VICOM / STA sticker

SGCMHello

On 8/13/2024 at 11:56 PM, Gnahp said:

the last time I went STA Sin Ming, the guy said front window glasses too dark

it was huper optik flim by C&C

I told him the inspection before no issue

he said solar film will turn dark over time under the sun

I said I only know people skin will turn dark under the sun, everything else will fade under the sun

he said if I can peel it off on the spot, he will let me pass

then show me - "your choice" face

I left, drove to Vicom nearby and passed

same solar film same day, two different sets of equipment, which one is not calibrated? Vicom or STA?

Means you paid twice for your inspection ah? Although i heard people say vicom more strict than STA, but i only go to vicom, never go to STA.

On 8/13/2024 at 11:17 PM, Gnahp said:

I sent my wife's car for inspection yesterday

I thought I kept an eagle eye on the car during the last two stations

didn't see anyone act suspiciously at the back of the car 

today I was shock to see that #$*@#@ "Vicom Tested" sticker on the rear windscreen 

either

1. they are so confident with the car, pasted a pass sticker before it completed all the tests

2. vicom sent their guy to my place in the middle of the night to paste that sticker

next round I want to lock my eyes on the back of the car from the first station to the last one, without blinking

Next time LTA stop you,can show them the Sticker,Vicom Tested...so comfirm Car is Legal,Tell the Officer,so don't waste my Time.

On 8/14/2024 at 6:44 AM, 13177 said:

Means you paid twice for your inspection ah? Although i heard people say vicom more strict than STA, but i only go to vicom, never go to STA.

yes, I paid twice within 30 minutes 

1. augue and bang table with STA

2. peel away the solar film on the spot like a clown 

3. pay to get another inspection at Vicom nearby

option 3 easier to swallow for me

On 8/14/2024 at 7:12 AM, ER-3682 said:

Next time LTA stop you,can show them the Sticker,Vicom Tested...so comfirm Car is Legal,Tell the Officer,so don't waste my Time.

walao...

now inspection centre don't even issue that thick paper certificate 

LTA also do away with road tax paper disc

the sole reason for that 'VICOM Tested'  sticker is advertising, a free (to them) and unsolicited one

I said I only know people skin will turn dark under the sun, everything else will fade under the sun

same solar film same day, two different sets of equipment, which one is not calibrated? Vicom or STA?

but then u still need to pay another inspection fee? Easily $70++

Edited by Dafansu

On 8/14/2024 at 9:33 AM, Raychay said:

People say don't go to centres near LTA or TP 🙊

My cars all stock, not scared. But still one champion pinoy wanna find fault. Knn

• Angry 1

Had a MRS with aftermarket exos.  Vicom asked the exos cert.

Told them to check their own system.

LLST still pass inspection on year 9

Recently went for car inspection...ulu one during lunch time...boh chia boh lang...needed to self help make payment...then cum a technician...took over the car key...i look see look see some faded posters along the way to the bench at the end zone...less than 3 mins later i started to surf mcf...clicked on a few likes in makan thread...wanted to watch some self skidded or self pawned beedeos in the ever popular thread in mcf...before i could click play on the first beedeo..."好了, 巴士” 😂

On 8/14/2024 at 12:29 PM, Mkl22 said:

My cars all stock, not scared. But still one champion pinoy wanna find fault. Knn

Reminds me of 1 incident when my friend drove his auto wrx for inspection. 

The pinoy inspector says my friend changed gearbox as there's no wrx automatic!

Pinoy inspector? They treat owners like smugglers. Shine torch at every light bulb, etc

On 8/14/2024 at 3:15 PM, Kklim said:

Pinoy inspector? They treat owners like smugglers. Shine torch at every light bulb, etc

young Malaysian guy

I got picked by Pinoy inspector at another STA inspection centre for my motorcycles

On 8/14/2024 at 9:18 AM, Gnahp said:

yes, I paid twice within 30 minutes 

1. augue and bang table with STA

2. peel away the solar film on the spot like a clown 

3. pay to get another inspection at Vicom nearby

option 3 easier to swallow for me

need to pay again? i was told to reinspect at any centre. Show them the letter and no need to pay again. 

5th Gear
On 8/14/2024 at 1:48 AM, Gnahp said:

my bazi (chinese astrology thingy) clashes with vehicle inspection centres 

I really hate going there 

ironically, I need to go vehicle inspection centres more often than average motorists 

my wife disagree, she said it is because I have a guai lan face

Well you know they say, the wife is always right - I've got some bad news man...

5th Gear
On 8/14/2024 at 3:09 PM, Raychay said:

Reminds me of 1 incident when my friend drove his auto wrx for inspection. 

The pinoy inspector says my friend changed gearbox as there's no wrx automatic!

Is the Philippines even known to have skilled labour in cars? Why do we import them to work in vehicles? 

Would expect Thais (many car manufacturers and vibrant car scenes) and even Viets to be more skilled in this area.

On 8/14/2024 at 3:15 PM, Kklim said:

Liddat...? 😁

from-beijing-with-love-02-1.jpg

On 8/14/2024 at 8:23 PM, 107fan said:

Is the Philippines even known to have skilled labour in cars? Why do we import them to work in vehicles? 

Would expect Thais (many car manufacturers and vibrant car scenes) and even Viets to be more skilled in this area.

Viets and Thais cannot write a fancy resume with embellishments.

How to get a job here?