VES 2018

Fuelsaver

At that rate, might as well bring in the body and engine separately to be fitted here....  :D 

They might take away the airbags and leave the front ones to lower the costs.

I think they might replace by balloon instead of air bag . Haha !

Well not long ago we had cars with no airbags.. I recall retrofitting a Momo steering wheel :)

even with airbags many people removed it and put momo

I think as one enter working life, it is better to attain a more balanced view of rules and laws in singapore, rather than be led by the nose reading western media's anti-authority and personal-freedom-at-all-cost.

Just because one has a paranoia about gahmen evils does not make it real. It is also a great handicap in adult working life to believe all those irrational haters and grumblers who think that the ministers are plotting to steal their flat and amass for themselves and his relatives. (Maybe in neighbouring countries)

It is an ostrich-in-sand attitude to deny the reality experience of others and carry on believing rumours and falsehoods told by haters and grumblers with self-centred, selfish agenda.

The sad fact is that one refused to admit the fact that rules, regulations and policies in this country has been made based on the common law since the founding of Singapore through its independence, and in this aspect, property in Singapore, are all 99 year leasehold for public housing.

Instead of further looking into the facts and common understanding from those whom had acquired properties, private or public, for the past decades, regardless of which generation of buyers, and industry players like the property agents, one would rather spread their own perceived reality which is in fact doesn’t match the reality in which the land and properties in this country are governed by set of rules, regulations and common law, which are systematically regulated to ensure that everyone has their fair share of benefits in housing, even if it's just a leasehold estate. This set of rules are clearly implied on a legal document that is given to all public housing buyers.

This fact doesn’t change even one decides to throw the blame based on their own perceptions, that the govt is stealing home from the people when in actual fact, the govt provides housing to the people as a lease, in which they themselves admit it's a lease which is a simple mutual agreement between the govt and the people in the context of public housing. Nothing to do with accusing the govt stealing the homes of the people nor their own perceptions of labeling the govt as "evil". Yet, some people are indulged in spreading falsehoods, blaming unrelated western influence media repeatedly without solid evidences of such linkages, where such information of public housing is a common understanding within the country and the people itself, and then blaming the younger generation who are more educated and well informed of the regulations, blaming others spreading hate where facts about HDB lease relationship is basically a common understanding as one buys the HDB flat.

Such unfounded accusations, unfortunately, are only made up in the gist of covering up the flaws of misunderstanding/failure to understand and deny the facts and reality that the real world are bounded by legal agreements/laws, and not perceptions. Such repeatedly denials from the reality certainly puts one in a desperate situation to disguise their hidden agendas in order just to win the argument without actually understanding the actual facts and reality. Even as the discussion goes by pages, it ends up with baseless accusations, perceptions, and blamings in attempts to disguise such legal facts with one's false perceptions and misinformation.

Again and again, I will present this fact which is the same reality when we sign the dotted line on the HDB lease agreement.

"All HDB flats are sold on a 99 year lease. We are technically not home owners, but lessees.

Like all leasehold properties, HDB Flats will revert to HDB, the landowner, upon expiry of their leases. HDB will in turn surrender the land to the state. The value of flats will be zero at the end of their 99 year old lease.

While technically it's called a lease to the HDB dwellers, the govt has flexed and tweaked many regulations so that different benefits from public housing can be provided to different needs, like inheritance, SERS program, buy back lease scheme, etc.

However, the ultimate ownership still retains under the government, regardless of the property and the land the property sits upon."

Leasehold properties is easily understood if one really buys a property and especially for long terms. For those who buy and sell for short term rental and transactional profits repeatedly, they will try to disguise their selfish actions of profiteering from high property prices with falsehoods and misinformation in order to maintain the ever increasing property prices as the status quo for their own benefits, while depriving the future generations further from affordable public housing.

Issues like this requires factual understanding. Failure/denial to understand only leads to misleading falsehoods, blaming and baseless accusations to make one's perceptions look right.

I have lived in each flat longer than the COE life for my cars. Not a case of flipping, more a case of going through economic cycles the hard way.

I think it is important for younger folks just starting work to understand the up and down pricing cycles of property and cars especially in an open economy like singapore.

In due regards, I believe that this discussion has seriously derailed from the intended topic.

You may be older than me, or younger than me or probably we are about the same age, I won't want to question on that. However when it comes to discussions like this, I believe that factual information is important for actual reality.

Lease is not a difficult term to understand and the HDB with its dwellers are basically based on such legal relationship.

Rules and regulations can be flexed to make it looks equitable to ownership but basically the ownership still retains under the government. I'm sure that you are knowledgeable to understand this simple terminology in the context under HDB housing.

I understand all these things from decades of news and reading, talking to people and personal experiences.

And if you carefully observed property prices here, it's not just about economic cycles that influence the prices, and prices go up and down amidst fluctuations, it always in an upward trend.

While Singapore is indeed one of the more open economy in the world, however it is still one of the heaviest regulated economy to safeguard its interests.

I think they might replace by balloon instead of air bag . Haha !

Minimum 2 airbags (frontal) is the basic requirements la. Else kiasee Singaporeans won't dare to buy, kiasu Singaporeans think not value for money.

I think as one enter working life, it is better to attain a more balanced view of rules and laws in singapore, rather than be led by the nose reading western media's anti-authority and personal-freedom-at-all-cost.

Just because one has a paranoia about gahmen evils does not make it real. It is also a great handicap in adult working life to believe all those irrational haters and grumblers who think that the ministers are plotting to steal their flat and amass for themselves and his relatives. (Maybe in neighbouring countries)

It is an ostrich-in-sand attitude to deny the reality experience of others and carry on believing rumours and falsehoods told by haters and grumblers with self-centred, selfish agenda.

Totally agree!!! [thumbsup]

Objective and agendas, they dont go very well together.  [laugh]

The sad fact is that one refused to admit the fact that rules, regulations and policies in this country has been made based on the common law since the founding of Singapore through its independence, and in this aspect, property in Singapore, are all 99 year leasehold for public housing.

Instead of further looking into the facts and common understanding from those whom had acquired properties, private or public, for the past decades, regardless of which generation of buyers, and industry players like the property agents, one would rather spread their own perceived reality which is in fact doesn’t match the reality in which the land and properties in this country are governed by set of rules, regulations and common law, which are systematically regulated to ensure that everyone has their fair share of benefits in housing, even if it's just a leasehold estate. This set of rules are clearly implied on a legal document that is given to all public housing buyers.

This fact doesn’t change even one decides to throw the blame based on their own perceptions, that the govt is stealing home from the people when in actual fact, the govt provides housing to the people as a lease, in which they themselves admit it's a lease which is a simple mutual agreement between the govt and the people in the context of public housing. Nothing to do with accusing the govt stealing the homes of the people nor their own perceptions of labeling the govt as "evil". Yet, some people are indulged in spreading falsehoods, blaming unrelated western influence media repeatedly without solid evidences of such linkages, where such information of public housing is a common understanding within the country and the people itself, and then blaming the younger generation who are more educated and well informed of the regulations, blaming others spreading hate where facts about HDB lease relationship is basically a common understanding as one buys the HDB flat.

Such unfounded accusations, unfortunately, are only made up in the gist of covering up the flaws of misunderstanding/failure to understand and deny the facts and reality that the real world are bounded by legal agreements/laws, and not perceptions. Such repeatedly denials from the reality certainly puts one in a desperate situation to disguise their hidden agendas in order just to win the argument without actually understanding the actual facts and reality. Even as the discussion goes by pages, it ends up with baseless accusations, perceptions, and blamings in attempts to disguise such legal facts with one's false perceptions and misinformation.

Again and again, I will present this fact which is the same reality when we sign the dotted line on the HDB lease agreement.

"All HDB flats are sold on a 99 year lease. We are technically not home owners, but lessees.

Like all leasehold properties, HDB Flats will revert to HDB, the landowner, upon expiry of their leases. HDB will in turn surrender the land to the state. The value of flats will be zero at the end of their 99 year old lease.

While technically it's called a lease to the HDB dwellers, the govt has flexed and tweaked many regulations so that different benefits from public housing can be provided to different needs, like inheritance, SERS program, buy back lease scheme, etc.

However, the ultimate ownership still retains under the government, regardless of the property and the land the property sits upon."

Leasehold properties is easily understood if one really buys a property and especially for long terms. For those who buy and sell for short term rental and transactional profits repeatedly, they will try to disguise their selfish actions of profiteering from high property prices with falsehoods and misinformation in order to maintain the ever increasing property prices as the status quo for their own benefits, while depriving the future generations further from affordable public housing.

Issues like this requires factual understanding. Failure/denial to understand only leads to misleading falsehoods, blaming and baseless accusations to make one's perceptions look right.

Bro, what about those private condos on 99 land lease? Do we own that private condo or are we leasing it for 99 years from someone? Given that both are 99 years land lease, what do you think is the actual different? In other parts of the world, there are lands and real estates sold on a 60 years lease, what are your thoughts on those? are there any other countries in the world where their government build 99 years lease hold public housing for their citizens? 

One thread is already lock because of some housing OT i think, is there a need to lock another for the same reason? 

Bro, what about those private condos on 99 land lease? Do we own that private condo or are we leasing it for 99 years from someone? Given that both are 99 years land lease, what do you think is the actual different? In other parts of the world, there are lands and real estates sold on a 60 years lease, what are your thoughts on those? are there any other countries in the world where their government build 99 years lease hold public housing for their citizens? 

One thread is already lock because of some housing OT i think, is there a need to lock another for the same reason? 

It's the same for private property. You only own the rights to occupy and use the property, you don't have the true ownership. Once 99 years up or if the govt wants to tear down the condo for redevelopment purposes, the private developers will give back the land to the state or SLA. The private condo developer may own the development on top of the ownership of the land by the govt, but I am not very sure of this. Private condos may be subjected to en bloc by private developers before the 99 lease ends but for HDB, en bloc only happens permissible by HDB. 

More details: https://www.99.co/blog/singapore/leasehold-property-99-years/

There are actually not much difference whether public or private if you talk about the ultimate ownership because in the end, most of the land are of 99 year lease by the govt and all these land belongs to the govt. If you observed some of the empty plots of land here, it says state land, and that belongs to the govt. This is very different from freehold land when one has infinite time line to own the land, which are very hard to find in Singapore these days.  So after 99 years, it all goes back to the govt, no difference. 

Lease in other countries varies because they have more land as they are bigger and less densely populated. While they have more and more lands under lease, there is still higher chances to own full freehold lands. The number of years for the lease are thus subjective due to the urgency of the land use and the sole purpose of the land itself in that country. 

In Singapore, most of the lands are leased at 99 years because,

1. its prices will be higher for the 99 year lease, instead of just a 50 year lease, The lower the lease, the lower the prices of that property. This allows HDB dwellers to make more profits out of the HDB flat. 

2. 99 years are more reasonable timeline for a generation to have rights over the leased property and thus this makes sense for one generation to enjoy that public housing benefit while not hindering the process of the govt to acquire the land for redevelopment. Imagine if the land is freehold or 999 years lease, the govt may not have enough land for redevelopment plans if everyone hogs the land for such long periods. 

Basically the lease contract between the HDB (lessor) and the HDB dwellers (lessee) is just giving the lessee the rights to occupy and use the property for the lease period, not true ownership. The ultimate ownership still falls under the HDB because the property and the land that it sits upon all belongs to the state/govt/SLA. The HDB reserves the right to take back the land for purposes of redevelopment or after the 99 year lease, or even in special cases, like one defaults the mortgage of the HDB flat.  However HDB does not really kick out anyone for no good reasons and thus if you don't violate the law or default repayments, you are basically safe. 

Problem now is that it is very difficult to see the real 99 years lease contract relationship because many old flats in Singapore are basically redeveloped selectively after 30 to 40 years. Even the oldest flats that is still around are just about 50 years, so it's very hard to see what happened after 99 years for now. Moreover those old flats lessees which their old flats are redeveloped are normally given replacement new flats, which means that their lease are reset again to 99 years. 

While technically called a lease to the HDB lease holders, the govt has flexed and tweaked many regulations so that the different benefits of public housing can be brought to different needs, like inheritance, SERS, Lease buy back scheme, etc, to make it almost equitable to ownership but actually all these terms and conditions still ultimately decides by the HDB. 

* The word, Lease buyback, actually tells a lot. 

Your last question: Yes, Hong Kong. They have 75, 99, 150 years but the way they work is quite different from Singapore. 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Government_rent_in_Hong_Kong

Actually in my previous post, I have highlighted that the discussion has derailed from the actual topic. So I hope to end here since I have been explaining the same things again and again. All these things are based on written laws and legal contracts, not perceptions. 

Edited by DACH

I am willing to bet that Singaporeans will buy a no airbag car to save $$  [;)]

Unless its just for cost reason,   most Taxi for example, one should never take life for granted.

Want to strip down, just take a look at the Audi "taxi". Stock steel rims and plastic covers. 

I still feel that the car industry can be revamp and reduced cost further for both insurance and dealers as well as owners if they allowed vehicles COE to be transferable to a new car in the event of a total write off.

when the car is made to be resurrected, there will be safety issues involved and not just dollars and sense. Worst is the unsuspecting buyer being conned into getting a car that is "accident free" 

Edited by Sdf4786k

Spoke to a close fren from LTA. Didnt divulge much but i was 'advised' to forget abt diesel cars even before 2018 b4 VES kicked in cos the hammer will drop harder on them in years to come. The AD may reduce the prices by a lot but the increase taxations in pipelines will cost more in long run. That is so much he is willing to say.

丰田 will be the fav 2 words

Spoke to a close fren from LTA. Didnt divulge much but i was 'advised' to forget abt diesel cars even before 2018 b4 VES kicked in cos the hammer will drop harder on them in years to come. The AD may reduce the prices by a lot but the increase taxations in pipelines will cost more in long run. That is so much he is willing to say.

ä¸°ç° will be the fav 2 words

Toyota?

What do u mean by hammer will drop harder on them. Do you mean yr lta friend is implying that diesel owners will be taxed additionally throughout their ownership ? Edited by Nonewposts

If diesels get hit, will petrol be hit as well?

Won't be surprised...

Car prices comming down......now that's a surprise!!