Aaronlkl Supersonic February 28, 2018 Share February 28, 2018 (edited) A detail breakdown of the cost/taxes of a new car including the dealer's profit margin The table is pretty much self-explanatory. This explains the high cost of new car despite the fall in COE prices! https://www.onemotoring.com.sg/content/onemotoring/en/lta_information_guidelines/buy_a_new_vehicle/car_cost.html Car_Cost_Update.pdf Edited February 28, 2018 by Aaronlkl ↡ Advertisement 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kdash Supersonic February 28, 2018 Share February 28, 2018 high cost but bobian if need to buy a car... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear February 28, 2018 Share February 28, 2018 high cost but bobian if need to buy a car...It comes back to the question whether a car is a need or want 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged February 28, 2018 Share February 28, 2018 While I do feel the pinch but I also agree we need control. Otherwise jams everywhere, got car also no use and no car also suffer due to jams. What we should do more is those cars or vehicles that generate pollution for both exhaust and noise. For the sake of health, we don't need them for whatever reasons. NO F1 please. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Banz86 5th Gear February 28, 2018 Share February 28, 2018 The profit margins asked by the ADs for the bread and butter cars are still reasonable. If you look at the continentals, the margins are super high. Example: Take a look at the margin for a BMW 530i. SGD 100k + 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic February 28, 2018 Share February 28, 2018 A detail breakdown of the cost/taxes of a new car including the dealer's profit margin The table is pretty much self-explanatory. This explains the high cost of new car despite the fall in COE prices! https://www.onemotoring.com.sg/content/onemotoring/en/lta_information_guidelines/buy_a_new_vehicle/car_cost.html Looked like Merc is better priced than BM ........... PML seriously 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear February 28, 2018 Share February 28, 2018 The profit margins asked by the ADs for the bread and butter cars are still reasonable. If you look at the continentals, the margins are super high. Example: Take a look at the margin for a BMW 530i. SGD 100k + Their marketing expenses also very high. Customer loyalty is important. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 28, 2018 Share February 28, 2018 Looked like Merc is better priced than BM ........... PML seriously BMW AG sells to BMW Asia sells to PML sells to consumer. OMV only reflects what BMW AG sells to BMW Asia. We don't know what is the margin along this value chain. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic February 28, 2018 Share February 28, 2018 BMW AG sells to BMW Asia sells to PML sells to consumer. OMV only reflects what BMW AG sells to BMW Asia. We don't know what is the margin along this value chain. I think same same for Daimler ? Anyway, OMV is always lower in BM . That's already a extra for PML 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic February 28, 2018 Share February 28, 2018 We sld all be allow to buy cars off lazada, qoo10 and amazon. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 28, 2018 Share February 28, 2018 I think same same for Daimler ? Anyway, OMV is always lower in BM . That's already a extra for PML The extra goes to BMW & not PML hor.We sld all be allow to buy cars off lazada, qoo10 and amazon. Tmall sell cars. Amazon got sell car meh? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic February 28, 2018 Share February 28, 2018 Tmall sell cars. Amazon got sell car meh? I say say only lah, like that can cut off chain of middle men and get straight to the cost price. But in SG even they sell i think buying will never be allowed. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 28, 2018 Share February 28, 2018 I say say only lah, like that can cut off chain of middle men and get straight to the cost price. But in SG even they sell i think buying will never be allowed. Even can also will not fly la. Very likely consumers will have to do all the paper work & bid COE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic February 28, 2018 Share February 28, 2018 PML knows the rich and famous will buy from them without any regards of margin. Maybe they will not buy if a car is priced too cheap. And if any of those who will buy from PI, thise are not their target customers. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jumpmanz 5th Gear February 28, 2018 Share February 28, 2018 The extra goes to BMW & not PML hor. Tmall sell cars. Amazon got sell car meh? a lot in 1:18 [laugh] 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zze121 3rd Gear February 28, 2018 Share February 28, 2018 Thats explain why some car are so popular while some can only go for second hand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brass 6th Gear February 28, 2018 Share February 28, 2018 Haiz...this has been the case since Stamford raffles landed in Singapore... We all know it...but can do nothing. Anyway,need a car,like the price and features,buy it in a heartbeat and never look back. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged February 28, 2018 Share February 28, 2018 We sld all be allow to buy cars off lazada, qoo10 and amazon. You could but COE is still in the hands of ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...