How are your reservist training like?

Wind30

this one got rank and name engraved at the back one right? Still got a small compass at the strap there...

i think mine batt flat long long ago...

Bro, suddenly off-loaded some (heavy-) weight, so became much lighter during SOC and ran record timing huh? [laugh]

i think i pang sai i will off-load more sia!

no le, combat rations supposed to be designed for heating up. maybe horrible smell but taste ok? haha... taste also depends on whether we outfield or in civilisation

Which era combat rations designed for heating up le? When during out field training in some ulu ulu area, how to heat up the combat rations?!

During my reservist, mindef has developed the lightweight pouch combat ration. Use us as Guinea pigs...

Heng I got Land Rover. The bonnet was my heater.......

Which era combat rations designed for heating up le? When during out field training in some ulu ulu area, how to heat up the combat rations?!

i tot later they even provided solid fuel for heating? reservist like got leh... last couple cycles...

During my reservist, mindef has developed the lightweight pouch combat ration. Use us as Guinea pigs...

i tot later they even provided solid fuel for heating? reservist like got leh... last couple cycles...

Solid fuel only for cheapo SAF. I supported a training with US marines in 1996 and their MRE were dropped into a pouch with magnesium. Just add water to the pack and the magnesium will react and heat up the MRE. Was really nice.

The only nice one of the new combat rations in 1996, was the energy bar with dates. The rest was bleeeh, even when we heated them up.

mine was M113, lagi hot... night time cold weather slept on the metal grille near the engine exhaust part, at the beginning is v shiok... but as the night gets longer, at some point the metal no more hot but became cold.... grrrrrrrrrr.....

You still have M113 to keep warm ah. Back then many of us would just sleep in the open whether hot or cold. Really amaze how we managed to survive through?!

Edited by 13177

Solid fuel only for cheapo SAF. I supported a training with US marines in 1996 and their MRE were dropped into a pouch with magnesium. Just add water to the pack and the magnesium will react and heat up the MRE. Was really nice.

The only nice one of the new combat rations in 1996, was the energy bar with dates. The rest was bleeeh, even when we heated them up.

WLE... 1996 type was already the each type food packed into a small that 'flat' sealed packs type? or still the canned type?

Last time the canned type, with the baked beans and sardines... you heat up also no appetite hor... we always stocked up luncheon meat in our M113 instead... also hid gardenia bread there instead of depending on the hard tacks...

You still have M113 to keep warm ah. Back then many of us would just sleep in the open whether hot or cold. Really amaze how we managed to survive through?!

yah that's true...

but hor... the heat in m113 tahan'ed an hour or max 2 only... after that the metal made it so much more colder lor... it doesn't help even if we put sandbags over the metal, still cold till bones also cold...

in wallaby, after trying one night, later all guai guai brought sleeping bags along and koon'ed inside...

The lightweight pouch combat ration cannot make it ah? How come you got Land Rover so good ah?

I "King of battlefield" lah....

post-167240-0-77136900-1520498869.jpeg

yah that's true...

but hor... the heat in m113 tahan'ed an hour or max 2 only... after that the metal made it so much more colder lor... it doesn't help even if we put sandbags over the metal, still cold till bones also cold...

in wallaby, after trying one night, later all guai guai brought sleeping bags along and koon'ed inside...

During outfield, best is can sleep in sleeping bags or hammock.

WLE... 1996 type was already the each type food packed into a small that 'flat' sealed packs type? or still the canned type?

Last time the canned type, with the baked beans and sardines... you heat up also no appetite hor... we always stocked up luncheon meat in our M113 instead... also hid gardenia bread there instead of depending on the hard tacks...

1996 was the start to introduce the new combat ration. I had it in Taiwan.

use solid fuel or vehicle engine lo... if no way to heat up then bobian. but i know its designed such that heating up is not an issue.

maybe my era too recent

kns.....i slept inside a grave compound in roc hor! At first whole section sleep outside the raised perimeter....11pm...1 by 1 started to sleep inside because of the cold and windchill. 2am everyone moved back outside not minding the cold. I had very gad nightmare sleeping inside that grave but no one dared to say anything about it....

During outfield, best is can sleep in sleeping bags or hammock.

wah... if cold weather, hammock = suicide right? cold air coming from everywhere...

confirmed pneumonia  [laugh]

if hot weather, then still ok...

1996 was the start to introduce the new combat ration. I had it in Taiwan.

Then mai hiam liao lor... it's already v good c.f. with the canned food and hard tacks hor...

we were so happy with the change.

machiam everyday could only afford to drive chery for years liao, suddenly company give an altis to drive like that...  [laugh]

wah... if cold weather, hammock = suicide right? cold air coming from everywhere...

confirmed pneumonia  [laugh]

if hot weather, then still ok...

Then mai hiam liao lor... it's already v good c.f. with the canned food and hard tacks hor...

we were so happy with the change.

machiam everyday could only afford to drive chery for years liao, suddenly company give an altis to drive like that...  [laugh]

No le, during outfield in brunei, sleep in hammock de.

kns.....i slept inside a grave compound in roc hor! At first whole section sleep outside the raised perimeter....11pm...1 by 1 started to sleep inside because of the cold and windchill. 2am everyone moved back outside not minding the cold. I had very gad nightmare sleeping inside that grave but no one dared to say anything about it....

What nightmare you had?

hammock lakiun is a must.....you wont want the creepy crawlies all over you at night. But during mission.....good luck! Cannot bring hammock!

What nightmare you had?

96 bro......cant exactly remember but everyone of us went out from the grave.....quite muddled nightmare bits here and bits there. Can oni remember i climb over the cement parapet in a daze!