Thyroid

Theoldjaffa

So now we know scissors curry rice is a super food.

I will eat more along with butter and bacon.

Is bacon fat healthier than margarine?

Is bacon grease bad for you?

Bacon fat is higher in monounsaturated fat (the good fat) than butter.

Unlike margarine, bacon grease does NOT contain trans fat (aka “bad fat”).

On 11/19/2024 at 2:19 AM, BanCoe said:

Decided to revive an old topic as I just joined the  T Club ........ I've been diagnosed with Hypothyroidism last month 

TSH 3.74 (high)

T4 free serum 7.9 (Low)

and bringing my LDL to sudden highs of 3.08  (previously was 2.4 about like 5 months back )

Feel no difference, no nodes on neck , but  stomach bulging out which never ever happened  to me  (maybe eating too much whilst travelling heavily of late ) weight went up by 2 kgs 

Fitness level is still same (maybe slightly slower but endurance is similar ) infact climbed /trekked up 2 volcanoes last month  & running almost every 3 days or so with other exercises in between and recreational tennis at times

Doc asked to come back a couple of months and do another test before deciding on the life long medications to take

Expand  

take care and wish u speedy recovery.

wow i also forgot that i started this thread many years ago.

just to share some numbers from my health check in june this year. 

Free T4 still elevated. In 2018, it was 1.96 mg/dl after conversion.

this year its 1.90.

image.png.b9286fa3136c9aca61b27275ab1e056c.png

But LDL cholesterol miraculously improved. used to be borderline high.

image.png.eb5825f928065034bd4f6a16d3d91eec.png

Decided to revive an old topic as I just joined the  T Club ........ I've been diagnosed with Hypothyroidism last month 

TSH 3.74 (high)

T4 free serum 7.9 (Low)

and bringing my LDL to sudden highs of 3.08  (previously was 2.4 about like 5 months back )

Feel no difference, no nodes on neck , but  stomach bulging out which never ever happened  to me  (maybe eating too much whilst travelling heavily of late ) weight went up by 2 kgs 

Fitness level is still same (maybe slightly slower but endurance is similar ) infact climbed /trekked up 2 volcanoes last month  & running almost every 3 days or so with other exercises in between and recreational tennis at times

Doc asked to come back a couple of months and do another test before deciding on the life long medications to take

Expand  

This is quite clearly hypothyroidism. You should just replace 1st or at most do another follow up check in 1 month or so.

You will feel less energy, mental slowing, weight gain, cold intolerance, constipation etc etc. 

The longer the hypothyroidism persist, the more you will feel it. 

I'm not sure why need to wait few months. It's highly unlikely to reverse. 

On 11/19/2024 at 3:15 AM, Lala81 said:

This is quite clearly hypothyroidism. You should just replace 1st or at most do another follow up check in 1 month or so.

You will feel less energy, mental slowing, weight gain, cold intolerance, constipation etc etc. 

The longer the hypothyroidism persist, the more you will feel it. 

I'm not sure why need to wait few months. It's highly unlikely to reverse. 

Expand  

I dunno about less energy ....... still beaming with lotsa of it but more worried about my lesser level of sleep ...maybe hardly 6 hours 

Only sudden weight gain is clear , yes mental ablilty to remember certain words/ names makes me foggy and remember only sometimes after an hour or so later it just pops up.... maybe also reading absorption/ undertanding seems also slow 

Dunno leh.... I went to polyclinic GP and she said not to worry and check again (I can actually just pop into the lab any time; which I will do maybe early next month   

Looks like my COE gonna expire soon    

On 11/19/2024 at 4:10 AM, BanCoe said:

I dunno about less energy ....... still beaming with lotsa of it but more worried about my lesser level of sleep ...maybe hardly 6 hours 

Only sudden weight gain is clear , yes mental ablilty to remember certain words/ names makes me foggy and remember only sometimes after an hour or so later it just pops up.... maybe also reading absorption/ undertanding seems also slow 

Dunno leh.... I went to polyclinic GP and she said not to worry and check again (I can actually just pop into the lab any time; which I will do maybe early next month   

Expand  

It's nothing to worry about in the sense that it's very easily treatable with thyroid hormone replacement. Lots of people are eating it.

Won't make you return COE faster. 

Your body is a self regulating mechanism. To be clearly hypothyroid at your age means your thyroid already no more capacity to produce anymore. Like i said, almost certainly it's not going to recover.

Tks doc for sharing inputs and frank assessment too which is indeed down to Earth …… will check with the clinic for an earlier appt maybe after the Dec 1 Full marathon ( dunno if can do it or not … just tikam tikam) but just do it !and then go down Clinic …. Trying with some Yoga … but if it’s like progressive aging then no choice …. Even kiasu kiasu did a CT Angiogram scan 2 months back at NHC ….. all was good too….

Ban coe no more...i mean no more ban on coe...just extend it day by day and be merry about it...we are all living the borrowed time anyway...scared also die, no scared also mati...just tick the bucket list one by one or strike off if need be...then add new ones thereafter...like play chest game...i mean chess 😁

Thyroid is nothing major lah...a close fren kena few years ago also worried sick at first...then found out that it's very common in his extended family...all are still living, kicking and scolding pxp till very old age...😂

TSH 3.74 (high)

T4 free serum 7.9 (Low)

Expand  

Don't appropriate to say this, but welcome to the club. But i am opposite. Hyper-thyroidism for me.

On 11/19/2024 at 7:34 AM, Ender said:

Don't appropriate to say this, but welcome to the club. But i am opposite. Hyper-thyroidism for me.

Expand  

Thats the reverse ... over production ... heard have to go under the knife to curtail it , Hypo is somehow more "trending"  than Hyper    

On 11/19/2024 at 4:10 AM, BanCoe said:

Expand  

Actually I am also with Polyclinic with this thyroid issue as it is heredity among my family. I just checked my TSH test results taken over the last 2 years been reducing from peak of 3.55 -> 4.42 -> 3.49 -> 2.81 just 2 months. The doctor only advised me to control my diet and nothing much else. The most recent visit I was told my condition is now considered ok. I do not know what difference in my life caused the difference in the readings at all haha.

On 11/20/2024 at 12:01 AM, Heartlander said:

Actually I am also with Polyclinic with this thyroid issue as it is heredity among my family. I just checked my TSH test results taken over the last 2 years been reducing from peak of 3.55 -> 4.42 -> 3.49 -> 2.81 just 2 months. The doctor only advised me to control my diet and nothing much else. The most recent visit I was told my condition is now considered ok. I do not know what difference in my life caused the difference in the readings at all haha.

Expand  

looks like i got to "puasa"   :a-m1524:  literally belt tightening .... and I'm like one person who lives to eat only :yuush:  

On 11/19/2024 at 1:27 PM, BanCoe said:

Thats the reverse ... over production ... heard have to go under the knife to curtail it , Hypo is somehow more "trending"  than Hyper    

Expand  

A cha bor fren found out due to irregular heart beat.  Her Apple Watch send her 3 warning in a day.

She went through iodine treatment.

Expand  

Only serious case, where meds are not helping, I guess then need surgery.  Mine is very manageable with med. Am now on the lowest dosage possible for Carbimazoles, half tab a day. the thyroids number are in normal range from last lab test i  September. Doc say want to monitor if the trend is stable for one year then can discuss if want to stop the meds completely.

Expand  

Hyper thyroidism is usually treated via carbimazole or if the meds don’t work, it’s radioactive iodine.  

Surgery is usually the last resort and situations where the patient may have potential thyroid cancer.