Electrician lobang?

dcb

Like I said, most likely don't need to do that. Go check if your telephone lines are actually network cables or not first. I have most of the DIY tools you'd need to get it done if you wanna DIY (gotta find them from my storeroom first).

My HDB flat already comes wired with network cable to all power sockets. I am currently tapping on this wired network for my mio tv. But it is not suitable if i wana move my router out of the cabinet to my desired location.

Oh. Then set the router in the cabinet as a bridge. 

Buy a new router (for the bedroom) and connect to the bridge.

I am not sure what is the market rate, I asked one that I found from Gumtree.

they came to take out the 3 old ceiling lights and install the new ones I bought. $40 each light for their service.

but I won't recommend the one I engaged [laugh] they are not that bad but probably 80% of my expectations [sweatdrop]

Mine is first ceiling light $40 and subsequent light S$10 each (for replacing of ceiling light).

He's a Singaporean uncle.

Another useful topic after the aircon one...

My place is coming to 6 yr, and things are reaching the stage where they stop working one by one. sigh...

Those knowledgeable bros here, need some advice:

1) for a 32 year-old flat, is there any pressing or serious need to rewire the whole flat? If wires are 30+ year old, is there any reason why they cannot continue to be used for the next, say, 20 yr?

2) i'm also thinking of changing my current cove lights from energy-saving T5 (i think), to LEDs. Is it really simple plug and play, and just replace the whole tube(s), or the connector, cable needs to be replaced?

3) In 2 bedrooms, we have cove lights (2-3 tubes), plus 2 down lights (energy-saving and on i recall electronic ballast or something - the shops said that will flicker less and so are more recommended for studying, as they will be better for the kids' eyes).

The T5 (again, i think) cove lights had blown a few. I should be able to either buy new ones or change to LED, if not difficult/expensive. But the down lights are all blown, and merely changing the bulbs don't solve the problem. I'm not sure whether the ballasts are the problem, or could it be the wiring (is that likely/possible?)?

tks...

1. I will replace them for a better piece of mind.

2. I just did that. My current T5 bulbs have a different connector to the new LED T5 thats why i was looking for a electrician to help me changed them all.

3. No idea

Another useful topic after the aircon one...

My place is coming to 6 yr, and things are reaching the stage where they stop working one by one. sigh...

Those knowledgeable bros here, need some advice:

1) for a 32 year-old flat, is there any pressing or serious need to rewire the whole flat? If wires are 30+ year old, is there any reason why they cannot continue to be used for the next, say, 20 yr?

2) i'm also thinking of changing my current cove lights from energy-saving T5 (i think), to LEDs. Is it really simple plug and play, and just replace the whole tube(s), or the connector, cable needs to be replaced?

3) In 2 bedrooms, we have cove lights (2-3 tubes), plus 2 down lights (energy-saving and on i recall electronic ballast or something - the shops said that will flicker less and so are more recommended for studying, as they will be better for the kids' eyes).

The T5 (again, i think) cove lights had blown a few. I should be able to either buy new ones or change to LED, if not difficult/expensive. But the down lights are all blown, and merely changing the bulbs don't solve the problem. I'm not sure whether the ballasts are the problem, or could it be the wiring (is that likely/possible?)?

tks...

Any make and model to recommend? My MBR also gets poor wifi.

Bro - go Challenger buy a Pair of Home plug will do.. cheap and good and fast.

Hi Adrianli - Homeplug disrupt neighbour signal? hahahaha - first time i hear such bull crap - I got 3 home plugs in my house - all swee swee.

If you already home network points in your rooms, just buy Access Points put in yr room will do. Must configure though.

Make sure room lan points all go back to your existing fibre router. If not enough ports buy a 8 port Gigabyte switch will do.

Try SLS - 5th floor - Mediapro shop. Very pro in AP. Price oso cheap. Pay abit more they can configure the AP for you. Ask for Engenius AP.

I wana check if electrician is able to relocate my router. Currently, the router and fibre point is located next to the door inside the utility cabinet. The master bedroom not able to get WiFi signal.

So using a Wi-Fi extender in master bedroom but signal strength is a bit weak.

Need to relocate my router to the middle of the flat so whole flat got strong Wi-Fi signal. Refer to drawing. Red dot is current location and blue dot is disired location.

attachicon.gifHDB 5 room floor plan.jpg

since homeplug or repeater/extender router at e blue spot not an option......

can try tis...

Mesh wi-fi router ... get e 3 pcs de....1 at red and blue point ea...and 1 in e master bdrm

u can either buy it outright or rent it fr ur fiber provider

Edited by zipping

I am looking for home plug also. Its just one piece connect to power socket and lan cabled to the router then the other piece just plug into a wall socket in my MBR thats all? Easy peasy?

Hi Adrianli - Homeplug disrupt neighbour signal? hahahaha - first time i hear such bull crap - I got 3 home plugs in my house - all swee swee.

If you already home network points in your rooms, just buy Access Points put in yr room will do. Must configure though.

Make sure room lan points all go back to your existing fibre router. If not enough ports buy a 8 port Gigabyte switch will do.

Try SLS - 5th floor - Mediapro shop. Very pro in AP. Price oso cheap. Pay abit more they can configure the AP for you. Ask for Engenius AP.

Yes home plus work in pairs. But note : its for HDB / Condo - single floor.

If landed house - of 2nd floor or to 3rd floor - it may not work - depending on 230v ac  what type of phase...

Anyone can share the estimated cost of providing and installing a 2 gang outdoor waterproof socket? IP66 classed.

Fellow is quoting me 130 bucks which I don't feel is reasonable. There's no additional transport cost involved because this is an optional quote on top of some of the more firm jobs I am giving him at the same time. Quote for those other jobs appear reasonable.

Ip66 2 gang cased got different brand one

Hager very expensive like $55-$60

Cheaper one I found got about $30

I am looking for home plug also. Its just one piece connect to power socket and lan cabled to the router then the other piece just plug into a wall socket in my MBR thats all? Easy peasy?

Yes Edited by Mustank

There are many variations.  I would suggest getting Homeplug AV2 standard of at least AV1200 with powerline pass-thru.

IMHO,  the powerline pass-thru (3-pin socket) is an important featutre as it has noise filtering (TPLink).

You should use this socket to power all your devices.

As there is only 1 socket,   you may want to use a power extension bar.   

I am running 6x TPLink AV1200  with powerline pass-thru.

For setup,  you can pair them side by side and test before relocating to the intended location. 

Edited by Kklee

Yes

I'm being quoted for MK brand. 

Actually, these kind of plugs won't spoil easily also... I don't really care what they use.

So you re recommending the below mentioned make and model ah?

I am running 6x TPLink AV1200  with powerline pass-thru.

For setup,  you can pair them side by side and test before relocating to the intended location. 

So you re recommending the below mentioned make and model ah?

No leh.  The are at least 6 variants of AV1200.    [laugh]

The ones I used are

Model - TL-PA8010P Kit

Model - TL-PA8030P Kit

Yes

bro, can share which brand ? Thanks. 

No brand one

I found jt in a electrical shop in north star Ang Mo Kio first floor

I don’t know the shop name

They are bigger than a beighbourhood hardware shop and sells more specialized electrical stuff which cannot find in neighborhood hardware shop one

My colleague tell me home plugs is useless as he tried before. However he recommends changing to an Asus router for better wifi coverage.