COE direction for 2018

SGCMHello

On 1/18/2018 at 3:29 PM, SGCMHello said:

Where do you think COE is heading?

Reasons for COE to come down:

- Grab, Uber has stopped expanding.

- Comfort and Uber tie up may get rid of surplus cars

- taxi companies have many taxi that no driver is renting

- 2008; 2009 huge batch of cars are due for scrap.

- people switching to uber/grab, and new MRT lines.

- 1 rocket from N Korea to US will bring down COE, but increase Oil & Gold price.

- And where have the buyers gone? A motor show and CNY did not push COE up, surprising.

Reasons for COE to go up:

- zero car growth starts in Feb

- more stringent VES in Jun 2018 making cars more expensive

- global and local economic growth forecasted for 2018

- strong stock market. COE & stock market are correlated if u hv not realised.

- Trump is pro business, bode well for global economy.

- Enbloc fever is turning Thousands of households into millionaires. Once these households get the $, a portion of them will upgrade/buy etc.

Where do u think car prices are heading ? ð¤

I think there are two points that need to be interchanged. 2008/2009 cars due and VES surcharge.
  On 1/19/2018 at 8:36 AM, Davidtch said:

To build more roads, it means more land to be acquired. It means that Singapore is going to lose more of its green lung.

To build underground road, it mean more $$$ required to built and maintain these road. It does not make sense at all.

On the other hand, MRT can take higher passenger load as compare to cars. Our problem with MRT is corporate culture of certain operator.

With more cars, it means that more car park required.

Currently, CBD seasons car park already 600/mth. Are we looking at 1k/mth like HK?

For HDB car park, are we ready to pay 300/mth if number of cars continue to grow?

You wrong to say that subway is more feasible than driving because of great distance. In Beijing peak hours, roads are choke. Subways is also full of ppl.

How long does it take you to drive from Tuas to Changi during peak hour?

My Beijing colleague staying in the west takes 3.5hour to drive the same length as Tuas to Changi to work.

On the other hand, she save 1 hour by taking subway + shuttle bus.

Depending on your beijing colleague's time of driving and if mrt breaks down or not i guess.

On 1/19/2018 at 6:38 AM, DACH said:

Ask yourself, why locals are not producing enough?

What are the problems?

High costs of living, stressful working environment, national service, etc.

Have the govt really looked at these root problems and tackle the problem with proper solutions?

In fact, high costs of living has always been the main concern. However people are still constantly taxed at almost every thing, and things becomes worse when the current generation of govt is overspending, and overspending on unnecessary things. If there is such a big amount overspent for the past decade, why do the people still paying more taxes and bear the burden of relentless increase cost of living ?

Nod Nod.
  On 1/19/2018 at 6:40 AM, Heman75 said:

example all the PG card now , free medical , who pay ? tax payers money..

all the susidise things that you are entitled when you are old ... all come from tax payer money.. i pay tax so i also support u lor.

I don't pay income tax so not supporting anyone here. Hahahaha

Slap...myself. I did paid gst. I proudly declare I am supporting the greying Singaporean.

On 1/19/2018 at 6:43 AM, Enye said:

eh hallo...pg card is for current old people meeting the age requirements

not extended to future old people you know or not?

[:/]

Pioneer card. You need to be born before certain year. My mum got one. Not free medical. She still paid at subsidized rate at poly clinic. Edited by Kopites

On 1/20/2018 at 1:26 AM, Kopites said:

Nod Nod.

I don't pay income tax so not supporting anyone here. Hahahaha

Slap...myself. I did paid gst. I proudly declare I am supporting the greying Singaporean.

Pioneer card. You need to be born before certain year. My mum got one. Not free medical. She still paid at subsidized rate at poly clinic.

elite spotted...

On 1/19/2018 at 6:38 AM, DACH said:

Ask yourself, why locals are not producing enough?

What are the problems?

Have the govt really looked at these root problems and tackle the problem with proper solutions?

In fact, high costs of living has always been the main concern. However people are still constantly taxed at almost every thing, and things becomes worse when the current generation of govt is overspending, and overspending on unnecessary things. If there is such a big amount overspent for the past decade, why do the people still paying more taxes and bear the burden of relentless increase cost of living ?

Why not producing enough? Ask LKY. He said two enough. More the bread not enough to share around.

Later produce more if you are graduate. Otherwise....

Remember those trailer on MSN. Mindset already sit deep in every singapore family. To change the Mindset the government need to re-educate the whole nation. Government will take care of every Singaporean from young till old. Don't worry go has sex and make baby. Hahaha see how the nation response.

On a serious note. Give should tap on the reserve to lower the cost of living. Reducing the strest level from education to career. I am sure more of us would make more babies.

On 1/19/2018 at 6:44 AM, Heman75 said:

actually singapore high cost meh?

those really not giving birth are mainly those white collar worker.

those blue one still giving birth

i dont think singapore high cost lor .. you still get 2sgd rice. you still get cheap education.

we dont have to drive dont have to go holiday.

stressful work environment? depend how u manage.

national service .. i think is good..

sinagporean like me too are more KS la.

Very subjective to say spore not a high cost society.
  On 1/19/2018 at 7:34 AM, Khng8 said:

OT alert!

When we say tap the reserves, are we tapping the capital or just the interests/ earnings from the reserves?

Do we know how much is the reserves that stopped us from tapping more?

I think we need to have more information to have a meaningful discussion.

President Halimah will check. Font worry. She is very competent and serve Singaporean at her heart.

Can someone enlighten me does it make sense about what my friend said - OR he anyhow whack 

________________________________________________________________________________

A friend told me, since I bought my Mercedes 3 years ago at COE $72k.  I should sell now and buy new one at current low COE , which is only $42k.  

For this reason, I might earn or better deal , or whatever he said that to me don't seem to make sense  hence asking here .... is there any logic to his saying

On 1/20/2018 at 3:35 AM, Innocuous said:

Can someone enlighten me does it make sense about what my friend said - OR he anyhow whack

________________________________________________________________________________

A friend told me, since I bought my Mercedes 3 years ago at COE $72k. I should sell now and buy new one at current low COE , which is only $42k.

For this reason, I might earn or better deal , or whatever he said that to me don't seem to make sense hence asking here .... is there any logic to his saying

calculate the total depreciation for both your current car based on trade in value and new car based on price over 10 years to see if it is logical

assuming the new car considered is similar to your current one

A friend told me, since I bought my Mercedes 3 years ago at COE $72k.  I should sell now and buy new one at current low COE , which is only $42k.  

For this reason, I might earn or better deal , or whatever he said that to me don't seem to make sense  hence asking here .... is there any logic to his saying

if yearly depre of new car is lower than your current car then it makes sense. but also depends on what you can get for selling your current car at this time. looking at the depre, people may rather buy new car than buy your car. 

On 1/20/2018 at 3:55 AM, Enye said:

calculate the total depreciation for both your current car based on trade in value and new car based on price over 10 years to see if it is logical

assuming the new car considered is similar to your current one

Edited by Heman75

the only logic i know is buy low sell high then make money.. so you think he make sense.

On 1/20/2018 at 4:50 AM, Acewin said:

Can I know which estate is that?

U go Pandan hawker centre 

Everything is still $2 

Wanton 

laska 

Fish ball , 

Prawn mee 

A friend told me, since I bought my Mercedes 3 years ago at COE $72k. I should sell now and buy new one at current low COE , which is only $42k.

For this reason, I might earn or better deal , or whatever he said that to me don't seem to make sense hence asking here .... is there any logic to his saying

Your friend is trying to say: The moment a new car depreciation (an equivalent new car) matches your current car depreciation, you quickly go and change to new car. Since you gonna incur the same depreciation with a new car, why bother to hold on to your current car.

For New car, u get free servicing, nothing spoil, fuel more efficient, can smell leather, 10yrs life span start all over again etc etc.

And my suggestion is to do it before next COE bidding. If u belong to the group who think COE will continue to slide, then u wait. But don’t just wait at home, go to showroom to get a feel of the crowd b4 deciding if u should wait.

You can calculate your annual depreciation for old car and compare with the annual depreciation for new car.

And gauge whether you wish to continue driving 7 years later. If plan to, it may be worth getting new COE with lower depreciation.

On 1/20/2018 at 4:09 AM, Heman75 said:

it doesnt make sense one.. the reason being very simple... CnC will take your car at below market rate making this whole this whole thing senseless.

i am in the exact same situation as him.

our 3 yrs old E200 now depreciation is about 20k/yr although our coe is 70k. that is assume you drive full 10yrs

if you trade in now. they will only take your car at 120-130kmax.. meaning within the 3 yrs the depreciation is 30+k/yr

then the new E200 depreciation is around 21k/yr coe at 40+k

issit it LPPL

it only make sense when your car market value is below paper value which maybe into the 6-7years. then deregister and export.

when sales person tell me i will analyse to him then keep quiet. but if you are into and like new things then this shouldnt be the concern

U r right.

Every sentence.

On 1/20/2018 at 4:09 AM, Heman75 said:

it doesnt make sense one.. the reason being very simple... CnC will take your car at below market rate making this whole this whole thing senseless.

i am in the exact same situation as him.

our 3 yrs old E200 now depreciation is about 20k/yr although our coe is 70k. that is assume you drive full 10yrs

if you trade in now. they will only take your car at 120-130kmax.. meaning within the 3 yrs the depreciation is 30+k/yr

then the new E200 depreciation is around 21k/yr coe at 40+k

issit it LPPL

it only make sense when your car market value is below paper value which maybe into the 6-7years. then deregister and export.

when sales person tell me i will analyse to him then keep quiet. but if you are into and like new things then this shouldnt be the concern

let people figure it out for themselves then they will be convinced

don’t always spoon feed

On 1/20/2018 at 7:23 AM, Showster said:

You can calculate your annual depreciation for old car and compare with the annual depreciation for new car.

And gauge whether you wish to continue driving 7 years later. If plan to, it may be worth getting new COE with lower depreciation.

I like your tone of replied.  

It sounded objective, neutral and with a sense of respect "to each his own" . 

When my friend told me about such deal, at the back of my head I already ruled out that it doesn't make sense, thus the degree of truth to it is yet to be proven.

I share my thoughts here and my suspicious is proven 

Thanks again 

On 1/20/2018 at 7:53 AM, Enye said:

let people figure it out for themselves then they will be convinced

donât always spoon feed

ð

Haha . You so mean . Ppl don't know so asking for advise . Don't want him to be con . We are all a helpful bunch of mcfer.
  On 1/20/2018 at 7:49 AM, Friendstar said:

U r right.

Every sentence.

Thank you . Why no praise ? Hahah Edited by Heman75