teomingern 6th Gear January 23 Share January 23 On 1/22/2025 at 6:14 PM, Mkl22 said: City driving also not that great. I test drove the Audi A3 with 1.0 turbo in 2017. Was laggy when off boost for the momentary 1-2sec. Really need to plan more aggressive acceleration Your driving style requires a V8 twin turbo lor... wah ha ha ha... not much difference from an NA engine when you're stuck in a flat part of the torque curve for a 1.6 L mah... instant response requires huge displacement with turbo charging... then absolutely no lag with gobs of torque anywhere in the rev band... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 23 Share January 23 On 1/22/2025 at 10:17 PM, 13177 said: Now can see many commercial vehicles overtake on lane 1. Just now saw one private bus driving on 2nd outer lane, then the lorry infront too slow and the bus overtake on lane 1. Looks like nowadays commercial vehicles drive almost on every lane on expressway. Not true lar... I take the PIE every day... mostly West side which has lots of heavy vehicles and commercial vehicles... they mostly stick to the leftmost lanes lar... haven't really seen them on the rightmost lanes... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 23 Share January 23 On 1/22/2025 at 10:26 PM, inlinesix said: If every car drive faster than commercial vehicles, it will not happen. We have too many drivers who cannot drive on expressway. Yeah... 70 kmh on rightmost lane with the nearest car in front of them at least 100 m away... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic January 23 Share January 23 On 1/23/2025 at 8:10 AM, teomingern said: I just checked Tesla Malaysia's website for the Tesla's Superchargers... I'm definitely not up to date for non-Tesla charging points cos I don't stop much along the way... I only stop at Dengkil for toilet break... otherwise I'm driving on the highway... I'm up by 4 am and cross the Malaysian border at 5 am, reach Penang at 4 pm in my petrol car... that means I'm up 12 hours and on the road for about 10 hours... this includes a 2 hour lunch break at Ipoh... if I have to charge the electric car at least 2x using a Level 2 charger from 0-100%, it's not possible to make it in one day... with a Supercharger, still possible if you're topping up from 20-30% to 100% but that would mean charging at least 3 times and cos the points are away from the highway, that will possibly mean I'll be delayed by at least 3-4 hours... that means I'm on the road for over 16 hours... definitely not safe... with other fast chargers which are not as fast as the Supercharger, not sure possible or not... So yes not to my liking but definitely not safe... basically the technology increases the amount of time required for what has been possible with older technology, that's nonsense... Means you should consider spend a night at Ipoh or somewhere along the way, and continue the journey. Cannot one time drive from SG to Penang within 12 hours. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic January 23 Share January 23 On 1/23/2025 at 8:15 AM, teomingern said: Not true lar... I take the PIE every day... mostly West side which has lots of heavy vehicles and commercial vehicles... they mostly stick to the leftmost lanes lar... haven't really seen them on the rightmost lanes... You should try using AYE. 😅 This expressway full of heavy vehicles and commercial vehicles. And they can occupied 3 lanes on the expressway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic January 23 Share January 23 (edited) On 1/23/2025 at 8:10 AM, teomingern said: I just checked Tesla Malaysia's website for the Tesla's Superchargers... I'm definitely not up to date for non-Tesla charging points cos I don't stop much along the way... I only stop at Dengkil for toilet break... otherwise I'm driving on the highway... I'm up by 4 am and cross the Malaysian border at 5 am, reach Penang at 4 pm in my petrol car... that means I'm up 12 hours and on the road for about 10 hours... this includes a 2 hour lunch break at Ipoh... if I have to charge the electric car at least 2x using a Level 2 charger from 0-100%, it's not possible to make it in one day... with a Supercharger, still possible if you're topping up from 20-30% to 100% but that would mean charging at least 3 times and cos the points are away from the highway, that will possibly mean I'll be delayed by at least 3-4 hours... that means I'm on the road for over 16 hours... definitely not safe... with other fast chargers which are not as fast as the Supercharger, not sure possible or not... So yes not to my liking but definitely not safe... basically the technology increases the amount of time required for what has been possible with older technology, that's nonsense... The way you rush in 1 day I will say, is not very safe. Especially now that you are carrying young children and family in the car. Think about it. But looking at your way of overseas traveling, I am not surprised. Trying to cover as much as possible. Edited January 23 by Tohto 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 23 Share January 23 (edited) On 1/23/2025 at 9:17 AM, Tohto said: The way you rush in 1 day I will say not fery safe. Especially now you are carry young children and family in the car. Think about. But looking at your way of overseas traveling, I am not surprised. Trying to cover as much as possible. lol maybe he was a long distance coach driver in his previous life. Ok lah. To each his own. But 100% should get ACC with low speed follow. My friend in December did a 11 days, SG-KL-Penang-Ipoh-KL-Desaru-SG in his model 3. Edited January 23 by Lala81 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
badlammy 6th Gear January 23 Share January 23 Anybody noticed this thread is getting particularly different to load? 600 pages liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 23 Share January 23 (edited) On 1/23/2025 at 10:02 AM, badlammy said: Anybody noticed this thread is getting particularly different to load? 600 pages liao... not for me. loads the same. The exercising thread is way longer. usually it's cos of the server itself is slow. Loading of pages i find no sigf difference between threads. Edited January 23 by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 23 Share January 23 (edited) On 1/22/2025 at 11:44 AM, teomingern said: Anyway, comparing the Hyundai Avante Hybrid S vs Skoda Octavia 1.5 TSI mild hybrid - within $8000 listed price on SGCM... Difference are follows from what I can glen: 1. Adaptive cruise control for the Avante vs standard on Octavia 2. Ventilated front seats for the Avante vs none on Octavia 3. 6 air bags for the Avante vs 8 for Octavia 4. No navigation system for Avante vs built-in for Octavia 5. No electric tailgate for Avante vs yes for Octavia 6. No front passenger memory seat for Avante vs yes for Octavia 7. No paddle shifters for Avante vs yes for Octavia 8. No rain sensing wipers for Avante vs yes for Octavia 9. 16" rims on Avante vs 18" rims for Octavia 10. Multi-link rear suspension on Avante vs Crank-link Axe (torsion beam) for Octavia That's all I think... For me only difference no. 1 & 2 are material... always wished I have adaptive cruise control on my current car... having used ventilated front seats for almost 10 years, they're pretty indispensable cos I park in open car park at work for the whole day... Difference no. 3 is not very meaningful to me... not sure if the extra 2 airbags make any difference... Difference no. 4 is irrelevant... cos we all use Google Maps... Difference no. 5 is a wash... the Avante has a better auto-release system for the boot... Difference no. 6 & 7 are useless features... Difference no. 8 I am ambivalent... rain sensing wipers don't work well on my Hyundai Sonata... rather erratic... Difference no. 9 is significant in that 18" tires are significantly more expensive but the larger rims are nicer... Difference no. 10 is a wash cos the Octavia's setup may be better given that Continental cars have tend to have better ride quality... your mileage may vary though... What do you think? Is the hybrid worth the extra $8000 for the S trim or $14,000 for the Elite trim for the Avante vs the single trim for the Octavia??? Kinda confusing what's the difference between S and Elite trim for the avante. Memory seats, sunroof? Their brochure and differentiation of features on SGCM not particularly clear. If ventilated and ACC is available on the base S trim. Maybe that's a major plus for you. Would have thought ACC is now a standard feature for CC. Excepting low speed follow. Edited January 23 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic January 23 Share January 23 On 1/23/2025 at 10:24 AM, Lala81 said: Kinda confusing what's the difference between S and Elite trim for the avante. Memory seats, sunroof? Their brochure and differentiation of features on SGCM not particularly clear. If ventilated and ACC is available on the base S trim. Maybe that's a major plus for you. Would have thought ACC is now a standard feature for CC. Excepting low speed follow. For me safety features is always the more the better. Can never know when a life or serious injury can be prevent with it. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 23 Share January 23 (edited) On 1/23/2025 at 12:00 PM, Tohto said: For me safety features is always the more the better. Can never know when a life or serious injury can be prevent with it. Yeah but the Skoda one seems to be non adaptive based on the website. My accord had non adaptive. Hardly ever use it other than kpe. Edited January 23 by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic January 23 Share January 23 On 1/23/2025 at 10:02 AM, badlammy said: Anybody noticed this thread is getting particularly different to load? 600 pages liao... No leh...but until brudder Carbon loads his super high resolution photos...then even one page thread can take half a day...😂 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 23 Share January 23 On 1/23/2025 at 10:24 AM, Lala81 said: Kinda confusing what's the difference between S and Elite trim for the avante. Memory seats, sunroof? Their brochure and differentiation of features on SGCM not particularly clear. If ventilated and ACC is available on the base S trim. Maybe that's a major plus for you. Would have thought ACC is now a standard feature for CC. Excepting low speed follow. Yeah the difference is mainly just the sunroof and ventilated seats I think... I went down last year to check... can't quite remember now... Both trims have ACC... But the Octavia doesn't... strange... probably a cost savings measure lar... cos the 115 bhp model is the base model in Europe... Price wise the Octavia is still cheaper than the S trim by $8000... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic January 23 Share January 23 On 1/23/2025 at 9:17 AM, Tohto said: The way you rush in 1 day I will say, is not very safe. Especially now that you are carrying young children and family in the car. Think about it. But looking at your way of overseas traveling, I am not surprised. Trying to cover as much as possible. His holiday is like amazing race. All touch and go. I cannot understand the logic. After coming back from holiday must rest 1mth. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 23 Share January 23 On 1/23/2025 at 6:38 PM, Mkl22 said: His holiday is like amazing race. All touch and go. I cannot understand the logic. After coming back from holiday must rest 1mth. Some more he no young hor 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 23 Share January 23 On 1/23/2025 at 12:37 PM, mersaylee said: No leh...but until brudder Carbon loads his super high resolution photos...then even one page thread can take half a day...😂 now got 15mb per post limit. That's why i only post 2 jpgs per post. the website unfortunately cannot take heic format. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 23 Share January 23 On 1/23/2025 at 6:18 PM, teomingern said: Yeah the difference is mainly just the sunroof and ventilated seats I think... I went down last year to check... can't quite remember now... Both trims have ACC... But the Octavia doesn't... strange... probably a cost savings measure lar... cos the 115 bhp model is the base model in Europe... Price wise the Octavia is still cheaper than the S trim by $8000... no ACC with low speed follow, the CC is effectively quite white elephant. I think on NSH, would really help a lot with ACC. I use ACC all the time on aussie highways, though if the highway through melbourne i still drive manually. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...