DACH Supersonic December 26, 2017 Share December 26, 2017 On 12/26/2017 at 2:34 AM, Totak said: I travel this route everyday to town. It helps abit to ease the jam during peak hours... but the users must know to give away to. Just this morning, was almost had an accident with a lorry during the 1st merging. Lorry, I think ok. But very scared of motorbikes when driving into these merging lanes. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terrylmt Supercharged December 26, 2017 Share December 26, 2017 I think that particular stretch of road was designed specially to allow for better traffic flow. Having it split out into more lanes at the traffic junction means that faster moving vehicles can take the right side lane and then overtake slower moving vehicles safely, without taking risk in the unidirectional dual-carriageways, i.e. two lanes road, with each lane going in differing directions. However, the problem we face is that the slow-moving vehicles also hog the right lanes (a.k.a. "buay zi dong") and hence, congestion persists. So it's not only the roads that need to improved, but the driver mentality & mindsets as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gizmore Supercharged December 26, 2017 Share December 26, 2017 Actually the problem with merging is that SG drivers don't know when and how to give way to merge smoothly. More often than not, drivers squeeze all the way when the Lane has been merged into a single lane. It is such squeeze mentality that leads to accident, last minute slow down in order to merge and reduce the speed of traffic. I have encounter with drivers who know how to form up properly merge properly and i only have to make minor speed adjustment to position my car to merge. The real idiots are those who chiong from behind and go all the way to the front to squeeze and merge causing slow down due to braking to avoid side swipe. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Griever 2nd Gear December 26, 2017 Share December 26, 2017 Side swipe....transformer... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged December 26, 2017 Share December 26, 2017 i just wonder... why some expressway on entering its merge into 1 lane and some is maintain 2 lanes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic December 26, 2017 Share December 26, 2017 On 12/26/2017 at 5:56 AM, SuPerBoRed said: i just wonder... why some expressway on entering its merge into 1 lane and some is maintain 2 lanes The road from the merging lanes into the expressway may be a main road and busy road. They do not want to cause a jam in the busy road if there is only one merging lane into the expressway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged December 26, 2017 Share December 26, 2017 Like Federal Highways in Malaysia. On 12/26/2017 at 1:25 AM, Unfair said: Actually, these lanes are similar to other countries where one lane will split into 2 to allow faster cars to overtake before merging back. Otherwise everyone will be stuck behind a slow vehicle. Its just that in SG, alot of drivers dont have proper etiquette and you see slow goods vehicles on every possible lane as TP is not doing anything about it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear December 26, 2017 Author Share December 26, 2017 I am ok towards the city. But towards Hougang damn messy. On 12/26/2017 at 3:00 AM, Yewheng said: No La, got space constrain also. I believe that for the upper Serangoon road, they also want to have 4 lane road all the way to the flyover. However there is caster of houses and building and I believe they can't expend anymore.This road the merge and unmerge did clear up a bit of jam especially during peak hours. Just be abit more careful lor. The last merge at upper Serangoon road towards city is very interesting. As it merge at the last and 2nd last lane where I feel the merge will be safer if it is redraw to merge at 2nd and 3rd lane. Esp Jaybee bikes. On 12/26/2017 at 4:39 AM, DACH said: Lorry, I think ok. But very scared of motorbikes when driving into these merging lanes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
weekiat572 2nd Gear December 26, 2017 Share December 26, 2017 On 12/25/2017 at 9:45 AM, Scion said: Woodlands Ave 1 also quite baffling there are now many speed stripes and elevated humps installed on that road Ya , wonder whose bright idea to install those strips n humps ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
alex976 5th Gear December 26, 2017 Share December 26, 2017 (edited) As an engineer working for a LTA Contractor in the past, I can tell you that those talent or scholar whom we gonna increase GST to continue to sustain them are quite idiotic de. The carriage way design are not even propose by them de, they smarter they outsource to traffic consultant de. Most of the time, these consultants can outsmart out LTA scholars cos the LTA genius all duno anything de. They are like machiam atas post man. IF you ask why the traffic studies not done by LTA, simple LTA will say we outsource. all our LTA scholars very atas de, dont go to site and do traffic studies all sit inside office and send email to "shoot people". For contractor to do anything, these scholars will tell us. Please kindly get your traffic consultant to propose and then we will vet thru. The vetting nt properly done most of the time. As long as the traffic consultant put his head out and endorse. Nobody cares de until gt major accident gt people die and MP bang table then they wake up. So my brothers and sisters, we cant do anything and jus complain here Edited December 26, 2017 by alex976 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged December 26, 2017 Share December 26, 2017 On 12/26/2017 at 5:21 AM, Gizmore said: Actually the problem with merging is that SG drivers don't know when and how to give way to merge smoothly. More often than not, drivers squeeze all the way when the Lane has been merged into a single lane. It is such squeeze mentality that leads to accident, last minute slow down in order to merge and reduce the speed of traffic. I have encounter with drivers who know how to form up properly merge properly and i only have to make minor speed adjustment to position my car to merge. The real idiots are those who chiong from behind and go all the way to the front to squeeze and merge causing slow down due to braking to avoid side swipe. Agree. I find the merging will be pretty seamless if other drivers allow who ever is ahead of them get into the lane 1st. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged December 26, 2017 Share December 26, 2017 On 12/26/2017 at 8:16 AM, alex976 said: As an engineer working for a LTA Contractor in the past, I can tell you that those talent or scholar whom we gonna increase GST to continue to sustain them are quite idiotic de. The carriage way design are not even propose by them de, they smarter they outsource to traffic consultant de. Most of the time, these consultants can outsmart out LTA scholars cos the LTA genius all duno anything de. They are like machiam atas post man. IF you ask why the traffic studies not done by LTA, simple LTA will say we outsource. all our LTA scholars very atas de, dont go to site and do traffic studies all sit inside office and send email to "shoot people". For contractor to do anything, these scholars will tell us. Please kindly get your traffic consultant to propose and then we will vet thru. The vetting nt properly done most of the time. As long as the traffic consultant put his head out and endorse. Nobody cares de until gt major accident gt people die and MP bang table then they wake up. So my brothers and sisters, we cant do anything and jus complain here Like that why we still need lta scholers? Wtf man.. Waste taxpayers money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic December 26, 2017 Share December 26, 2017 On 12/26/2017 at 8:35 AM, Yewheng said: Like that why we still need lta scholers? Wtf man.. Waste taxpayers money. If you don't have them, who will approve the work done by the external contractors? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged December 26, 2017 Share December 26, 2017 On 12/26/2017 at 5:56 AM, SuPerBoRed said: i just wonder... why some expressway on entering its merge into 1 lane and some is maintain 2 lanes SLE, Woodlands Ave 12 to Woodlands Ave 2. The exit merging lane into SLE from Ave 12 is very long, yet the entry to Ave 2 is a very short distance away (less than 100m). Like that WTF you merge in for? Just make it one lane all the way lah! (Like on the opposite direction from Ave 2 to Ave 12) You end up seeing a lot of blur drivers entering the exit merge lane thinking it's going to Ave 2, but then kena fooled and have to merge in again. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
alex976 5th Gear December 26, 2017 Share December 26, 2017 On 12/26/2017 at 8:35 AM, Yewheng said: Like that why we still need lta scholers? Wtf man.. Waste taxpayers money. You ask the govt lor. All like high class post man liddat. LTA tender spec all like to put need 5 years, 10 years, 15 years experience personnel from the contractor. Budden the LTA project officer is fresh from Uni or the whole life is LTA de. How to guide the contractor and make decision with no experience. All jus wanna siam then siam. LTA perks is gao gao de. go home early and sleep de. Holiday eve all half days cos they like to declare team cohesio Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged December 26, 2017 Share December 26, 2017 (edited) On 12/26/2017 at 8:54 AM, Benarsenal said: SLE, Woodlands Ave 12 to Woodlands Ave 2. The exit merging lane into SLE from Ave 12 is very long, yet the entry to Ave 2 is a very short distance away (less than 100m). Like that WTF you merge in for? Just make it one lane all the way lah! (Like on the opposite direction from Ave 2 to Ave 12) You end up seeing a lot of blur drivers entering the exit merge lane thinking it's going to Ave 2, but then kena fooled and have to merge in again. Another one is mandai up sle to bke direction. Those enter from mandai to sle, most of them will be going to enter bke during morning peak hours. Don't know why LTA don't want to improve that area from sle mandai to bke exit. Can see that cars need to filter out and drive for about close to 1km got to filter in again. This cause congestion at that stretch. Why not follow the cte ang mo kio ave 1 entrance where those enter from ang mo kio ave 3 no need to filter out and then filter in to exit ang mo kio ave 1 as there is a lane all the way do to the next exit. Another good example to follow will be the pie to bke exit. That one got extra 2 lanes from very far from Adam side already start. So many cars from pie want to enter to bke will have ample time to filter to Last 2 lane and then exit to bke. This clear up quite a lot of peak hours jam. Lta should also study and consider it to the sle to bke exit too. Edited December 26, 2017 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic December 26, 2017 Share December 26, 2017 i will eat my popcorn and watch the next major screw up. GNSS ERP!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged December 26, 2017 Share December 26, 2017 (edited) On 12/26/2017 at 8:54 AM, Benarsenal said: SLE, Woodlands Ave 12 to Woodlands Ave 2. The exit merging lane into SLE from Ave 12 is very long, yet the entry to Ave 2 is a very short distance away (less than 100m). Like that WTF you merge in for? Just make it one lane all the way lah! (Like on the opposite direction from Ave 2 to Ave 12) You end up seeing a lot of blur drivers entering the exit merge lane thinking it's going to Ave 2, but then kena fooled and have to merge in again. yes this one is weird as is the bke one Edited December 26, 2017 by Karoon ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...