C-K 2nd Gear August 5, 2018 Share August 5, 2018 Single piston means lesser brake pads to change? haha. Should be cheap to change. You did it at outside workshop? Won't void warranty?Yep, bought low dust front pads from Amazon.com and had them replaced in JB. Changing brake pads is like changing tyres/rims or battery. Will not void warranty. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Golf7roy 4th Gear August 5, 2018 Share August 5, 2018 looking at yellow stuff brake pads for a better brake feel. any reviews on this pads? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
badlammy 6th Gear August 5, 2018 Share August 5, 2018 i no like, cos the tyre gap too big !!! ABT or Eibach please !!! Better than the 16" that comes with VC at least Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mervynwm 1st Gear August 5, 2018 Share August 5, 2018 There are several Skoda production plants in China made for domestic market there. Can easily source auto parts from there or even taobao. Mine is from Europe OEM Skoda, not China one lor.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mervynwm 1st Gear August 5, 2018 Share August 5, 2018 Got this from one of SA - model number for the gearbox. Wet clutch for Kodiaq. Not sure the other models. Heard all are wet clutch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mervynwm 1st Gear August 5, 2018 Share August 5, 2018 Do let me know once you recall ya....for Kodiaq if can permantely disable than thru 3rd party. Thanks. I believe this is the button, but by default it's always turned on. You need an OBD11 to turn it off permanently if you want Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rcaero 1st Gear August 5, 2018 Share August 5, 2018 Heard all are wet clutch. I believe the 1.0 models should be the dry version. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bravo 2nd Gear August 5, 2018 Share August 5, 2018 VRS sold out, but 1.0 TSI still available. VRS245 all sold out... ask the SCS to bring in the VRS230 lo? hahaha... Strange that all sold out, means walk in customer cannot place order meh? Bro, post your 1 week experience so far leh... hehehe.. Heard VRS have launch control? have G force or not? hahaha ;) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lotr8445r 5th Gear August 5, 2018 Share August 5, 2018 (edited) Hi Guys, Any idea is the Karoq going to be brought in from heresay? And can those with keen recommendations, for SE, please kindly PM possibly? Thank you in advance If I am not wrong, someone mentioned 40 cars in total since they launch the brand back in Singapore? I ask SE whether is End of this year. He told me by then they bring in, probably start at Jan19 selling. 1.5T is the way to go if u dont need 7 seater which also cost more ($500 more?) on insurance. Heard all are wet clutch.Not all wet clutch. I can’t remember which model, maybe is Karoq. Edited August 5, 2018 by Lotr8445r Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged August 6, 2018 Share August 6, 2018 I ask SE whether is End of this year. He told me by then they bring in, probably start at Jan19 selling. 1.5T is the way to go if u dont need 7 seater which also cost more ($500 more?) on insurance. Karoq no 7 seater Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged August 6, 2018 Share August 6, 2018 VRS245 all sold out... ask the SCS to bring in the VRS230 lo? hahaha... Strange that all sold out, means walk in customer cannot place order meh? Bro, post your 1 week experience so far leh... hehehe.. Heard VRS have launch control? have G force or not? hahaha ;) The WLTP has caused production halt for several model of cars, no word yet on how it'll pan out. Launch control should be straight forward, ESP off, foot on brake, accelerator to the metal.. let go off brake, should get 0.6g 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Machunk28 4th Gear August 6, 2018 Share August 6, 2018 Just got a message from the Sales. RS245 ready for sale @ 126,900. RS245 all sold out. Expected next batch of shipment is already scheduled only for 2019. Skoda not taking more orders for it. Test drove it, surprisingly doesn't like the harsh engine sound echoing into the cabin. Ride seems rough even on comfort mode. Power distribution is direct and linear though. There's 1 test drive car available but Skoda not going to sell it off yet, as 1 of my friend actually is interested to buy it. VRS245 all sold out... ask the SCS to bring in the VRS230 lo? hahaha... Strange that all sold out, means walk in customer cannot place order meh? Bro, post your 1 week experience so far leh... hehehe.. Heard VRS have launch control? have G force or not? hahaha ;) Skoda has stopped test drive from today onwards, according to the SE. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sure3388 3rd Gear August 6, 2018 Share August 6, 2018 Wow, good business. If Skoda now is under another dealer, sure will sell more cars. I bought Skoda last month, just because it is now under VW Singapore. I have much more confident with VW than any other dealer. So many local small AD, come and go. Look at SEAT, based on the sales volume, I don't think the business can sustain. Heard all are wet clutch. Octavia is dry clutch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
C-K 2nd Gear August 6, 2018 Share August 6, 2018 RS245 all sold out. Expected next batch of shipment is already scheduled only for 2019. Skoda not taking more orders for it. Test drove it, surprisingly doesn't like the harsh engine sound echoing into the cabin. Ride seems rough even on comfort mode. Power distribution is direct and linear though. There's 1 test drive car available but Skoda not going to sell it off yet, as 1 of my friend actually is interested to buy it. Skoda has stopped test drive from today onwards, according to the SE. I think the harsh engine sound is actually from fake engine noise (AKA interior engine sound). I believe it was set to "Sport" by S.E. to show off the sporty characteristic of the car. IIRC, it can only be set to Eco or Normal for softer engine sound. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoCharlie Supersonic August 6, 2018 Share August 6, 2018 I bought Skoda last month, just because it is now under VW Singapore. I have much more confident with VW than any other dealer. So many local small AD, come and go. Look at SEAT, based on the sales volume, I don't think the business can sustain. Octavia is dry clutch. Congrats. What model did you get? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Machunk28 4th Gear August 6, 2018 Share August 6, 2018 I think the harsh engine sound is actually from fake engine noise (AKA interior engine sound). I believe it was set to "Sport" by S.E. to show off the sporty characteristic of the car. IIRC, it can only be set to Eco or Normal for softer engine sound. We did try the comfort mode. Din sound much better. Lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
badlammy 6th Gear August 6, 2018 Share August 6, 2018 We did try the comfort mode. Din sound much better. LolGuess you prefer real quiet cars like the Prius. For me, the sound helped made my decision. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoCharlie Supersonic August 6, 2018 Share August 6, 2018 1000km FR – Superb L&K No regrets! Simply superb! Do note this is an upgrade for me, having driven a Japanese B&B car for the last 9.5 years. Handling no much different from my last ride despite its larger size. A pleasant surprise! Lots of power readily available. Filtering out and over taking is so much easier now. Driving is much enjoyable too. I am no petrolhead, but I am beginning to understand a little why their desire for more power is insatiable.) Acceleration is quick and smooth. Hardly felt the upshift in gears unless I look at the rpm dial (rarely goes beyond 2000 on ‘Comfort’ mode). Deceleration is similarly smooth, but downshifts are noticeable at speeds below 30km/h. Am getting used to it, rarely need to step hard on brakes (no wonder read on MCF that the pads were not replaced after 4 year iirc). Spacewise, family loves it all round, especially the rear and boot. No more moving front passengers seat to accommodate rear passengers. With the sunroof letting in more light, interior is bright and cheery. Driving in “Comfort” mode since day 1. FC is 9.4km/L , 25% worse than its declared FC of 12.2km/L (urban driving). VC and gesture control are hit and miss affairs. Maybe yet to master them. Navigation works beautifully on the 9” HU but could be improved with postal code input. Ventilated seats and virtual paddle are cool and useful features. Driver side, only comfortable spot for my left foot is the end of the front where the footrest is. The centre tunnel took too much space at the bottom to my liking. Air circulation has been set to auto so the computer decides when to re-circulate air within the car. Ventilated seats and air re-circulation are defaulted to “Off”. In Singapore environment, wish they can be defaulted to “On” or these can be “saved” as driver’s preference. Yet to experience: Different driving modes + DCC (after 1500km for engine to be run in for sports mode) Android auto Parking Assit Cruise Control Hope to ride beyond 10 years (too ambitious?). So I intend to post more FRs to establish the long term reliability / running costs of my ride. Not driving Skoda? Skoda! ↡ Advertisement 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...