SuPerBoRed Twincharged April 6, 2018 Share April 6, 2018 (edited) People has been saying, and will always be saying, the present is not good enough. In the past, people also say the government no good, but look at where we are today. In the years after lky stepped down, people also said Singapore is doomed with the new batch of leaders, but Singapore survived and done pretty well, steering clear of recession and enjoyed consistent growth, low inflation rate (by world standard) and a high gdp, low unemployment etc. Trust me, years later people will say the future batch of leaders is not good while the past (the current one) is good. People are forever discontented and complaining no matter how fortunate they are. Bro.. if u rem, over durian smoke break... we had a chat about this before and i remember remarking that i feel sgp gahmen is good compared to the other places i have encountered. But recently... i have a slightly different set of thinking... My question is this.. Singapore Inc.. if there is really a change is board of directors.. would the ''company'' collapse? would something suddenly stop functioning and all of us suffer a distinct drop in standard of living? I believe we cannot be worried of something that is a possibility and not a certainty... And now.. what i am pursuing is ACCOUNTABILITY. I really dont need to go through wayang after wayangs of explanations and am expected to be stupid enough to believe. I am even too tired to list down all the things i want to have answered. So lets just put it out.. my next vote is for opposition.. WHOEVER IT MAYBE. Edited April 6, 2018 by SuPerBoRed ↡ Advertisement 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EWander 6th Gear April 6, 2018 Share April 6, 2018 From the replies with phrases like careful, beware wat u say, wait they come after u in our daily conversations , u can tell we r still rule by fear. This is wat is wrong with our system. There are plenty of merits in our system, many of which r implemented by dedicated man in power of the past. Yet they r not fail safe and many r out of sync with the evolution of our lifestyles. We r not involves in the formulation of policies that directly or indirectly affect our life, we cannot effectively oppose its implementation and the people that majority chose to represent us in office r practically useless. Nothing constructive nor even borderline intelligent from them. They r jus there to sway to one big wind whichever way he wants them to bow towards. Without ability to question wat one person think is the rite way forward despite millions crying behind saying no and genuine ability to admit wrong decisions and the rectify so. Our proud and outstanding leaders r leading us jus towards one way ........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic April 6, 2018 Share April 6, 2018 If u ask me, I would say at least 40 seats to oppo. I like that idea 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrotrust2 5th Gear April 6, 2018 Share April 6, 2018 One need to understand one thing- the reason for democracy- because it went through a rough historical patch- from autocratic ruler and the suppression of the peasant- when peasant have no food or living condition is bad- it will lead to anarchy and revolution. The french revolution is a result of "modern democracy". Whether one called opposition or not - is a form or media only. It is a platform to relate message-the voices of the masses to the "ruler" or whatever party in power. End of the day- are we better off in economic terms-? We have a long way to go in terms of political maturity compare to those Briton with few hundred years of history of up and down. Only 50 yrs of history- still "green". 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged April 6, 2018 Share April 6, 2018 I think the oppo candidates better start walking the ground soon...at least start to walk around the nayborhoods and start talking if not by the next erection...too many new oppo faces and PAP will use the excuse that the oppo candidates are non-familiar faces... and also the public, will according to common sense, have no faith in these super new untested candidates... I urge the opposition to start walk the grounds now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 6, 2018 Share April 6, 2018 Diverse voice is required all field. That's why Singapore is so boring. Diverse voice is required all field. That's why Singapore is so boring. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged April 6, 2018 Share April 6, 2018 No need for opposition. Then ownself check ownself? Ya lor. They ownself say already what, can ownself check ownself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic April 6, 2018 Share April 6, 2018 Actually, LHL should just say actually, we don't need election. why waste time and resources we are the winner already ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kdash Supersonic April 6, 2018 Share April 6, 2018 Actually, LHL should just say actually, we don't need election. why waste time and resources we are the winner already ! they still need to know who are the best performing oppo to choose as NCMP Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged April 6, 2018 Share April 6, 2018 (edited) Another reason to vote them out so that there will be more voices and ideas to move the country forward. How can a nation move forward if there is no diversification in ideas? All yes men is as good as putting all the eggs in one basket. This is a sign of being too complacent already. Our current system is only good as long as competent people are in charge. All decisions implemented with no questions asked. Efficient and effective. But the moment an incompetent team takes over, we're all totally f**ked. Up to individual to decide which situation we're in now. Edited April 6, 2018 by Sosaria 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged April 6, 2018 Share April 6, 2018 Bro retract and explain what i meant liao, can amend post or not? Ah, I clicked on the quote button, went back to work, then typed what I typed before I saw your second post. I think there's a time limit to edit posts, maybe if you want to amend, you can PM the mods / admin. That said, I think generally, I do agree with some of your sentiments, so I agree with where you're coming from. From the replies with phrases like careful, beware wat u say, wait they come after u in our daily conversations , u can tell we r still rule by fear. This is wat is wrong with our system. There are plenty of merits in our system, many of which r implemented by dedicated man in power of the past. Yet they r not fail safe and many r out of sync with the evolution of our lifestyles. We r not involves in the formulation of policies that directly or indirectly affect our life, we cannot effectively oppose its implementation and the people that majority chose to represent us in office r practically useless. Nothing constructive nor even borderline intelligent from them. They r jus there to sway to one big wind whichever way he wants them to bow towards. Without ability to question wat one person think is the rite way forward despite millions crying behind saying no and genuine ability to admit wrong decisions and the rectify so. Our proud and outstanding leaders r leading us jus towards one way ........ Am I worried that the people in power will come after me for my daily conversations? Not really, I'm a nobody in their eyes, not an online influencer or what-not, just a regular joe commenting on an internet forum. However, if I say something wrong, might they come after me? Especially online, where things are archived and it's not a he-say-she-say thing most of the times, as there are records. They just might, especially if I've said something that's libelous, and that too, is a right thing for them to do. I would think that in a civil society, we should not slander against others, or write libelous statements to harm the reputation of others. We should be free to express our opinions, but they should not include slander or libel. The thing is, sometimes when we try to make our case, we might unknowingly misrepresent or misstate facts, and spread false information. Some people I know, will believe everything sprouted by the previously active websites like TRS / TOC / ASS and repeat them as if they were true. As much as I can, I try to avoid that, especially for sensitive topics, and politics is always sensitive. So, do I fear the government? Nope, not really, but that's also because I'm a regular non-political activist type person. With regards to your second point, about us not being involved in the formulation of policies, I'm in two minds about that. One, the government does invite people to share about their thoughts of certain policies (one that comes to mind would be the Budget, where influencers were used to invite people to share their thoughts), but on the other hand, sometimes it does seem like policies are against the best interest of the general public. Again, my own opinion. And I happen to think that the house saga is cow droppings. Along with the media coverage of the issue. Again, in my opinion, cow droppings. Anyway, it's a 1am-ish rant. So, feel free to ignore the WoT. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...