Would u buy a car without test drive?

Soya

Don't think it's a good idea to buy without testing. Aside from all the tangible factors, many considerations are really not something that can be put on paper.

Especially if budget permits, I believe even to test different variants to see if they are worth the difference.

I will test drive all the cars I am considering before choosing the one that match all my criteria the best. So I will test drive several cars without buying, and if buying, sure must test drive. Handling is one of my criteria. But I suppose for some, look nice can already.

On 1/26/2018 at 2:56 AM, andrewyewkc said:

I will test drive all the cars I am considering before choosing the one that match all my criteria the best. So I will test drive several cars without buying, and if buying, sure must test drive. Handling is one of my criteria. But I suppose for some, look nice can already.

yeah sometimes it's also the relativity of the new car to your current car.

mazdas are generally known to have a nice direct steering feel for a B&B car. But if u driven the mz6 before, then u realise that mz3 in that aspect, is significantly inferior. 

On 1/26/2018 at 2:56 AM, andrewyewkc said:

Ya, I agree. Test drive those models you have shortlisted and choose the best that suits your needs most.

But hor, I am very weird one. Go sign dotted line on the car that is not launched in Singapore yet and then while waiting for the car to arrive, I go and test drive those cars that I have shortlisted.

On 1/26/2018 at 4:29 AM, Lala81 said:

yeah sometimes it's also the relativity of the new car to your current car.

mazdas are generally known to have a nice direct steering feel for a B&B car. But if u driven the mz6 before, then u realise that mz3 in that aspect, is significantly inferior. 

You are right, I test drove the Mz6 Wagon and it was amazingly better than my then conti car. 

On 1/26/2018 at 4:36 AM, DACH said:

Ya, I agree. Test drive those models you have shortlisted and choose the best that suits your needs most.

But hor, I am very weird one. Go sign dotted line on the car that is not launched in Singapore yet and then while waiting for the car to arrive, I go and test drive those cars that I have shortlisted.

On 1/25/2018 at 12:52 AM, Vinceng said:

New car is also advisable to test drive. Had a friend who purchased a Nissan Note without test driving, and later regretted as it was his 1st time driving a CVT and he could not tolerate the CVT whining and rubber band effect. He felt like the gear kept slipping. Sold it after 6 months at a huge loss.

my first car, MT swiss pork, no test drive. no regret.

2nd car, FXT. went to test drive as it is a CVT. Din really like it back then, still don't like it now. But at least I know what I'm getting into after the downpayment. Personally, test drive are impt esp in SG where cars are expensive. Things I find out from test drive are steering feel (weight), body roll, blind spot, suspension setup and brakes. No need to push the car to the limit to test all these.

Looks like many here spend the second most expensive purchase without test drive.

My only problem with buying without test drive is this.

IF somehow becomes a Lemon case. Would the judge ask the question of at the point of purchase, did you validate / understand that the sound is inherent ?

I also buy without test drive and without shopping around too

just go to AD, tell them the model, pick a colour and sign a cheque

On 1/26/2018 at 6:56 AM, Tiger1 said:

Let me be cheeky a bit. Would u marry without a "test drive"? My wife said this to me. ð¤£

I think many many arranged marriages stood the test of time! I doubt this is a good example! :D
  On 1/26/2018 at 10:57 AM, Phang said:

I also buy without test drive and without shopping around too

just go to AD, tell them the model, pick a colour and sign a cheque

My parents good friend better still. He doesn’t test drive and the salesman brings the document to sign for booking and delivers the new car and exchanges with the old Car at his place. Has been doing it from a few toyota to a few Lexus.

  On 1/26/2018 at 11:26 AM, Mkl22 said:

I think many many arranged marriages stood the test of time! I doubt this is a good example! :D

My parents good friend better still. He doesnât test drive and the salesman brings the document to sign for booking and delivers the new car and exchanges with the old Car at his place. Has been doing it from a few toyota to a few Lexus.

when I bought our Hyundai Getz in 2004, they drove the new car to my office carpark to handover to me and collected the trade in car after that

On 1/26/2018 at 11:35 AM, Phang said:

when I bought our Hyundai Getz in 2004, they drove the new car to my office carpark to handover to me and collected the trade in car after that

But you still test drove and signed the documents in the showroom right?

  On 1/26/2018 at 11:44 AM, Mkl22 said:

But you still test drove and signed the documents in the showroom right?

No test drive but signed the documents in the showroom

my Taiwanese friend told me, if you buy a Merc in Taiwan, even a lower end model, the sales guy will bring along a technical guy to meet you at any time any place at your convenience, answering your questions, as many times as you like. If you want test drive, they will drive the car to you place.

you only need to go to the showroom when collecting your car as they have a special room for the 'ceremony'

it's like a mini party, your wife will get a flower banquet, your kids will get expensive ice cream and balloons and light refreshment will be served. Again, both sales guy and technical guy will be there to show you the car and answering your questions. Anything lesser people will bang table online kpkb say no service...

On 1/26/2018 at 12:00 PM, Phang said:

my Taiwanese friend told me, if you buy a Merc in Taiwan, even a lower end model, the sales guy will bring along a technical guy to meet you at any time any place at your convenience, answering your questions, as many times as you like. If you want test drive, they will drive the car to you place.

you only need to go to the showroom when collecting your car as they have a special room for the 'ceremony'

it's like a mini party, your wife will get a flower banquet, your kids will get expensive ice cream and balloons and light refreshment will be served. Again, both sales guy and technical guy will be there to show you the car and answering your questions. Anything lesser people will bang table online kpkb say no service...

Here only Falali level then got like that.

The party cost is nothing compared to what you need to pay to fix Merc in a few years, according to Scotty:

Edited by Nicholas

On 1/26/2018 at 3:24 PM, Benarsenal said:

Here only Falali level then got like that.

I think VW high end model also got a short film or sort before collection.

A big see through glass room with sofa in the centre. Projector showing the car technical stuffs.

I was there for VW free coffee so know that guy was collecting a new car. Don't know what model..Didn't bother

Lexus got free chicken...

Edited by Kopites

On 1/24/2018 at 2:32 AM, Mkl22 said:

if one is the seller and your car is somewhat special. would you allow every tom dick and harry to test drive, if they come and view the car?

That is quite true, when i sold a car to a direct buyer some time ago, and i also didnt allow test drive unless they put down a deposit and signed an idemnity to pay for damages without tapping on my insurance, because my car insurance doesn't cover un-named drivers. No one did that, too many joy-riders.

End up, the eventual buyer just asked me to send a workshop of his choice, a fairly well known one at thomson area, and bought it when the car got a clean bill of health after an afternoon of checks. Sold without test drive.

For the same car, i bought it without testdrive, because it was PI and there was simply no testdrive available. Worked out ok but it might be a risk some are not willing to take. In fact, i bought most of my cars so far without test drive.

My only regret(albeit rather minor) not taking test drive is the first used car i ever bought, had such numb and sanitised steering for a supposed ultimate driving machine. It cleared inspection at the car agent nicely so its 'normal'.

in SG, as long as got car to collect and dealer dont run away with your money then can arm chio already