Kusje Supersonic February 14, 2018 Share February 14, 2018 tax $500/month? Too much lar bro......income tax he will have 4 to claim tax relief and if include maid it will be 5. Insurance can go for medishield plans......it will save alot since the premium are paid by his medisave... Wife do part-time nia with maid somemore........no need childcare liao! Car-$1500 is including carpark and taxes? Tax... maybe include GST? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic February 14, 2018 Share February 14, 2018 She had a heart transplant and I don’t think it’s cheap.... don’t know what future medical costs she going to kenna.... I think the main problem in Singapore is the medical costs... government should really have a focused strategy of reducing healthcare costs and not just ways to fund it. Import manpower, look at India or China how they get their drugs People ask why she got a maid... she had a heart transplant for goodness sake. She definitely needed a helper during that time. Once u start with a maid I think it’s tough to go back to without one. That is why we never got a maid So it isn't a need but a mindset issue. Got money, sure go ahead and keep the maid. No money like she claims then gotta adjust mindset. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic February 14, 2018 Share February 14, 2018 Let cool down. After a night of chilling I come to think such news are propaganda by msm. Especially near budget day. What the objective of such reporting in national paper? First as parent whose would want to impart such value into their kids. Median income is ok to ask parent for help. Is ok for sail club activity. Is for pte tuition. For goodness sake I feel for the 3 kids. Why drag the kids into a national news? Now the whole social media will be on them. Now the peer pressure will be on the kids. Second..the article withheld quite a fair bit of info. No mentioning of job title. No mentioning of car driven. No mention of size of housing. No mentioning of monthly sp bill. A bold headline median income need help on national paper. Really shaking my head. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic February 14, 2018 Share February 14, 2018 Tax... maybe include GST? oh...ya....next month must increase by 1 percentage point..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic February 14, 2018 Share February 14, 2018 Let cool down. After a night of chilling I come to think such news are propaganda by msm. Especially near budget day. What the objective of such reporting in national paper? First as parent whose would want to impart such value into their kids. Median income is ok to ask parent for help. Is ok for sail club activity. Is for pte tuition. For goodness sake I feel for the 3 kids. Why drag the kids into a national news? Now the whole social media will be on them. Now the peer pressure will be on the kids. Second..the article withheld quite a fair bit of info. No mentioning of job title. No mentioning of car driven. No mention of size of housing. No mentioning of monthly sp bill. A bold headline median income need help on national paper. Really shaking my head. Media is to blame but parents as well. If they refuse to grant the interview then there will be no story so the ones that brought the kids into it are the parents. Our fake news media will definitely just choose stories and even twist them to suit their master's narrative la. Just treat it as a joke when you read it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic February 14, 2018 Share February 14, 2018 So it isn't a need but a mindset issue. Got money, sure go ahead and keep the maid. No money like she claims then gotta adjust mindset. I did said. Go down the avenue of polyclinic for medication definitely cheaper than her current... Maid is a want not need. Kids all grown up. She is currently working not bedridden where maid is a must. If family really struggling financially the kids come help to chip in on the housework. Hmmmmmmmmm Maybe the hubby is one of our mcf bros..here..always complain median income not enough... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 14, 2018 Share February 14, 2018 (edited) Let cool down. After a night of chilling I come to think such news are propaganda by msm. Especially near budget day. What the objective of such reporting in national paper? First as parent whose would want to impart such value into their kids. Median income is ok to ask parent for help. Is ok for sail club activity. Is for pte tuition. For goodness sake I feel for the 3 kids. Why drag the kids into a national news? Now the whole social media will be on them. Now the peer pressure will be on the kids. Second..the article withheld quite a fair bit of info. No mentioning of job title. No mentioning of car driven. No mention of size of housing. No mentioning of monthly sp bill. A bold headline median income need help on national paper. Really shaking my head. the article is about the budget lah, after the story they talk about what the people wants in this year budget, and continue to talk about healthcare, education, etc. which is the topic in every year budget. Why they choose this family and not the low income, now start to focus on middle income group. Edited February 14, 2018 by Jman888 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showster Twincharged February 14, 2018 Share February 14, 2018 (edited) Thanks for clarifying. Even then, children at those stages also fall sick easily. School fees, pocket money etc all not added. Nonetheless, even at 8K (after reduction), add in CPF contribution of $1200, what's left is not much ground to navigate? Regarding the housing, I just parked a figure there. Nonetheless, assuming a 5-rm HDB at half a million with 400K loan, the outlay is still around $1,800 per month for 2.6% HDB interest rate. Given that the monthly CPF amount deposited in OA is probably $1200, the cash outlay for single income worker is still $600. So will depend on how much the wife's part time pay is to help support. Edited February 14, 2018 by Showster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic February 14, 2018 Share February 14, 2018 Basic Medical 1500 Helper 1000 Parents/gifts 1000 Car 1500 Tax 500 Insurance 1000 Groceries / household 1000 Mortgage 2500 (top up $500 cash after deducting CPF) Enrichment and/or childcare 1000-3000 (or even more) Bills (HP, internet, electricity and water): 300-500 Already more than $10,000 after cut here and there. Optional Religion / donation 1000 Travel 500 Eating out / cosmetics (basic) / clothes (replacement) 200 T2 is correct. Really getting tough to bring up family here. No double income very hard to play. bro.....if i am a parent and knowing my children or their spouses has such a condition i will kick my own behind if i have the thought of accepting their money. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic February 14, 2018 Share February 14, 2018 wah.... i should know right? i struggle to make 4 digits a month... usually only high 3 digits life is tough indeed... yes peasants need more handouts from ah gong esp those with big families Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic February 14, 2018 Share February 14, 2018 I did said. Go down the avenue of polyclinic for medication definitely cheaper than her current.. Think polyclinics and hospital only provide subsidised standard drugs. Anything that is non-standard you pay full price. And the standard meds are all generic. the article is about the budget lah, after the story they talk about what the people wants in this year budget, and continue to talk about healthcare, education, etc. which is the topic in every year budget. Why they choose this family and not the low income, now start to focus on middle income group. Maybe because Budget will whack the high income a lot, and middle income not so much. Hence this article is to set the stage to tell us middle income group is also having it tough 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic February 14, 2018 Share February 14, 2018 wah so many talk down on this 5 digit monthly income family you guys must be earning 6 digit monthly income or more type 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic February 14, 2018 Share February 14, 2018 $99,000 per month is 5 figure $10,000 per month is 5 figure. Go figure! That's true... But for the purpose of this discussion, I think everyone is just assuming that the income is around 10k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic February 14, 2018 Share February 14, 2018 the article is about the budget lah, after the story they talk about what the people wants in this year budget, and continue to talk about healthcare, education, etc. which is the topic in every year budget. Why they choose this family and not the low income, now start to focus on middle income group. very scare they give one chicken wing, but take back one whole chicken ! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic February 14, 2018 Share February 14, 2018 wah so many talk down on this 5 digit monthly income family you guys must be earning 6 digit monthly income or more type Sifu. My response is from the perspective of someone who is spending way less than them - that's why I know it is possible. Of course, my kid hasn't reached "tuition" age yet la. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chongster 6th Gear February 14, 2018 Share February 14, 2018 The woman in the story has a heart transplant at 37 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic February 14, 2018 Share February 14, 2018 wah so many talk down on this 5 digit monthly income family you guys must be earning 6 digit monthly income or more type Yes with decimal point. Happy? 900.00 pm. Ok need to start work now. Other my five figure 999.99 pm salary also gone with the wind.. Some of you already stop work. Good life. Me still have to slaugh it out..government please help me.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic February 14, 2018 Share February 14, 2018 The woman in the story has a heart transplant at 37 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...