A New Chapter - Skoda Singapore

Carbon82

5th Gear
On 1/25/2025 at 9:51 AM, Ginyu said:

EV technology are moving at a rapid pace, the time to fully charge a battery is reducing and solid state batteries are coming too. Buying brand new ice is quite a risk now because global shift to electrification is already happening but of coz the car dealers will tell you a different story because they want to close the sale🤣

Agree. Now used car market is in transition where ICE trade in still has an advantage over EV trade in. Once the tipping point is over to EV, ICE trade in will be screaming, 2nd hand dealer will say "ICE? Nobody want leh". Now is when is the tipping point. 😁

On 1/24/2025 at 12:32 PM, Rskc said:

There are 184 petrol stations as of Aug 2024 in SG (and still going down) => ~5000 cars (900k÷184)  per petrol station vs 15 cars per chargers (900k÷60k) in future. 

Breaking down the chargers by days vs cars, it will be 900k÷ 365days÷60k chargers = 0.04 cars per day per charger. And EV doesnt need to charge every day.

For petrol station, 900k÷365days÷184 stations ÷ 6 pumps per station = 2.2 cars per day per station per pump. 

I think it will ok in terms of charger availability as long as most people adopt charge-as-they-use method, not down to 5% then charge.

One more point to note, many landed will install their own charger, thus removing some cars needing public chargers too. 😊

Your analysis is incomplete and painter a rosier picture for EV cars.

A typical petrol station has more than 6 pumps, should be 10 pumps at least. You did not consider the time to charge per car, with EV charging taking at least 5 times longer if using fast DC charging and many more times if AC charging. And there is this difficulty of finding alternative charging facility if you want to charge overnight near your house but none available. Would you want to drive to another carpark further out to try to locate charging facility and walk there in the morning to collect it? Or risk being charged for idling if not able to remove the car after fully charged up?

As I get older I want to have less thing to worry or remember as memory start to fail already. Certainly not keen to waste it on thinking how to charge my EV. 

But with technology improving and charging infra being expanded, certainly I will embrace it in near future. And if got nicer EVs to entice, why not earlier haha.

On 1/24/2025 at 8:16 AM, 13177 said:

AYE not only full of commercial vehicles but also full of malaysia bikes, they like to ride on 3rd and most outer lane.

Lane1 you mean

On 1/25/2025 at 10:50 AM, Mkl22 said:

Lane1 you mean

Those Malaysian bikes ride on lane 1 & 2.

On 1/25/2025 at 9:51 AM, Ginyu said:

EV technology are moving at a rapid pace, the time to fully charge a battery is reducing and solid state batteries are coming too. Buying brand new ice is quite a risk now because global shift to electrification is already happening but of coz the car dealers will tell you a different story because they want to close the sale🤣

You'll need another 5-10 years to crack solid state batteries... in that time, you'll still be dealing with the issues of today... cars are super expensive stuff, not something you just change when new tech comes online like a phone or tablet or laptop... so I'll go electric when we've solved the charging problem... no need to be early adopter always... and pay a premium for teething problems...

On 1/25/2025 at 10:44 AM, Rskc said:

Agree. Now used car market is in transition where ICE trade in still has an advantage over EV trade in. Once the tipping point is over to EV, ICE trade in will be screaming, 2nd hand dealer will say "ICE? Nobody want leh". Now is when is the tipping point. 😁

No issue, just re-export to developing economies that still require ICE cars... not every nation develops at the same pace... many countries can't even supply regular electricity, clean water and build roads to all parts of the country... so there will still be a market, just not here... don't have to look very far from Singapore...

On 1/25/2025 at 11:34 AM, 13177 said:

Those Malaysian bikes ride on lane 1 & 2.

The problem isn't they ride on these lanes... they're usually super fast... it's the way they swarm across you from behind... very dangerous...

On 1/25/2025 at 10:50 AM, Heartlander said:

A typical petrol station has more than 6 pumps, should be 10 pumps at least. You did not consider the time to charge per car, with EV charging taking at least 5 times longer if using fast DC charging and many more times if AC charging. And there is this difficulty of finding alternative charging facility if you want to charge overnight near your house but none available. Would you want to drive to another carpark further out to try to locate charging facility and walk there in the morning to collect it? Or risk being charged for idling if not able to remove the car after fully charged up?

As I get older I want to have less thing to worry or remember as memory start to fail already. Certainly not keen to waste it on thinking how to charge my EV. 

But with technology improving and charging infra being expanded, certainly I will embrace it in near future. And if got nicer EVs to entice, why not earlier haha.

Exactly... a lot of grief for what?

On 1/25/2025 at 11:54 AM, teomingern said:

The problem isn't they ride on these lanes... they're usually super fast... it's the way they swarm across you from behind... very dangerous...

Then more will spill their blood and brains on our road. 
can’t really stop it from happening. 

On 1/25/2025 at 12:15 PM, Mkl22 said:

Then more will spill their blood and brains on our road. 
can’t really stop it from happening. 

Yeah... that's the sad part... the past 2 weeks of travelling the PIE to work, I got stuck 3x in traffic jams due to motorcycle accident... from the looks of the wreckage, seems like very serious or even fatal... each time, I had to get out of the rightmost lane to allow the ambulance to rush to the accident site... 

What I detest most are the kaypoh on the road... drive past the accident site like a snail to 'beo' the scene (both directions)... I mean, the fellow already so 'cham'... plus got traffic police, ambulance + tow truck, don't need additional people to kaypoh lor... just drive past briskly and don't hold up everyone else mah... 

5th Gear
On 1/25/2025 at 10:50 AM, Heartlander said:

Wah bro, ok lah, I give it to you and double the pumps to 12 to give ICE's 2.2 cars ÷ 2 = 1.1 cars per pump per day and I multiple EV's 0.04 cars by 10 to give you 0.4 cars per charger per day. Charge vs pump ratio to car is still 3x of pump. It wont move the needle.

I do agree with your points to certain extent but would disagree on the time needed to "refill". Why? I used to think like you till I decided to try an EV while holding on to my ICE, so I can compare them in real time myself. Let me share my experience. 

EV: 7 months into EV onwership, I have absolutely no problem finding a charger cos I-charge-as-I-go. If that charging point is fully taken (aka petrol station is crowded), I will not wait and would just look for another charger (aka come back to petrol station) tmr. 5 times longer? Not true lah, I often do a 10min dc charge while running a quick errand e.g. buying dried food at fu lu shou rochor just as an example. No detour. It will charge 70%~90% in 10 min flat using dc100. I have nvr really run my EV below 45% (just like my ICE, very seldom below 1/4 tank), so there is always enough juice left. 

ICE: When I go to the nearest caltex (my preferred petrol cos it claims to clean my engine wor😄) to pump my ICE, I will need to detour and spend min 20 minutes driving there and back (7min x 2 to and fro even if I turbocharge sprint all the way along the stupid bukit merah full of traffic lights and back plus 5 min pump and use caltex go app in car). This already perfect scenario. If got traffic jam, even worse. It is never really along the way for me to run an errand cos I only can pee or buy potato chips in station mart. Nothing else. 🤣

Here is the real not so rosy part and you are correct on this: The biggest inconvenience of EV to me is if the charging is too fast (not slow)! 🤣 There was once i was doing weekend grocery errand at vivo ntuc, the cashier was simply too super duper slow till my car was dc charged to full. Luckily got grace period. And this happened only once in my 7 months of EV onwership. 😅

Just sharing the pros and cons. And yes, pls come come to the new dawn, especially when solid state comes. I am waiting for it too. 😄😁

5th Gear
On 1/25/2025 at 11:41 AM, teomingern said:

No issue, just re-export to developing economies that still require ICE cars... not every nation develops at the same pace... many countries can't even supply regular electricity, clean water and build roads to all parts of the country... so there will still be a market, just not here... don't have to look very far from Singapore...

Ya, but how many of us actually do our own export? Everything is 2nd dealers say so and we know the result. 

On 1/25/2025 at 12:41 PM, Rskc said:

Ya, but how many of us actually do our own export? Everything is 2nd dealers say so and we know the result. 

Not us, the dealers will do it...

On 1/25/2025 at 12:39 PM, Rskc said:

Wah bro, ok lah, I give it to you and double the pumps to 12 to give ICE's 2.2 cars ÷ 2 = 1.1 cars per pump per day and I multiple EV's 0.04 cars by 10 to give you 0.4 cars per charger per day. Charge vs pump ratio to car is still 3x of pump. It wont move the needle.

I do agree with your points to certain extent but would disagree on the time needed to "refill". Why? I used to think like you till I decided to try an EV while holding on to my ICE, so I can compare them in real time myself. Let me share my experience. 

EV: 7 months into EV onwership, I have absolutely no problem finding a charger cos I-charge-as-I-go. If that charging point is fully taken (aka petrol station is crowded), I will not wait and would just look for another charger (aka come back to petrol station) tmr. 5 times longer? Not true lah, I often do a 10min dc charge while running a quick errand e.g. buying dried food at fu lu shou rochor just as an example. No detour. It will charge 70%~90% in 10 min flat using dc100. I have nvr really run my EV below 45% (just like my ICE, very seldom below 1/4 tank), so there is always enough juice left. 

ICE: When I go to the nearest caltex (my preferred petrol cos it claims to clean my engine wor😄) to pump my ICE, I will need to detour and spend min 20 minutes driving there and back (7min x 2 to and fro even if I turbocharge sprint all the way along the stupid bukit merah full of traffic lights and back plus 5 min pump and use caltex go app in car). This already perfect scenario. If got traffic jam, even worse. It is never really along the way for me to run an errand cos I only can pee or buy potato chips in station mart. Nothing else. 🤣

Here is the real not so rosy part and you are correct on this: The biggest inconvenience of EV to me is if the charging is too fast (not slow)! 🤣 There was once i was doing weekend grocery errand at vivo ntuc, the cashier was simply too super duper slow till my car was dc charged to full. Luckily got grace period. And this happened only once in my 7 months of EV onwership. 😅

Just sharing the pros and cons. And yes, pls come come to the new dawn, especially when solid state comes. I am waiting for it too. 😄😁

Thanks for taking the time to write such a long reply.

I not keen to bet EV now primarily has been due to battery technology and charging infra. My work is not mobile so I cannot do random charging as some EV owners are doing right now. And I frequent 2 petrol stations, one very near my home while the other one very near my office, so pumping petrol for meis not an issue like you do.

And I really hate the design of Tesla model 3 and Y as really too simplistic, and I am very suspicious of Chinese EVs where most of them are just out to earn subsidy from their government and the way some operate is really CMI. Imagine buyers not informed of separate charges for the rights to use EV batteries and subsequently asked to pay 50% of car price in order to operate the car. And with batteries locked and forced to go back dealers to repair faulty batteries due to accidents. And few hundred owners of a particular EV model found their brakes not working on 1/Jan/25, which later traced to the EV maker forgetting to renew the licensing rights of an IC chip that is used to control the brake. And the charging rate in China has been increasing like nobody business jumping from initial 1RMB.kwhr to currently 2RMB/Kwhr and even 3RMB/Kwhr in certain places that put it on par with pumping petrol there. Not to mention the ever increasing EV car insurance that is already higher than petrol cars and double if ever claimed.  Hopefully we do not see such nonsense happening here with strong influx of Chinese EVs now. 

I am tempted right now by the new Model Y but would not bite unless all stars align. I am more for plug-in hybrids but only limited in models and are so expensive right now.

So would continue to enjoy my ICE cars for now.

On 1/25/2025 at 12:39 PM, Rskc said:

Bro, no point trying to explain so much. Some will never accept the idea lah. Important we enjoy our ride.

I also charge as when convinient or when I saw a charging station at place I visit. Like this afternoon.  At Suntec, since I expect to stay around 1.5 to 2hrs. So DC charging is no. 

My battery at 61%, so I just use the AC charger with 22Kw, my car max AC is 11 Kw. By the the time I am back,  just nice reach 79%. The best thing is all charging station AC or DC is empty with no one using and near to Convention center lift lobby.

Edited by Tohto

On 1/25/2025 at 6:45 PM, Tohto said:

Bro, no point trying to explain so much. Some will never accept the idea lah. Important we enjoy our ride.

I also charge as when convinient or when I saw a charging station at place I visit. Like this afternoon.  At Suntec, since I expect to stay around 1.5 to 2hrs. So DC charging is no. 

My battery at 61%, so I just use the AC charger with 22Kw, my car max AC is 11 Kw. By the the time I am back,  just nice reach 79%. The best thing is all charging station AC or DC is empty with no one using and near to Convention center lift lobby.

Ya we have enuf Captain EV around…tolong😂

5th Gear
On 1/25/2025 at 6:45 PM, Tohto said:

Ok lah. Sharing is caring. But if I see goalpost keeps shifting, then let it be. 😊

Yeh, you have got the best scenario today! 👏

Ok guys... got an unbeatable package from Borneo Motors for the Corolla Altis... so the Octavia become $7000 more expensive than the Corolla Altis... so guess which car I signed up for? Ha ha ha ha....