Cars We Don't Get to Drive in Singapore

Carbon82

Anybody driven Holden Commodore? Going NZ in couple of months. Feel like renting that to drive as some have told to try it to experience V6.

Think the design also looks not bad.

Anybody driven Holden Commodore? Going NZ in couple of months. Feel like renting that to drive as some have told to try it to experience V6.

Think the design also looks not bad.

If current generation Holden Commodore, then it's the same as our Opel Insignia... But bigger engine.

Agree, think it looks good.

Nope. They never brought in the Pajero Sport. Not even the first model.

Did MMM bring in the new model?
I think I only saw it in real flesh in Australia.
MMM is slow in bringing new models.

Anyone recalls that TVR cars were actually sold in Singapore in the 1990s?

Me! Don’t remember how the cars look like, but definitely remember the brand.

For the i30N to come in, they will be looking very hard at their competitor sales figures for the Stinger 2L.

If that doesn't sell well, don't expect Komoco to bring it in.

For me I wish we can get all the compact hot/warm hatches in the world. Sadly in the world of high COE with 130bhp capping. Small and powerful hatches makes no sense:

Ford Fiesta ST https://www.ford.com/cars/fiesta/models/fiesta-st/

VW Polo GTI - they did bring it in sometime back but stopped due to poor sales. I think this was the last nail for hot hatches in the local market
https://www.autocar.co.uk/car-review/volkswagen/polo-gti

Renault Clio Sport/RS
Http://www.autocar.co.uk/car-review/renault/clio-renaultsport

Nissan Pulsar SSS - an SE once told me the SSS would cost the same price as an Xtrail which will kill it's sales!
https://www.caradvice.com.au/301040/nissan-pulsar-sss-review/

Hyundai I30 N - Komoco should start bringing in the good stuff instead of staying no frills.
https://www.autocar.co.uk/car-review/hyundai/i30-n

Nissan Grand Livina...even our neighbor Malaysia have it while Singapore dun have.

gallery_new-car-carlist-nissan-grand-liv

I sat in one Livina taxi in Taipei 3 yr ago. It wasn't as big as we thought it should be, for a (compact) MPV - 4 of us plus luggages, and it was squeezed till quite jialat. Not sure if this one here is bigger (got 'Grand'), but if it's the same one, then it's not attractive when compared to Wish.

Hmm, just some slight correction. We are talking about the Crowns that made their way to Singapore.

The Crown Majesta is the most luxurious and the top version of the Crown, usually equipped with a V8. The Crown Royal Saloon is the normal one we see most often. The Crown Athlete is the more sporting version of the Crown with a more elaborate grille.

12th Model - Code S180 (2003 - 2008)

BM - Royal Saloon 3L V6

PI - Majesta 4.3L V8, Royal Saloon 3L V6, Athlete 2.5L V6

13th Model - Code S200 (2008 - 2012)

BM - Royal Saloon 3L V6

PI - Majesta 4.6L V8, Royal Saloon 3.5L V6 Hybrid, Royal Saloon 3L V6, Athlete 2.5L V6

14th Model - Code S210 (2012 - 2018)

BM - None

PI - Royal Saloon 2.5L V6, Royal Saloon 2.5L IL4 Hybrid, Athlete 2L IL4 Turbo (still available now)

The 15th Model is already unveiled at the last Tokyo Motorshow and will be launched in Japan later this year.

Hope BM brings it in......

Nope. They never brought in the Pajero Sport. Not even the first model.

They did.

It was called the Triton sport.

It's more related to Triton than pajero

Innova reborn better

Yup, but the look abit weird for me. Like a mutated hilux [laugh]  

I sat in one Livina taxi in Taipei 3 yr ago. It wasn't as big as we thought it should be, for a (compact) MPV - 4 of us plus luggages, and it was squeezed till quite jialat. Not sure if this one here is bigger (got 'Grand'), but if it's the same one, then it's not attractive when compared to Wish.

Grand Livina is slightly abit longer nia with 2 more rear seat, but space is still no match compared to wish.

Drove a rental unit during my visit in KL, feel more like a wagon version of Latio.

They did.

It was called the Triton sport.

It's more related to Triton than pajero

I think he referring to Mitsubishi challenger aka montero sport aka pajero sport 1st gen.

640px-Mitsubishi_Challenger_103.JPG

Innova reborn better

The new Innova, while very nice and much larger, is pricing itself out of the very competitive market. Bare basic unit start from RM107K+ and full spec version is ~RM135K++

INNOVA-X-GALLERY-EXTERIOR.jpg

As a comparison, Nissan Grand Livina can be had from RM87K, Nissan Serena from RM133K, and even the PI Estima (imported used) can be had from <RM150K.

Pajeros have been imported on indent basis, I think.

So maybe this may come to our shores one day. 

ASEAN model of Mitsubishi never make it to our shore for $$$ reason. In Malaysia and other ASEAN countries, it is priced around (or more than) Accord and Camry pricing. Just look at Fortuner, how many were sold here? And let not forget about the unfavorable VES surcharge too...

Yup, but the look abit weird for me. Like a mutated hilux [laugh]

Grand Livina is slightly abit longer nia with 2 more rear seat, but space is still no match compared to wish.

Drove a rental unit during my visit in KL, feel more like a wagon version of Latio.

I think he referring to Mitsubishi challenger aka montero sport aka pajero sport 1st gen.

640px-Mitsubishi_Challenger_103.JPG

Like the innova interior. Rear light abit like rav 4

Anyway grand livina is very small and crampy too. Full load will be jialat cos hit speed bump will kena undercarriage.

The new Innova, while very nice and much larger, is pricing itself out of the very competitive market. Bare basic unit start from RM107K+ and full spec version is ~RM135K++

INNOVA-X-GALLERY-EXTERIOR.jpg

As a comparison, Nissan Grand Livina can be had from RM87K, Nissan Serena from RM133K, and even the PI Estima (imported used) can be had from <RM150K.

ASEAN model of Mitsubishi never make it to our shore for $$$ reason. In Malaysia and other ASEAN countries, it is priced around (or more than) Accord and Camry pricing. Just look at Fortuner, how many were sold here? And let not forget about the unfavorable VES surcharge too...

Grand livina diff level. Innova more like hybrid of suv and mpv. It can sit 7 adult comfortably. But indeed pricing quite steep.

Err......SG has only 10 yrs shelf life for cars......most will be scrapped because we only buy things for the latest technology and creature's comfort. Manufacturers knows this......thats why they wont bring this car to our shore. Most of this cars will be classic after 10-20 yrs......but in sg they will be scrap metal....

Can export out mah...