Teachers at schools and JCs to start paying for parking soon

Theoldjaffa

Parking only.

Next thing you know, all school canteens will be outsourced to F&B operators like NTUC foodfare, Kopitiam, Food Republic, Koufu, etc. They will kick out these "mom & pop" stores make them redundant. Raise the food prices similar to town area food court.

Poly and Uni already have that, vendors set up stalls there have to set the price 1/3 lower than outside i think.

When I let my children go to school on their own, I've been criticised by other parents for doing such "dangerous act".  [hur]

how old were they when u started letting them go themselves?

I think it depends on the school. Apparently my kid school don't allow and to my surprise they put p1 in the upper floor which is strange . I would have put those newbie at level one . Image p1 carry heavy bag and walk up the stairs to level 4 or 5 while the p6 at level 1 ..no logic

teacher want to make students shack, so they don't disturb class so much  [laugh]

how old were they when u started letting them go themselves?

teacher want to make students shack, so they don't disturb class so much  [laugh]

haha maybe like the chinese saying bitter first then sweet later.

Around P3. Same as my own time. But it was progressively .. not sudden change.

i let my children go on their own at p4. The young ones adapt very well to their surrounding fast but need to remind them of dangers like crossing the roads, talking and receiving things from strangers and most important......their friends at school.

haha maybe like the chinese saying bitter first then sweet later.

i think the reason is that on first floor, got visitors and other stuff going on outside the classroom. The older children will be able to pay attention better. I can imagine P1 students will get distracted easily by what's going outside the window 

valid reason subjected to the layout of the school which in my case i dont see it as valid. 

Exactly, dont know the reason behind what they need to charge? Like this even those companies who have private parking at their own premises should also start to charge parking for their staff? Parking fees of $60 and $90 for cars consider is not cheap lo. About the same as same HDB parking.  [rolleyes]

public spaces vs private spaces. Visitors to the school will likewise pay.

if parking is free, some places like NYP will have lots of problems when HDB dwellers park there.

now most school's admin building are separate from the classroom building. The students cant even see admin office......and visitors especially parents are not allowed into the buildings with classroom.

public spaces vs private spaces. Visitors to the school will likewise pay.

if parking is free, some places like NYP will have lots of problems when HDB dwellers park there.

Think last time NYP also free parking but not anymore liao.

nowadays no more bus pass? i remember ezlink card can scan unlimited on bus and 4 trips per day on MRT.

student still have monthly bus pass, but the bus and train different monthly fee, you can have both or just bus.

last time need to buy the stamp at $10-12 a month. Can ride as many bus as possible ........syiok!

paste until the card very thick by year end  [laugh]  [laugh]

Before month end got to paste new stamp on the 2nd box. [laugh][thumbsup] Got some kids go and draw their own, some bus driver from far cannot see.

of course....like now is march....march stamp will be over the Jan stamp so can see Feb and March stamps.....

ok la so still have...

hahaha...ya....each box got 6 stamps overlayed.....ðððð

ya man... wallet also thick thick

Wonder how traffic will be like at those popular schools once parking is chargeable. Now, alot of parents can drive into the school and wait. Once they need to pay for parking, I think many of them will park outside the school to wait.

the thing is this ... why wait ? well, maybe some might say bopian when picking up the kid.

but what about the drop-off ?? can't they just drive to the gate and let the kid get off and get it over in 30 secs ??

why must some cars remain there for a few minutes ? like bf seeing gf home ... must see until the kid go out of sight then can leave ar ??

"An Auditor-General's Office report had in the same year faulted some educational institutions for allowing their staff to park for free, or at fees below the market rate."

And how is this market rate? [scholar]

Haa.. Mkt rate is the GO TO word to use. Mkt rate for Hdb, mkt rate for this, mkt rate for that. Oh ya. Mkt rate for minister salary. Who understand what the hell is that...