 Share September 5, 2021 (edited) 1 hour ago, Ct3833 said: You have started a similar thread in 2018, why not continue using the same thread? Ask him to ask Lam Pin Min. I last read he's doing some analysis stuff at some carsharing or phv company after he lost SK in GE2020. If that fails, run him over with a pmd. Edited September 5, 2021 by Brass 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
yellowshaun 4th Gear September 5, 2021 Share September 5, 2021 2 hours ago, Ct3833 said: You have started a similar thread in 2018, why not continue using the same thread? I was about to point this out also. He's not looking for advice cause he doesn't want to listen. Just want somebody to hook him up. I think just merge back into his original topic so we don't go in circles again... @BabyBlade@RadX 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 5, 2021 Share September 5, 2021 41 minutes ago, yellowshaun said: I was about to point this out also. He's not looking for advice cause he doesn't want to listen. Just want somebody to hook him up. I think just merge back into his original topic so we don't go in circles again... @BabyBlade@RadX tks. Done the needful. This bloke seems desperate. He shd consider starting from teh ground. In 2 years, at least he would have had some creds to earn rather than posting for 'connecitons' 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nick2342 2nd Gear September 6, 2021 Author Share September 6, 2021 9 hours ago, Ct3833 said: You have started a similar thread in 2018, why not continue using the same thread? Hi i apologise if this feels like a duplicate or spam thread. I did consider posting under the old thread but felt the qn or title wasnt specific/ detailed enough, had no idea how to edit the thread title or who to approach in that regard and had tried almost everything in e old thread but wasnt successful. Apologise if this feels like a duplicate thread. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nick2342 2nd Gear September 6, 2021 Author Share September 6, 2021 5 hours ago, RadX said: tks. Done the needful. This bloke seems desperate. He shd consider starting from teh ground. In 2 years, at least he would have had some creds to earn rather than posting for 'connecitons' Hi i apologise if the thread seems like a duplicate as nt sure how to edit the previous title or who to approach. I understand and hve been working towards doing so as well, just that am worried abt my age as i started out late and worried might be considered too old in addition to not hving much experience.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 6, 2021 Share September 6, 2021 4 minutes ago, Nick2342 said: Hi i apologise if the thread seems like a duplicate as nt sure how to edit the previous title or who to approach. I understand and hve been working towards doing so as well, just that am worried abt my age as i started out late and worried might be considered too old in addition to not hving much experience.. It’s quite clear that nobody is listening to you! try TALKING to REAL people and make contacts and this is not the way to go you need a career consultant pronto! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nick2342 2nd Gear September 6, 2021 Author Share September 6, 2021 (edited) 31 minutes ago, RadX said: It’s quite clear that nobody is listening to you! try TALKING to REAL people and make contacts and this is not the way to go you need a career consultant pronto! What makes you think i havent tried? I've been trying everything ( the helpful advice and suggestions) in the previous thread, as well as being proactive like editing/my resume talking and even reaching out to those that i know or do not know offline etc. Have been trying to make contacts which is hard as i hve a small social circle and i dont know anyone who might be able to help. Edited September 6, 2021 by Nick2342 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...