Is it weird to add a stranger in What'sApp groupchat?

DACH

haha i think @dach feels more comfortable about us strangers than the new guy just added into his whatsapp chat...

Forum and what'sapp chat group are very different.

Forum is a public domain open to everyone in the public.

Chat groups depends on the relationship between the parties, how close and how private things are exchanged.

That's why have those car chat groups of certain models that can do more relevant exchanges. 

Hi all,

Just came across a situation in a What'sApp group.

Actually there is this What'sApp group in my What'sApp of the group of friends in secondary school which we have been in contact since after leaving secondary school. There is also a friend we have been together since tertiary school but not from the same secondary school. We created this What'sApp group since the day What'sApp can allow group chats and we have been talking cock and many personal things since then for years.

Suddenly yesterday the group admin suddenly added one of the ex-secondary school mate that most of us are not even classmates with or known of and do not even know or talk to in the secondary school times. One of my friends even told me personally that he do not know who is this person even we all are from the same secondary school. He say with the presence of this newly added stranger, it is better not to talk about personal things among those in the group chat for years, since most of us do not know him and have not realy get contact with him since after secondary school.

This probably makes sense. Should we just remove this person from the group chat and create a new group chat with this new person? Or should we create a new group chat with our own circle of people and rename the existing one and let it run by another group chat itself?

KNN lah

First world problem

Or...

This is so true.

I remember in 2008 before Whatsapp all of us in a meeting and on MSN

criticizing the leader of the meeting about their stupid ideas but no one

can actually say it out loud.   :a-bang:

And the director being criticised was called Bull dog face,

Edited by Jamesc

Speaking about Whatsapp group..

Is there any way to prevent certain country, keyword or numbers from adding us?

Many times some illegal moneylender add u to a group then remove u.

Most of the time is from a fake +85 something.

Hmmmm I never hv

U been a baaad boy haaaa

hmm never kena before, but do receive unsolicited whatsapp messages from random numbers advertising about tuition... i will then block the sender.

Just block lor.

I'll just block them.

Don't reply to them.

Just ask the stranger to join your next meetup, talk to him, get to know about him and bond. No longer stranger. End of story.

must go to bed together for further bonding a not

hmm never kena before, but do receive unsolicited whatsapp messages from random numbers advertising about tuition... i will then block the sender.

Think wechat is worse in spam

Just ask the stranger to join your next meetup, talk to him, get to know about him and bond. No longer stranger. End of story.

That's possible but the whatsapp group is for long time/old friends with relationships spanning decades. 4 years of secondary school means seeing the same chaps daily for 250 days a year for 4 years leh.

This kind of relationship is not something that a meetup or two can create.

That's possible but the whatsapp group is for long time/old friends with relationships spanning decades. 4 years of secondary school means seeing the same chaps daily for 250 days a year for 4 years leh.

This kind of relationship is not something that a meetup or two can create.

For me I chin chye coz it doesn't really bother me. It's the stranger who will feel alienated. If really got to question it's the admin team in charge who are to question. Surely they have a reason to let him in. Even if no good reason...just chill, can chat can already.

Why not ask TS to question his admin team instead?

Yah, i also kanna this. I think it started about 3 yr ago after I went to view a new property launch - but my guess only and can't be confirmed.

Ever since then, got lots of SMS'es, whatsapps and even calls to ask me to borrow money... I block all those that can be blocked, but there are many unlisted numbers whose SMS'es can't be blocked...  [bigcry]

At least for whatsapp, all can be blocked. 

Actually what's the use of adding to a group, and then removing from it huh? 

The authorities, what PDPC and crap, all can't do anything about this type of sh*t...

Yah, i also kanna this. I think it started about 3 yr ago after I went to view a new property launch - but my guess only and can't be confirmed.

Ever since then, got lots of SMS'es, whatsapps and even calls to ask me to borrow money... I block all those that can be blocked, but there are many unlisted numbers whose SMS'es can't be blocked... [bigcry]

At least for whatsapp, all can be blocked.

Actually what's the use of adding to a group, and then removing from it huh?

The authorities, what PDPC and crap, all can't do anything about this type of sh*t...

What they want is to let u have their number.

The number shown on Whatsapp sender is a fake one. Real is inside the message.

Already suggested to Whatsapp to include a feature to filter keywords..

The real culprit is obviously the hands and number inside the message, and the police can't or won't do anything