13177 Hypersonic January 22 Share January 22 On 1/22/2025 at 9:21 AM, Lala81 said: Budget combi is honda shuttle. But now no longer sold. Thought PI still selling Honda Shuttle? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 22 Share January 22 On 1/22/2025 at 9:28 AM, 13177 said: Thought PI still selling Honda Shuttle? hardly anyone selling on SGCM if u check the list. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic January 22 Share January 22 On 1/22/2025 at 10:18 AM, Lala81 said: hardly anyone selling on SGCM if u check the list. Maybe even can find also old stock? Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic January 22 Share January 22 On 1/22/2025 at 8:30 AM, Hollow said: I drove the 1.0 Octavia and no issue with power on Malaysia roads to keep up to speed on lane 1. Car is able to do a round trip to KL in one tank and cheap road tax helps! With the 1.5 Cat A engine, power and torque is slightly better. You either a slow driver or light foot driver. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 22 Share January 22 On 1/22/2025 at 8:30 AM, Hollow said: I drove the 1.0 Octavia and no issue with power on Malaysia roads to keep up to speed on lane 1. Car is able to do a round trip to KL in one tank and cheap road tax helps! With the 1.5 Cat A engine, power and torque is slightly better. Nice! Thanks for the info! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 22 Share January 22 On 1/22/2025 at 9:21 AM, Lala81 said: Budget combi is honda shuttle. But now no longer sold. This one a bit hollow and noisy? That was how the first Shuttle felt to me... not sure if this new generation is better? That's one thing I have against the more budget Honda cars... like the Jazz/Shuttle series... I think the Vios/City is a it more solid... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 22 Share January 22 On 1/22/2025 at 11:18 AM, Tohto said: You either a slow driver or light foot driver. He said Lane 1 leh... that's the super fast lane... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 22 Share January 22 On 1/22/2025 at 11:28 AM, teomingern said: This one a bit hollow and noisy? That was how the first Shuttle felt to me... not sure if this new generation is better? That's one thing I have against the more budget Honda cars... like the Jazz/Shuttle series... I think the Vios/City is a it more solid... at that price. Have to pair it against the BYD M6 which with the 3rd row folded down also is somewhat of a SW design. And still have the option of 3rd row seats also. Though u only have 2 kids, so maybe not in consideration. Given how expensive cars are now, i'm also considering like just emergency 3rd row seats (Freed ehev vs byd m6) for short drives which the kids can squeeze into if the grandparents are around. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic January 22 Share January 22 On 1/22/2025 at 11:29 AM, teomingern said: He said Lane 1 leh... that's the super fast lane... Some driver never know they are slow and thought they fast. 1.0L turbo I drove before, it will for sure under power for speed above 100km/h. When road is clear in front, car in front pick up fast, the 1.0 turbo can never catch up. And if behind is another higher capacity/power car, basically it will be hogging. But as a city car it is all right. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 22 Share January 22 Anyway, comparing the Hyundai Avante Hybrid S vs Skoda Octavia 1.5 TSI mild hybrid - within $8000 listed price on SGCM... Difference are follows from what I can glen: 1. Adaptive cruise control for the Avante vs standard on Octavia 2. Ventilated front seats for the Avante vs none on Octavia 3. 6 air bags for the Avante vs 8 for Octavia 4. No navigation system for Avante vs built-in for Octavia 5. No electric tailgate for Avante vs yes for Octavia 6. No front passenger memory seat for Avante vs yes for Octavia 7. No paddle shifters for Avante vs yes for Octavia 8. No rain sensing wipers for Avante vs yes for Octavia 9. 16" rims on Avante vs 18" rims for Octavia 10. Multi-link rear suspension on Avante vs Crank-link Axe (torsion beam) for Octavia That's all I think... For me only difference no. 1 & 2 are material... always wished I have adaptive cruise control on my current car... having used ventilated front seats for almost 10 years, they're pretty indispensable cos I park in open car park at work for the whole day... Difference no. 3 is not very meaningful to me... not sure if the extra 2 airbags make any difference... Difference no. 4 is irrelevant... cos we all use Google Maps... Difference no. 5 is a wash... the Avante has a better auto-release system for the boot... Difference no. 6 & 7 are useless features... Difference no. 8 I am ambivalent... rain sensing wipers don't work well on my Hyundai Sonata... rather erratic... Difference no. 9 is significant in that 18" tires are significantly more expensive but the larger rims are nicer... Difference no. 10 is a wash cos the Octavia's setup may be better given that Continental cars have tend to have better ride quality... your mileage may vary though... What do you think? Is the hybrid worth the extra $8000 for the S trim or $14,000 for the Elite trim for the Avante vs the single trim for the Octavia??? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 22 Share January 22 (edited) On 1/22/2025 at 11:44 AM, teomingern said: Anyway, comparing the Hyundai Avante Hybrid S vs Skoda Octavia 1.5 TSI mild hybrid - within $8000 listed price on SGCM... Difference are follows from what I can glen: 1. Adaptive cruise control for the Avante vs standard on Octavia 2. Ventilated front seats for the Avante vs none on Octavia 3. 6 air bags for the Avante vs 8 for Octavia 4. No navigation system for Avante vs built-in for Octavia 5. No electric tailgate for Avante vs yes for Octavia 6. No front passenger memory seat for Avante vs yes for Octavia 7. No paddle shifters for Avante vs yes for Octavia 8. No rain sensing wipers for Avante vs yes for Octavia 9. 16" rims on Avante vs 18" rims for Octavia 10. Multi-link rear suspension on Avante vs Crank-link Axe (torsion beam) for Octavia That's all I think... For me only difference no. 1 & 2 are material... always wished I have adaptive cruise control on my current car... having used ventilated front seats for almost 10 years, they're pretty indispensable cos I park in open car park at work for the whole day... Difference no. 3 is not very meaningful to me... not sure if the extra 2 airbags make any difference... Difference no. 4 is irrelevant... cos we all use Google Maps... Difference no. 5 is a wash... the Avante has a better auto-release system for the boot... Difference no. 6 & 7 are useless features... Difference no. 8 I am ambivalent... rain sensing wipers don't work well on my Hyundai Sonata... rather erratic... Difference no. 9 is significant in that 18" tires are significantly more expensive but the larger rims are nicer... Difference no. 10 is a wash cos the Octavia's setup may be better given that Continental cars have tend to have better ride quality... your mileage may vary though... What do you think? Is the hybrid worth the extra $8000 for the S trim or $14,000 for the Elite trim for the Avante vs the single trim for the Octavia??? if hyundai why not kona? Edited January 22 by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic January 22 Share January 22 On 1/22/2025 at 11:34 AM, Tohto said: Some driver never know they are slow and thought they fast. 1.0L turbo I drove before, it will for sure under power for speed above 100km/h. When road is clear in front, car in front pick up fast, the 1.0 turbo can never catch up. And if behind is another higher capacity/power car, basically it will be hogging. But as a city car it is all right. Ya, many drivers drive on the lane 1 at 80km/90km/h and they think they drive very fast. Some even drive below 80/90km/h on lane 1 without knowing they are hogging the lane. Lol. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic January 22 Share January 22 On 1/22/2025 at 11:44 AM, teomingern said: Anyway, comparing the Hyundai Avante Hybrid S vs Skoda Octavia 1.5 TSI mild hybrid - within $8000 listed price on SGCM... Difference are follows from what I can glen: 1. Adaptive cruise control for the Avante vs standard on Octavia 2. Ventilated front seats for the Avante vs none on Octavia 3. 6 air bags for the Avante vs 8 for Octavia 4. No navigation system for Avante vs built-in for Octavia 5. No electric tailgate for Avante vs yes for Octavia 6. No front passenger memory seat for Avante vs yes for Octavia 7. No paddle shifters for Avante vs yes for Octavia 8. No rain sensing wipers for Avante vs yes for Octavia 9. 16" rims on Avante vs 18" rims for Octavia 10. Multi-link rear suspension on Avante vs Crank-link Axe (torsion beam) for Octavia That's all I think... For me only difference no. 1 & 2 are material... always wished I have adaptive cruise control on my current car... having used ventilated front seats for almost 10 years, they're pretty indispensable cos I park in open car park at work for the whole day... Difference no. 3 is not very meaningful to me... not sure if the extra 2 airbags make any difference... Difference no. 4 is irrelevant... cos we all use Google Maps... Difference no. 5 is a wash... the Avante has a better auto-release system for the boot... Difference no. 6 & 7 are useless features... Difference no. 8 I am ambivalent... rain sensing wipers don't work well on my Hyundai Sonata... rather erratic... Difference no. 9 is significant in that 18" tires are significantly more expensive but the larger rims are nicer... Difference no. 10 is a wash cos the Octavia's setup may be better given that Continental cars have tend to have better ride quality... your mileage may vary though... What do you think? Is the hybrid worth the extra $8000 for the S trim or $14,000 for the Elite trim for the Avante vs the single trim for the Octavia??? If i look at the exterior design only, i would go for Octavia than Avante. I find the Avante design quite ugly. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 22 Share January 22 On 1/22/2025 at 12:57 PM, 13177 said: If i look at the exterior design only, i would go for Octavia than Avante. I find the Avante design quite ugly. To be fair, both aren't beauties... questionable design choices for both... in particular my wife can't accept that extra handle bar at the front passenger's seat... ha ha... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 22 Share January 22 On 1/22/2025 at 11:33 AM, Lala81 said: at that price. Have to pair it against the BYD M6 which with the 3rd row folded down also is somewhat of a SW design. And still have the option of 3rd row seats also. Though u only have 2 kids, so maybe not in consideration. Given how expensive cars are now, i'm also considering like just emergency 3rd row seats (Freed ehev vs byd m6) for short drives which the kids can squeeze into if the grandparents are around. No electric cars for me... I stay in HDB... there are 4 charging stations with 8 cables... and there are like 8 electric cars & vans parked in the multi-storey car park I use... confirm plus chop not enough charging spots in a year or two's time... and electric cars are useless for road trips to Malaysia... I drive to Penang in one day, no electric car can do that... so hard pass... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 22 Share January 22 On 1/22/2025 at 2:11 PM, teomingern said: To be fair, both aren't beauties... questionable design choices for both... in particular my wife can't accept that extra handle bar at the front passenger's seat... ha ha... makes it harder to access your cashcard if the ERP 2.0 OBU is on the passenger footwell. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 22 Share January 22 On 1/22/2025 at 11:34 AM, Tohto said: Some driver never know they are slow and thought they fast. 1.0L turbo I drove before, it will for sure under power for speed above 100km/h. When road is clear in front, car in front pick up fast, the 1.0 turbo can never catch up. And if behind is another higher capacity/power car, basically it will be hogging. But as a city car it is all right. Then just give way lor and then come out again lor... the torque is 220 Nm... that's higher than most 2.0 L NA cars including mine... not too bad? But as you say at the high end of the revs, not enough power produced... but then again there are many 1.6 L Malaysian cars driving on NSHW lane 1... so they also manage... I guess possible... I used to drive a Subaru Impreza 1.6 L... with the AWD, it's more sluggish than the normal 1.6 L NA car... but I think still ok lar... your mileage may vary... just got to adjust expectations I guess... it's a step down doubtless but with prices at stratospheric levels, I have no choice... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 22 Share January 22 On 1/22/2025 at 12:21 PM, Lala81 said: if hyundai why not kona? I don't like SUVs... it's considerably smaller than the Avante but more expensive??? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...