10 Pasir Ris Central Hawker Centre Food

ChaosMyth

S&CC Charges - $350 per month
Table Cleaning Service - $550 per month
Dishwashing Service - $850 per month
Rental of Cashless System - $150 per month
Food Waste Recycling Management - $40 per month
Concept and Marketing - $300 per month

Last time hawker mostly only pay rent and their own utilities.

Now they make them pay all kinds of crap.

And you think hawkers can survive without increasing price ?

And who's making the most money ? It's the middlemen like ntuc, not the hawkers.

It's like you donate to charity. You give $1 and $0.10 goes to the recipient, the rest sapu by the charity.

Edited by Kb27

"I have made it very clear to (NTUC) Foodfare that they are not to charge high rents. The top priority is to have good affordable food for my residents in Bukit Panjang. That is why every stall must have at least two low cost main courses," he added. Minister Vivian was referring to the social enterprise hawker centre run by NTUC Foodfare at Bukit Panjang in 2015.

low cost meal like this ? $2 can ?

post-2854-0-95912500-1536316406.jpg

you eaten than post picture?

this is a pre-eaten pic ... (see the spoon and bowl almost clean!)

but not my pic lah ... just an example of" good affordable food " ... anyway, this is the famous thai boat noodles.

Edited by Ysc3

Doing damage control....hahaha

Ci yuan this hawker place, is clean and airy.

U won't feel stuffy due to the big ceiling fan

All the drinks stall are controlled and own by fei siong if I'm not wrong.

Cos all selling same thing same price.

Edited by Mcf777

Doing damage control....hahaha

Ci yuan this hawker place, is clean and airy.

U won't feel stuffy due to the big ceiling fan

All the drinks stall are controlled and own by fei siong if I'm not wrong.

Cos all selling same thing same price.

All the new hawker centers are pleasant places to makan in.

I think it's time govt look at social enterprises and change the kpi of the people managing them. I was hoping that ntuc foodfare would be able to set a good example but it looks like the pte mindset is too strong there also.

it's just like how dbss worked out for hdb. Sounds good on paper (pte-govt collaboration) but we all know in pte business, the profit is really the overriding aim of the game.

Even if the social enterprise is one arm of a pte organisation, the chief operating officer can only measure this arm's kpi in the same way he measures the other arms. Cost management and profit.

Last time hawker mostly only pay rent and their own utilities.

Now they make them pay all kinds of crap.

And you think hawkers can survive without increasing price ?

And who's making the most money ? It's the middlemen like ntuc, not the hawkers.

It's like you donate to charity. You give $1 and $0.10 goes to the recipient, the rest sapu by the charity.

Esp when they are paying so expensive table cleaning service, and the hawker centre still so dirty.

I feel that these two pricing are extremely high. I thought nowadays we leverage on automation, meaning less worker needed to clear table with diy tray returns and more effective dish washing automation services. 

Table Cleaning Service - $550 per month

I feel that these two pricing are extremely high. I thought nowadays we leverage on automation, meaning less worker needed to clear table with diy tray returns and more effective dish washing automation services. 

Table Cleaning Service - $550 per month

$1400/stall x 42 stalls = $58800/mth  !!

let's say they employ 20 cleaning staffs x $1400 each + CPF = $32760

estimate expendables + misc  = $6000

the management still make a cool $20k !! almost cover the all table cleaning service fees liow !!

I say just let them go back to let the hawker center set up their own committee and services ... since no noticeable environmental difference between changi village hawker center and pasir ris hawker center.

this new style is like *NEA?? cannot or don't want to do its job ... the sub to middle man and want then still want to collect the same amount of money .... then the middle also ply on own profits and pass the strain down to the hawkers ... in the end consumers do not benefit. then NEA just sit there and shake leg and collect money.

** I read the NEA is in charge of public hawkers centers ??

which ones ?

The one selling pasta near the last corner stall selling crabs.

The other one, I think is selling Korean deserts, which is along the ma la hot pot side.

$1400/stall x 42 stalls = $58800/mth !!

let's say they employ 20 cleaning staffs x $1400 each + CPF = $32760

estimate expendables + misc = $6000

the management still make a cool $20k !! almost cover the all table cleaning service fees liow !!

I say just let them go back to let the hawker center set up their own committee and services ... since no noticeable environmental difference between changi village hawker center and pasir ris hawker center.

this new style is like *NEA?? cannot or don't want to do its job ... the sub to middle man and want then still want to collect the same amount of money .... then the middle also ply on own profits and pass the strain down to the hawkers ... in the end consumers do not benefit. then NEA just sit there and shake leg and collect money.

** I read the NEA is in charge of public hawkers centers ??

Any idea what's the charges for those old market. If they keep enphasing on automation and tray returns then the cost for the NG markets should be much lower.

I don't know for sure ... but here is a rough guide for ang-sar-li ...

Bidder ends deal on $10,000 bid for Chomp Chomp hawker stall

A woman who successfully bid for a hawker stall with a monthly rental of over $10,000 had a change of heart, and she ended the tenancy agreement for the stall to sell drinks on the same day she signed it, the National Environment Agency (NEA) said yesterday.

Calling the $10,028 bid for the Chomp Chomp Food Centre stall an "outlier", NEA added that it was the highest successful tender bid received to date.

The tender bid was made last month by Ms Lim Ah Ber for $10,028 a month to rent a stall in popular food haunt Chomp Chomp Food Centre to sell drinks. She received a Letter of Offer on Aug 21.

NEA said the average successful tender bid received for cooked food stalls at Chomp Chomp since June last year was $1,707.50.

The agency told The Straits Times that the average successful tender bid for its cooked food stalls over the last three years is $1,514 a month.

NEA said the lowest bid was $5 and the highest $5,001, excluding an "outlier bid" of $10,000 in 2016 for a stall at People's Park hawker centre. In the outlier case, the bidder also terminated his tenancy before he started operations.

Some Chomp Chomp stall owners told ST that Ms Lim's business would not have been profitable if she went ahead with the agreement.

Mr Charlie Goh, 68, owner of Charlie Corner Health Fresh Juices, said: "It's hard for me to make $3,000 each month, let alone $10,000."

In a letter published by ST last year, NEA addressed public concerns about high hawker bids driving up food prices.

It cited a government study on the possible drivers affecting hawker food prices, which showed that stall rentals form only about 12 per cent of total costs.

Ms Lim's bid for the Chomp Chomp stall was almost triple that of the second highest tender bid of $3,504.68, which was submitted by Mr Lim Junjie, according to a document listing the successful bidders in July posted on the NEA website.

Mr Lim won the bid for another similar stall in Chomp Chomp, with a rent of $4,018.70. He will also be selling drinks .

NEA said Ms Lim signed the tenancy agreement after receiving the Letter of Offer, so she will not be debarred from participating in future tender exercises and will have her deposit returned.

The agency said stallholders who want to terminate their tenancy agreement must give one month's notice and pay their monthly rental and other operating charges.