Marzsomeone 1st Gear April 20, 2018 Share April 20, 2018 Hi All, Any Civic drivers facing the same issue with water droplets in the head / back lights after rain or wash? Is it normal? My paint protection guys told me this is a defect for a new car, suspected sealant has not been done properly. But the Honda agent say it is normal ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PaulMeng 2nd Gear April 20, 2018 Share April 20, 2018 (edited) The agent confirmed say normal lah, they dun want help you mah. Just ask them back this question, as an customer, will you accept this defect? new car will not have this kind of issue. warranty should cover this kind of things, you have your customer rights to ask them for replacement. Edited April 20, 2018 by PaulMeng 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
V-280 1st Gear April 20, 2018 Share April 20, 2018 Most likely lights not sealed properly. At least don't have any ponding inside and when turning, the water will form "waves". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear April 20, 2018 Share April 20, 2018 Hi All, Any Civic drivers facing the same issue with water droplets in the head / back lights after rain or wash? Is it normal? My paint protection guys told me this is a defect for a new car, suspected sealant has not been done properly. But the Honda agent say it is normal Tell them to put your headlight on their showroom can and say it’s normal to potential buyers then Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear April 20, 2018 Share April 20, 2018 If it is just a few droplets and would vaporise off subsequently then still can close 1 eye but if it is 1 big patch of droplets then something must be wrong ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marzsomeone 1st Gear April 20, 2018 Author Share April 20, 2018 The agent confirmed say normal lah, they dun want help you mah. Just ask them back this question, as an customer, will you accept this defect? new car will not have this kind of issue. warranty should cover this kind of things, you have your customer rights to ask them for replacement. Ya lor, she ask me to feedback during my 1k servicing Tell them to put your headlight on their showroom can and say it’s normal to potential buyers then lol good one, I like your response If it is just a few droplets and would vaporise off subsequently then still can close 1 eye but if it is 1 big patch of droplets then something must be wrong ..... Just hopefully mold will not form in the headlight so fast quite sad if happen to a new car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buadongdong Twincharged April 20, 2018 Share April 20, 2018 @Dach, any issues with yours? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear April 20, 2018 Share April 20, 2018 Bro, tell them it’s not normal and unacceptable. It’s obvious that this is a factory problem. They need to rectify for u. Even my 20 year old starlet in the past does t have this problem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 20, 2018 Share April 20, 2018 If a few droplets formed, think they will tell you it is normal as it is water condensation, will disappear after a while de. My friend's car which is not civic, when new car also have such problem but the AD gave him such reason. They said only droplets is formed on the whole of the headlights then consider got problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic April 20, 2018 Share April 20, 2018 @Dach, any issues with yours?Don't encounter such issues. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jtb 6th Gear April 20, 2018 Share April 20, 2018 this is usually the seal is not properly fitted properly during manufacturing. Request to remove and check the 'O' ring is not dislodge, may result the long and heavy rain to leak in. Definitely I would request the above or have it replace when stock arrives! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 20, 2018 Share April 20, 2018 this is usually the seal is not properly fitted properly during manufacturing. Request to remove and check the 'O' ring is not dislodge, may result the long and heavy rain to leak in. Definitely I would request the above or have it replace when stock arrives! Perhaps AD will change for you when you show them that your headlights is flooded with water. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic April 20, 2018 Share April 20, 2018 Hi All, Any Civic drivers facing the same issue with water droplets in the head / back lights after rain or wash? Is it normal? My paint protection guys told me this is a defect for a new car, suspected sealant has not been done properly. But the Honda agent say it is normal It's raining now.Possible to show some pictures? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MQX87511 5th Gear April 20, 2018 Share April 20, 2018 Hi All, Any Civic drivers facing the same issue with water droplets in the head / back lights after rain or wash? Is it normal? My paint protection guys told me this is a defect for a new car, suspected sealant has not been done properly. But the Honda agent say it is normal of course, it's abnormal, go back your dealer to claim warranty and compensation, this is very dangerous defect, might catch fire while short circuit, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 21, 2018 Share April 21, 2018 (edited) You study science what. When a cold surface meets with a warm medium. What you get? Condensation right or not? Just like your glass of cold drink in room temp. Water droplets form on the glass surface. Headlights might not be completely sealed or vacuum coz when you replace the bulb you know there's air that can get inside in the headlight casing. Where there's air there's also moisture. Is your car using halogen bulbs? After using them for a while does the casing get warm or even hot? Hence in the event when it meets with cold outside air eg. raining. Will water droplets form inside the casing surface? Does this answer your question? Is the information helpful? Edited April 21, 2018 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool79 1st Gear October 29, 2018 Share October 29, 2018 Hi All, Any Civic drivers facing the same issue with water droplets in the head / back lights after rain or wash? Is it normal? My paint protection guys told me this is a defect for a new car, suspected sealant has not been done properly. But the Honda agent say it is normal ur car is having LED headlight or the halogen? i got water in my old car, it is due to i never cover the halogen housing with the rubber properly. but for LED for water, means get them to replace the whole housing liao! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
fto80 Neutral Newbie August 6 Share August 6 If you google and seem, you will see it depends on the design of the lights. Some brand new light will get condensation too because the design of the headlight is too tight for any air to properly circulate. The air inside the lights need to breathe and let the moisture circulate out. That's why all head lights will have breather pipe/special breather film to let moisture seep through. You also can try to use hair dryer to blow dry air into the headlights to help dry out the air inside. If the condensation happens again, it's a good chance the seal on you light is leaking. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...