Daniu82 Supercharged January 24 Share January 24 On 1/24/2025 at 11:02 AM, teomingern said: Narrowed down to 4 cars from 4 different countries: Korea, Czech Republic, Thailand & Japan. Anyway the 4 sedans with the closest price & feature set are: 1. Hyundai Avante Hybrid 1.6 'S' trim $177,999 2. Skoda Octavia 1.5 TSI mild hybrid 'Selection' trim $169,900 3. Toyota Corolla Altis 1.6 'Elegance' trim $170,888 4. Mazda 3 Sedan mild hybrid 1.5 'Classic' trim $176,888 Comments/Questions 1. Why is Mazda so expensive? Seriously. 2. The Octavia has the liftback that is unique to this group. Makes the boot far more usable than the others. 3. The Octavia has the shortest wheelbase at 2686 mm while the rest are all over 2700 mm. That's quite significant especially in the case of the Mazda 3 which is the longest at 2725 mm. 4. The Corolla is the only one with a CVT which I detest. 5. The Corolla looks like the best bang for buck given the price and features. But I sat in Dad's car, and it feels a bit low rent. 6. The lightest car is the Corolla by a fair margin at 1315 kg while the heaviest is the Octavia at 1440 kg. That's pretty crazy... it's like carrying 2 extra persons on the Octavia. 7. The Octavia is the only one with electric seats for both front seats. And with memory to boot. Which is kind of useless if I'm the only driver and my wife is the only one sitting up front with me. 8. The Octavia is the only one with an electric tailgate which I really dig! 9. The Octavia has the most airbags at 8, while the Avante has the fewest at 6. The rest has 7. So I guess knee airbags for the Octavia for both front passengers, none for the Avante and only for the driver for the other two. 10. The Avante & Corolla has ACC while the Octavia is only standard CC and the Mazda has none? Mazda has no other safety features that the others have. Seriously?! Why is it the second most expensive? 11. The Avante & Octavia have front & rear parking sensors. The other two only have rear ones. This is very crucial for tight spaces. 12. Only the Avante has front ventilated seats. That's a win for me. 13. The Avante & Octavia have smaller fuel tanks at 42 & 45 L respectively... that's a bit small, no? The other two have it at 50 L. Far cry from my 70 L tank currently... I would choose between 1 and 2 if I were you. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 24 Share January 24 On 1/24/2025 at 7:03 AM, Rskc said: My estate has ZERO charger. But it is now 15 EVs to 20 EVs. I don't think these EVs are stupid. Most would fit charging into their daily life routine (charge during grocery trip or in office buildings when working). Pumping petrol is getting lifestyle to accomodate it (detour to petrol pump even it is along the way). Nothing wrong with both. To me, it is a matter of perference and degree of adaptability. 😉 True only to the extent that you can get a charger when you need it... some may not mind always having the charge state at the back of their minds wherever they go... but I rather just drop by and top up my fuel when I need it, knowing that it's there at anytime, and anywhere... peace of mind, more relaxed... Your estate will get some chargers eventually... but that's not really my concern... I just wonder... the target is 60,000 chargers by 2030... we have almost a million vehicles, most of which are able to park in residential areas... so say 900,000 vehicles competing for 60,000 chargers, of which the current distribution is mainly in HDB car parks... and going forward, the distribution will tilt towards public car parks and other spaces other than HDB car parks in residential areas... given our population density, how does the vehicle to charging station ratio work out say 5-7 years down the road when there are many more electric vehicles... besides, who's going to pay for the grid and infrastructure to build more chargers... the tax payer? Or does the government envisage a significant drop in car population due to its car-lite policies so those 60,000 chargers are sufficient? I'm not willing to be guinea pig for now... teething problems let others suck it up first... ha ha... 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 24 Share January 24 I think go for the octavia/avante. Corolla no lah. It's acutally smaller cabin space than the previous generation. Ventilated seats + ACC vs Liftback and German brand. Electric tailgate for a liftback is nice. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 24 Share January 24 save the couple thousand. Ventilated seats I help you solve the problem. $20 niah 😁 https://shopee.sg/product/920744417/19995105732?gads_t_sig=VTJGc2RHVmtYMTlxTFVSVVRrdENkY0N5akVpcE5OamJEdjRRTHBOTzhma1IyVlRwRjk1WTFnSmdhRWVIbXdsQllwcXV3ZEtLbWRsdTNsS0RrcVQ4VkRMZk56UVB0L3BVSTFCYU44THA0Unpja2N5R1oxU21hcjR1OUlaYTQvVWw&gad_source=1&gclid=EAIaIQobChMInKS68bONiwMVtqlmAh2bIjkwEAQYBiABEgKsdPD_BwE Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 24 Share January 24 On 1/24/2025 at 11:23 AM, Lala81 said: save the couple thousand. Ventilated seats I help you solve the problem. $20 niah 😁 https://shopee.sg/product/920744417/19995105732?gads_t_sig=VTJGc2RHVmtYMTlxTFVSVVRrdENkY0N5akVpcE5OamJEdjRRTHBOTzhma1IyVlRwRjk1WTFnSmdhRWVIbXdsQllwcXV3ZEtLbWRsdTNsS0RrcVQ4VkRMZk56UVB0L3BVSTFCYU44THA0Unpja2N5R1oxU21hcjR1OUlaYTQvVWw&gad_source=1&gclid=EAIaIQobChMInKS68bONiwMVtqlmAh2bIjkwEAQYBiABEgKsdPD_BwE Nothing beat air cond blow on butt on a hot day🤭 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged January 24 Share January 24 On 1/23/2025 at 8:17 AM, Tohto said: The way you rush in 1 day I will say, is not very safe. Especially now that you are carrying young children and family in the car. Think about it. But looking at your way of overseas traveling, I am not surprised. Trying to cover as much as possible. On 1/23/2025 at 8:29 AM, Lala81 said: lol maybe he was a long distance coach driver in his previous life. Ok lah. To each his own. But 100% should get ACC with low speed follow. My friend in December did a 11 days, SG-KL-Penang-Ipoh-KL-Desaru-SG in his model 3. 2023 Dec, I went to Chiang Mai for business with my guys. I drove half, one of my guy drove half. Then I stay in the weekend for Golf with some friends and tell my guys to get back by plane. After second game on Sunday, I left 330pm and reach back the petrol station near my house at 1130pm. I got my coffee, my Gatorade drink with ice. I told myself if I am sleepy, just pop by 7-11. But I end up easy easy doing the 680km with no speeding and no toilet break. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic January 24 Share January 24 On 1/24/2025 at 12:20 PM, Arogab said: 2023 Dec, I went to Chiang Mai for business with my guys. I drove half, one of my guy drove half. Then I stay in the weekend for Golf with some friends and tell my guys to get back by plane. After second game on Sunday, I left 330pm and reach back the petrol station near my house at 1130pm. I got my coffee, my Gatorade drink with ice. I told myself if I am sleepy, just pop by 7-11. But I end up easy easy doing the 680km with no speeding and no toilet break. Traveling with family with young kid is different lah. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rskc 5th Gear January 24 Share January 24 On 1/24/2025 at 11:15 AM, teomingern said: True only to the extent that you can get a charger when you need it... some may not mind always having the charge state at the back of their minds wherever they go... but I rather just drop by and top up my fuel when I need it, knowing that it's there at anytime, and anywhere... peace of mind, more relaxed... Your estate will get some chargers eventually... but that's not really my concern... I just wonder... the target is 60,000 chargers by 2030... we have almost a million vehicles, most of which are able to park in residential areas... so say 900,000 vehicles competing for 60,000 chargers, of which the current distribution is mainly in HDB car parks... and going forward, the distribution will tilt towards public car parks and other spaces other than HDB car parks in residential areas... given our population density, how does the vehicle to charging station ratio work out say 5-7 years down the road when there are many more electric vehicles... besides, who's going to pay for the grid and infrastructure to build more chargers... the tax payer? Or does the government envisage a significant drop in car population due to its car-lite policies so those 60,000 chargers are sufficient? I'm not willing to be guinea pig for now... teething problems let others suck it up first... ha ha... There are 184 petrol stations as of Aug 2024 in SG (and still going down) => ~5000 cars (900k÷184) per petrol station vs 15 cars per chargers (900k÷60k) in future. Breaking down the chargers by days vs cars, it will be 900k÷ 365days÷60k chargers = 0.04 cars per day per charger. And EV doesnt need to charge every day. For petrol station, 900k÷365days÷184 stations ÷ 6 pumps per station = 2.2 cars per day per station per pump. I think it will ok in terms of charger availability as long as most people adopt charge-as-they-use method, not down to 5% then charge. One more point to note, many landed will install their own charger, thus removing some cars needing public chargers too. 😊 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged January 24 Share January 24 On 1/24/2025 at 11:24 AM, Tohto said: Traveling with family with young kid is different lah. Yah lah, I know. I was all alone then. For me, I did many trips from Narita to SFO or Denver with no toile breaks also. Only just watching movie. Haha Last trip to south, my friend's wife, less than 2 hours KPKB need to go toilet liao 😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 24 Share January 24 On 1/24/2025 at 11:12 AM, Lala81 said: Mz3 straightaway out due to cabin space. They are about cabin quality and aesthetics and never about usable cabin space. Unless your whole family is on the smaller size. A vios cabin space already bigger than mz3. I can easily say my elantra cabin space for passenger comfort is no difference from the mazda cx-5 that i drove in australia. Lol the fuel tank definitely needs some getting used to. Yes my AD elantra is I think 45L. Whereas my accord also 70L. Wow! That's pretty damning in terms of cabin space... Elantra = CX-5 but yeah... Mazda always not very good with interior space... almost like a signature feature... copying the German marques like that... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 24 Share January 24 On 1/24/2025 at 11:20 AM, Lala81 said: I think go for the octavia/avante. Corolla no lah. It's acutally smaller cabin space than the previous generation. Ventilated seats + ACC vs Liftback and German brand. Electric tailgate for a liftback is nice. Yeah that's how I felt when I sat inside... why eh? Also the ride quality like not so good... sound proofing also not so good... but might be cos I come from a Sonata to a Corolla lar... Actually German tech is not a plus leh... the parts are expensive... actually my Hyundai parts also quite expensive now... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 24 Share January 24 (edited) On 1/24/2025 at 11:15 AM, Daniu82 said: I would choose between 1 and 2 if I were you. Those are my thoughts too... Edited January 24 by teomingern 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 24 Share January 24 On 1/24/2025 at 11:23 AM, Lala81 said: save the couple thousand. Ventilated seats I help you solve the problem. $20 niah 😁 https://shopee.sg/product/920744417/19995105732?gads_t_sig=VTJGc2RHVmtYMTlxTFVSVVRrdENkY0N5akVpcE5OamJEdjRRTHBOTzhma1IyVlRwRjk1WTFnSmdhRWVIbXdsQllwcXV3ZEtLbWRsdTNsS0RrcVQ4VkRMZk56UVB0L3BVSTFCYU44THA0Unpja2N5R1oxU21hcjR1OUlaYTQvVWw&gad_source=1&gclid=EAIaIQobChMInKS68bONiwMVtqlmAh2bIjkwEAQYBiABEgKsdPD_BwE Wah ha ha... do they actually help? They're also in the car when it gets roasted by the sun... not much help right? Rather more insulation on your chair... just got to suck it up I guess... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 24 Share January 24 On 1/24/2025 at 12:24 PM, Tohto said: Traveling with family with young kid is different lah. Why leh? Usually my kids will knock out once we put them in their child seats at 5 am... they usually get up like 1 hour before I reach Ipoh for lunch... so they kind of sleep for 6 hours almost non-stop... at the break at Dengkil, my wife and I take turns to use the toilet if they're still sleeping... quite shiok... got time to chit chat without the kids always butting in... wah ha ha... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 24 Share January 24 On 1/24/2025 at 12:32 PM, Rskc said: There are 184 petrol stations as of Aug 2024 in SG (and still going down) => ~5000 cars (900k÷184) per petrol station vs 15 cars per chargers (900k÷60k) in future. Breaking down the chargers by days vs cars, it will be 900k÷ 365days÷60k chargers = 0.04 cars per day per charger. And EV doesnt need to charge every day. For petrol station, 900k÷365days÷184 stations ÷ 6 pumps per station = 2.2 cars per day per station per pump. I think it will ok in terms of charger availability as long as most people adopt charge-as-they-use method, not down to 5% then charge. One more point to note, many landed will install their own charger, thus removing some cars needing public chargers too. 😊 That's certainly another way to look at it... but that's really just averaging out... but the distribution of chargers will be uneven and when you most need it, there may be many others who also need it, and that's when it gets frustrating and maybe downright hostile knowing Singaporeans... I'll wait and see... anyway if I have enough money to buy this next car, it might very well be my last car... don't think car prices are going down anyway... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 24 Share January 24 On 1/24/2025 at 12:37 PM, Arogab said: Yah lah, I know. I was all alone then. For me, I did many trips from Narita to SFO or Denver with no toile breaks also. Only just watching movie. Haha Last trip to south, my friend's wife, less than 2 hours KPKB need to go toilet liao 😂 Yeah... a lot depends on whether need toilet breaks or not... Travel with my mum, every 1.5 hours need to stop... Travel with my wife, no need to stop until lunch... Travel with my kids, got diapers... 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged January 24 Share January 24 On 1/24/2025 at 1:24 PM, teomingern said: Yeah... a lot depends on whether need toilet breaks or not... Travel with my mum, every 1.5 hours need to stop... Travel with my wife, no need to stop until lunch... Travel with my kids, got diapers... Me always good at driving long range. Last trip, I relax and let my friend drive. Haha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 24 Share January 24 On 1/24/2025 at 2:17 PM, teomingern said: Wah ha ha... do they actually help? They're also in the car when it gets roasted by the sun... not much help right? Rather more insulation on your chair... just got to suck it up I guess... my wife has these type of cooling pad on sofa for when weather is hot. Cheap. No harm buy 1 set and try. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...