A New Chapter - Skoda Singapore

Carbon82

50 minutes ago, FannyPack said:

Hi

I am looking at Skoda Superb L&K model. Anyone have thoughts about this ride?

Best to take a look in person and have a test drive. Driving Karoq for past 1 year, not disappointed. Superb definitely will be better than my car. 

2 minutes ago, Daniu82 said:

Best to take a look in person and have a test drive. Driving Karoq for past 1 year, not disappointed. Superb definitely will be better than my car. 

i have test driven it but it isn't the L&K model. So would like to know more on the potential issues if any before i purchase it.

24 minutes ago, FannyPack said:

i watch a number of them, none said if the aircon was cold or not.

I test drive the pre-facelift 2.0 L&K Superb almost a year ago, with 4 adults in the car under hot sun. No complaint from all of them about the aircon coldness. 

But you might have read some posts in this thread that been a continental car, the temperature setting is best to be adjusted to about 23°C or even lower, which is unlike typical Japanese model (25°C). The same for my previous gen Superb. 

23 minutes ago, FannyPack said:

after your warranty over, who or where should we go to to sort out issues if any?

There are many workshops which could handle servicing and repair of Skoda model, especially when many parts and components are shared among brand and models under VAG (VW, Seat & Audi). 

19 minutes ago, FannyPack said:

i have test driven it but it isn't the L&K model. So would like to know more on the potential issues if any before i purchase it.

My 4.5 years ownership (covering >158K Km) is the best testimonial. Had only replaced a faulty headlight module and nothing else. Overall servicing cost is similar to my previous Japanese models from Kah Motor (taking into consideration of 15K Km servicing interval vs 10K Km of Jap). 

• Praise 13

11 minutes ago, FannyPack said:

What attract u to L&K? generally more features more electronics = more headache esp when warranty over..

I driving the base model which serve me well even no reverse camera..

31 minutes ago, FannyPack said:

if air con not cold, then use the ventilated seats.

46 minutes ago, FannyPack said:

Thank you. What about the air conditioning both front and rear?

Aircon is good, better than my harrier. Not the coldest out there but definitely good enough for our weather. 

been driving for more than 1.5 yrs, it will hold the record of longest car ownership for me, cos its simply superb car. No regret at all

46 minutes ago, FannyPack said:

Conti car normally the aircon setting you need to set much lower. Set to around 21 deg is normal. My previous BMW I always set to 20.5deg.

If you are coming from a made for ASEAN country car, their aircon are always very cold. 

My current MIJ Forester I will need to set to 21.5deg or lower. 

1 hour ago, Carbon82 said:
  • Spacious
  • Underrated
  • Powerful
  • Elegance
  • Reliable
  • Best bang for buck

From a 2nd generation Superb owner for 4.5 years.

Paging for @TangoCharlie... Please share your ownership experience with the L&K Superb.

Clocked 38k on my l&k coming to 2 years. First Conti. Nothing broken or replaced. Topped up coolant once at 7.5k. 

Aircon must set below 23. But it's individual, I am ok with 23 most of the time. One owner I know set to lo. Lol

VFM in terms of space and power. 

Fellow l&k owners mostly talked about noise, no virtual cockpit , no lane assist.

New l&k comes with virtual cockpit. Jelly.😄

Disclaimer I am no petrolhead and drives like unker.😅

@FannyPack besides l&k, what other car you are considering?

53 minutes ago, FannyPack said:

after your warranty over, who or where should we go to to sort out issues if any?

Skoda maintenance can be done at any workshop that knows how to do VW/Audi. The parts, technology and layout are very similar/the same.

I owned the 2nd gen Superb, and the cost of break-fix repairs is less than the Subaru that i had before that. The skoda ownership experience was so good, that i have just placed deposit for a skoda octavia. If i could afford the superb again, i would buy the L&K no questions asked, but reality is what it is, and i can only afford the octavia today.

54 minutes ago, FannyPack said:

If you're concerned about aircon issues, i had no issues with the aircon with my superb, but like what the others have mentioned, aircon temperature needs to be set lower than japanese makes. It's the design and characteristic of conti. Dun need scared aircon not powerful enough. My wife scared hot, and she still shiver when i maxed out the aircon.

Whether aircon will spoil or not, if you research enough, you will find that toyota, honda, subaru aircon got quite a few people complain spoil. Peugeot, merc, bmw, opel, also many people complain spoil.

How to take care of aircon, i don't know, but a good question to ask any new car salesman is if the 5 year warranty got cover aircon or not, so that if spoil, repairs covered. Opel, by the way, covers aircon up to 2 years only. If spoil after that, is not covered by warranty.

52 minutes ago, Ody_2004 said:

What attract u to L&K? generally more features more electronics = more headache esp when warranty over..

I driving the base model which serve me well even no reverse camera..

I agree with this. More features and electronic stuff mean more problems in the future when warranty expires. 

On 6/24/2020 at 5:44 PM, Lotr said:

No choice, have to make my superb more vfm

With a 2l turbo engine with 7-speed wet clutch, Superb certainly looks vfm.

Mai tu liao ...

1 minute ago, firefly20 said:

With a 2l turbo engine with 7-speed wet clutch, Superb certainly looks vfm.

Mai tu liao ...

frankly, i almost bought last week but at the back of my mind keep thinking that coe will drop a bit more.  Hope I won't regret my (in)decision. 

1 minute ago, Lotr said:

frankly, i almost bought last week but at the back of my mind keep thinking that coe will drop a bit more.  Hope I won't regret my (in)decision. 

How much was the deal? If sensitive (cannot say), I understand.

Actually for the average income earner, as long as we time our property and car purchases right, life can be significantly less stressful. So I know why you're still holding on to your cards.

3 hours ago, TangoCharlie said:

Clocked 38k on my l&k coming to 2 years. First Conti. Nothing broken or replaced. Topped up coolant once at 7.5k. 

Aircon must set below 23. But it's individual, I am ok with 23 most of the time. One owner I know set to lo. Lol

VFM in terms of space and power. 

Fellow l&k owners mostly talked about noise, no virtual cockpit , no lane assist.

New l&k comes with virtual cockpit. Jelly.😄

Disclaimer I am no petrolhead and drives like unker.😅

@FannyPack besides l&k, what other car you are considering?

Set to LO are u referring to me? Haha

i use one fan and set temp to LO 

only if very hot day then set fan to two

but if use auto set at 21 is good enough 

Just booked and placed deposit the new Superb 2.0L L&Kmodel. 

V friendly Skoda SE. Fell in love with its luxurious interior on 1st sight. Family tried Mazda 6, Toyota and Mercs A class with me as well but immediately approved the Skoda Model after the Test drive. 

2 hours ago, firefly20 said:

How much was the deal? If sensitive (cannot say), I understand.

Actually for the average income earner, as long as we time our property and car purchases right, life can be significantly less stressful. So I know why you're still holding on to your cards.

errr ... think it is sensitive ...